Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Middlehills Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Middlehills Farm Campsite
Grangemill
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 4HY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01629 650368

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  5m  5m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: 30/4/18 To 30/9/18

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 144 Reviews
              8/10 from 144 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GemDeanBill 3 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite, good facilities, pleasant owners/staff, picturesque location (the noise from the nearby quarry is noticeable but not too imposing for us. ) Having the pigs is a nice addition and the playground for the kids was great. We will most definitely be returning for short breaks here.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CERichardson 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site at the weekend with family. Two tents and a campervan with awning - 6 adults, 2 young children and 6 dogs! First impressions of the site were great - friendly staff and flexible pitching. Impressive 360 views from site was lovely. Kids play area was great for the little ones and pigs were a nice addition. Facilities could have been slightly better. Showers were 'interesting' with a payment machine on the outside (20p for 1 minute, 1 for 5 minutes). You had 40 seconds to get undressed before the water started and the machine had a timer on so you knew how long you had left. The only problem was it was on the wall outside so you didn't know until the water switched off! Site was in a good location in the heart of the peak district. Only 20 mins from Dovedale which we visited. Take away drivers came round giving out menus for local indian and pizza takeaway which we used on our second night when our bbq got rained off. Ice cream van came round too in the afternoon. Overall would visit again, but for 2 days max.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ncdlloyd 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for three nights over the bank holiday weekend. Very flexible about where to pitch, we had one electric hook up and added two further tents for other members of the family.

Views are lovely from site, the only drawback is the constant noise from the nearby quarry. This wasn't an issue during the day, but was very noticeable through the night.

Fire pits are available for rent and having a real fire is a really nice addition each evening.

Paying 1 for five minutes of hot water in the showers was a real pain. The place to put the money isn't even in each individual cubicle. Cleanliness of the facilities was reasonable, have seen better though.

On one night there was music playing until 12:30, it sounded like the tent in the next pitch, but querying the 10:30 music cut off rule with the site the following day revealed it was a party in an adjacent field and that they do police anti-social behaviour.

The area has endless campsites available, so we'll probably try another next time.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cc7979 6 reviews from this member

This, on the face if it, is a great little site, but we did have a few challenges on our visit, but probably not due to the site itself.

Firstly the positives. Site is nicely located and easy to find, about 7 miles from Matlock. There are two large sloping fields, mainly for tents with no EHU and one smaller field with EHU. There is a great park in the larger tent field that the kids loved and a nice little shop well stocked and reasonably priced. There is also a small paddock with 3 pigs which again, was great for the kids.

We stayed on the EHU field and on our first of two night this was great. I was glad I wasn't on the larger fields though which were very busy and the lack of regiment meant some units were parked very close together (some were obviously groups, but not all it appeared). I thought the toilets were pretty ok but my wife was so not so impressed. One of the main issues is that there is a larger toilet and sink block in the large field, with then just sinks and showers in the smaller field. I thought the condition of these were pretty good considering how many were on site. My wife felt this not to be the case with the female facilities and also having quite long waits to use.

Our bigger issue was on the second night. We went out for the day to Matlock which was great, but on our return a group of 3 units (two caravans and a large tent) had pretty much surrounded us. They were also joined by another 2 families who were camping in one of the other fields. This probably would he been ok if it wasn't for the lack of consideration. Firstly, on the only space they had left free right in front of our unit, they preceded to play an impromptu game of football, firstly a selection of children, but then joined by the adults! This while we were trying to have dinner outside. Secondly they proceeded to stay up till about two o'clock in the morning drinking and talking - they obviously thought they were being quiet. Luckily I am normally a heavy sleeper but it was my wife who suffered till I think more than one person complained.

