Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dalar Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Dalar Farm
Tal Y Bont
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL43 2BJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 247221

Facilities:  (Key)
      

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
              8/10 from 15 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Djjones1 1 review from this member

After turning off the road I thought I was going down the wrong track as the route to the site is so narrow and bumpy in places (stone walls literally inches from the sides of the car let alone the caravan!). Not for the faint hearted!

As others have said facilities are minimal and BASIC. Probably the worst I've encountered to date. Toilets are rough, but clean, but no hand washing facilities (apart from in the separate shower room which is often occupied). I thought this was poor and partly why I've rated the child's friendly element so low, it's nice to be able to wash hands after using the loo! And also after you've emptied your chemical toilet and waste water! Really they need to sort this out. Also no pot washing space so look out if you are camping and don't have running warm water for washing dishes.

The caravan pitches themselves are small and cramped, only room for an awning and certainly no room for the car, this had to be parked in front of the caravan. The field was very nice though, more open than many sites in this area so lots of space for kids to play, with minimal traffic, so safe. Views of the mountains around are spectacular and some parts can also see the sea. It was also quiet in terms of noise even though the site was quite full.

People were all friendly and the owners very relaxed. One of the few places I've been without a check out time, which was really nice to not have to get out by 11AM, but look down the track if arriving early afternoon with a caravan as you could meet one coming the other way. It's hard enough towing a caravan forward down the track!

A nice spot but lots of room for improvement.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Angelagittins 3 reviews from this member

We have visited this site on several occasions this year and last. The site is basic but lovely, the amenities are clean and the owners are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We stayed in our camper and awning (2 adults a 5 year old and the dog). The short walk to the beach is brilliant and and if its 'your cup of tea', on the way you can access other local amenities including a pub with evening entertainment, a local shop, fish and chips and a lovely ice cream parlor. Alternatively, you are only 5 mins drive to barmouth and a short walk up the lane to a local pub and shop. I am also told that there are many local walks in the area too but we didn't do that with a 6 year old! We have also met some lovely fellow campers, some who have been coming back for a number of years. Friendly, basic family atmosphere and we will definitively keep returning. Thank you Linda and Morris and we will see you soon, we are glad we found you.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LoobyLouLou43 2 reviews from this member

Basic but adequate! Not for those people who are used to sanitised, caravan club sites! One toilet for the ladies and one for the gents, but I didn't mind waiting because there was always someone to chat to! One shower for 50p which is perfect for getting rid of the sand.

We shared our field with the chickens who were beautifully tame and even the dog made friends with them! We also enjoyed getting to know the calves.

The kids enjoyed paddling in the stream which was crystal clear and ice cold!

Linda and Morris made us more than welcome and gave great directions to all the local facilities.

These included: five minute walk to local beach. Near to the beach is a tourist centre for all the caravan parks which includes a bar, a diner, a supermarket and an amusement arcade. Also an ice cream parlour a little nearer the beach.

Go the other way and it's a polar opposite. An amazing pub called Ysgethin with a terrace over the river and a fantastic kid's play area. Please note we did NOT eat here as the food was very pricey indeed. Beer was fab though!

An oasis of calm in the centre of a busy beach resort.

At 15 pounds a night I was more than pleased with our little find and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mitchellgrainger 1 review from this member

This camp site is in an ideal place for the beach. You can walk there within 5 minutes. There is a Fish and Chip Shop, supermarket, arcade, pub and Cabaret / Function centre all within a couple of minutes walk. The beach is lovely and clean and suitable for families and dogs.

The site is a well spaced site with plenty of pitch room. However the site would benefit from a little tidy up / de-clutter by the farm house. This just appears to be the owner’s way of living. The actual pitches are well maintained and fairly flat. They were well drained and not boggy at all. The shower is 50p per five minutes; however it takes a good minute to warm up. The toilets were clean (need your own toilet roll). The only thing that let the site down for me was there was only one toilet for each sex, no hot water facilities in the washroom and the shower curtain kept falling down. There was a little mildew growing too! On the last night we kept loosing our electricity supply. It would appear that their trip-switches are sensitive and someone on the site may have gone a bit OTT on the electrical items.

Owners were very helpful and pleasant. Lots of space. The site just needs an amenities refurb. Other than that a good site in the ideal location. Good for families.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Artellbolland 1 review from this member

A lovely campsite - the lane leading to it is very tight but the owner, will gladly tow your van in. I would highly recommend you take him up on the offer! Both the owner and his wife are very friendly and helpful.

The river running alongside was definitely raging when we stayed there but it is fenced off so children are quite safe.

The site is quiet with beautiful scenery but if you want something more it is only a short walk to the beach and other campsites which offer shops, entertainment and take aways, if required. Though only one toilet and shower for each sex we never had to queue or wait once during the whole week.

Our children are 10 and 16 and loved staying here. We enjoyed it so much we have already booked our next stay.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mostdisgruntled 3 reviews from this member

I have stayed at this site on a number of occasions since June 2010, during busy periods and quiet. The couple who own the farm are extremely friendly and accommodating.

The kids love the farm aspect of the site in that there are chickens roaming freely around etc. There are basic facilities (one ladies and one gents toilet and a shower to each) but they are normally clean and well tended.

Beach is within walking distance as is the railway station and various shops and bars on the static sites close by.

Will definitely visit this site again but maybe not suitable for longer than a weekend because of basic showers/toilets.

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3821 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1172