Not saying this is the campsites fault, but I think the flexibility the site allows around pitching allows this situation to happen much more readily. It is a shame as it tainted what would have been a great weekend. I probably will not go back to this site now and I am also extra wary when booking sites in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: O Inns 2 reviews from this member

Camped for 5 days over August Bank Holiday on this beautiful site, showers and toilets v good and kept clean, shop useful and v reasonable, fire pits great and even the weather was kind to us. It was such a shame that other campers were so inconsiderate! Noise was blasting from car radios on most days, kids screaming and crying, dogs barking in the middle of the night and worst of all, two very large groups were drinking, shouting, swearing and generally making a huge amount of noise EVERY night!So much for 'security' to keep things quiet!This went on until 12 midnight on one night and until 12. 50am on another. Disgraceful behaviour from adults who should know better!Beware of big groups. Even if they are family groups - they take over the site and can be a little intimidating. If you like a quiet and peaceful camping holiday - DO NOT visit Middlehills, as it was absolutely packed - the noisiest site we've visited in 30 years!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattots 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Middle Hills Farm although family members we were with had been before and recommended it. We arrived in the middle of the Friday afternoon just before the late May bank holiday weekend. When we arrived there was loads of space but by Saturday afternoon the site was absolutely heaving. We stayed until Tuesday but by Monday afternoon it had returned to being pretty quiet again. There were no problems with cars being blocked in or anything as far as we were aware but there was very little room for the kids to play ball games over the weekend itself.

The site has no set pitches which is good because you're not restricted on tent size and can make a decent area to yourself, although the downside is you may be limited on where you can pitch if you arrive when its already very busy, and you may end up with someone pitching right in front of your nice view!

The site consists of 3 fields - one small field with EHU, one larger field with some permanently sited caravans around the perimeter, and one big open field (where we pitched). The big field is higher up and more exposed - great views of the surrounding hills, but if it gets windy (as it did on the final day we were there) there is really very little shelter unless possibly you're pitched down in the dip to one side, so be prepared for some fun and games pitching / packing away your tent!

There are 2 wash blocks with toilets, showers and dish washing facilities in each, as well as fridges and freezers and phone charging points. These were busy at times but we never had to queue (at least not in the mens). Pot washing facilities in one block are a bit basic with long low trough-like sinks with push taps - which may save on water but make washing up really quite tricky. Water was usually hot although on one occasion we had to make do with barely lukewarm water. The toilets and showers were not the cleanest we've seen. I'm not sure how often they are cleaned and clearly being a busy bank holiday affects things, but the standards could be improved. Coin operated showers weren't a big problem for us, and were always hot - just make sure you have enough coins with you! Also, they are switched off between 9. 30pm and 6. 30am every night.

There is a small shop selling a small range of basic food and equipment, although it's obviously not the cheapest place to buy things, but useful if you run out. It opens between set hours each day. We didn't try using the wifi so can't comment on that.

The kids appreciated the playground and farm animals (there were no farm smells while we were there despite there being pigs in a small enclosure alongside one of the fields). During the height of the bank holiday weekend it was very noisy with children playing until it got dark at around 10. There is a rule that you need to be quiet after 10. 30pm although over the weekend it was somewhat later than this before the site quietened down, and it got quite noisy again quite early in the morning. Once the crowds had gone though it was a lot quieter on site.

Location-wise, the site is located roughly mid-way between Matlock, Bakewell and Buxton - each is around 30-ish minutes drive away - so it's handy if you want to explore some of these areas without being right on the doorstep of one particular location. Being in the middle of the Derbyshire Dales the landscape around the site is attractive and hilly - the site itself is on a hillside rising up from the road (although sited away from the road itself). The one major (depending on your tolerance for noise) downside we found was that there is a very large working quarry just half a mile or so away over the next hill. You can't see it but the noise is a steady and constant rumble similar to a motorway which went on until around midnight on the Friday, started up again at around 6 on the Saturday morning until lunchtime, then went quiet for the bank holiday weekend, starting up again first thing Tuesday morning. I slept with earplugs but if you don't like the idea of that and want to enjoy some peace and quiet then this might not be the campsite for you.

Would we return? Possibly. We're quite new to the whole camping thing so have little to compare it with, but it was overall a decent experience - made better by the great weather we had.

Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Derbyshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2311 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window