Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burghead Beach Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Moray > Site Reviews

Burghead Beach Holiday Park
Station Road
Burghead
Moray   (Browse area)
IV30 5RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01343 830084

Facilities:  (Key)
         

Nearby:
5m  5m 

Pitches: 20
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
              7/10 from 8 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

Reviews:  8 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Evolution1 2 reviews from this member

We had a great week at this site. Mostly static caravans and the camping field was very quiet most of the week, so our pitch was directly on top of the dunes with a short scramble onto a great beach. We swam a few times, pottered in rock pools and collected cockles.

Path through pine forest is also great and I recommend a tour of Findhorn community just down the coast and Hopeman for the Irn bru ice cream. Dolphin watch area at Spey Bay is also a good trip out - go into the ice house for a little tour and film. Saw a seal, but no dolphins.

Little play area is great for kids and the bathroom facilities were excellent - always clean, comfortable and spacious - I have stayed in many hotels with worse showers and it makes the stay really pleasant when on a sandy beach.

Sadly the word is the camping field is being converted next year for more statics, but thank you to Helen who did freeze our freezer blocks too.

Great value too at £15 a night!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 23 reviews from this member

Lots of positives about this site, and yet I don’t think we’ll bother returning. The field is at the edge of a static site, sloping upwards away from the sea and uneven in parts (there are two or three fairly level spots). Ground is very sandy, so no amount of rain is a problem, but pegs do come out more easily in strong wind.

The best thing is the view – straight out to sea. There’s a steep semi-fenced drop down to the beach with a rough path, but you’re better off taking the short walk back to the road to get down safely. Having no shelter means that you need a decent tent with decent anchorage if the wind gets up. Tents were banned for the week before we rolled up (3 blew away apparently) and our next door neighbours had their Coleman blown down and the poles snapped in a wind that lasted around 6 hours (then all was calm again!).

There are about 10 motor home/caravan pitches in the middle of the statics, right outside the facilities, with some swings in the centre. Tents for some reason are not allowed in this (more sheltered) area, which has EHU. The field is just that – an empty, unmarked area that unfortunately is littered with can pulls and butt ends.

Facilities are a contradiction. Very large building, but the shower cubicles are very small. Kept relatively clean, but the carpet hides the dirt and there is no soap by the sinks. At £19 a night I’d like to be able to wash my hands properly! The only time you see anyone is when you pull up – money is collected immediately, then there’s no sign of anyone and the office is closed. No place for freezing ice blocks, though the kp area is in the laundry room.

Under better management this place would be lovely, but I feel it’s only a matter of time before they convert their remaining space into more static pitches.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joolye 5 reviews from this member

Fantastic site in a fantastic location. Although the site is basic it has everything you need, the beach is 2 mins walk away and is beautiful. Burghead is 5 mins walk away and is a lovely wee place, only a few hotels and a shop but great views and walking. The Harbour Inn is a great place for food but you need to book in advance, last orders are about 7pm though!
We went to this site as my boyfriend had been there about 25 years ago, we didn't know what to expect but we were absolutely delighted with what we found and would love to go back. A great place for children,lots of outdoor things to do and nowhere to spend any money (says my boyfriend!)

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shellseekers 1 review from this member

Fab location with direct access to a lovely beach & pinewoods, great for collecting wood for beach bonfires! The beach is unspoilt and stretches all the way to Findhorn (7 miles away!)Travelled with friends including 6 boys aged 10-14 & we all really enjoyed this small site.

There was no shop on site and no electricity hook up. The toilet block was carpeted, warm and clean. The views and sunsets from our tent were lovely!

There is one small co-op in the village of Burghead. The pictish fort and harbour are well worth exploring. The Chippy in nearby Hopeman is excellent and there is a fun Skate Park there as well. Go to Chanonry Point at Fortrose near Cromarty to see the Dolphins at the turn of the tide, telephone the Dolphin centre just over the Kessock bridge to find out the best times to see them. Also visit Lossiemouth it has a really lovely beach.

This is the best location we've camped in.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissie21 1 review from this member

Be careful when telephoning to book in advance.This company have 3 separate sites - Burghead, Sands and Riverside. We telephoned to book an overnight stop-over to break journey on the way back from the west Highlands. We booked months in advance. We telephoned the main telephone number (Burghead, which is the biggest site of the 3). They allocated us a pitch on the Sands site on East Beach, Lossimouth. When we got there, the site was all Statics. With 5 pitches (ex static pitches), set aside as an after-thought, for tourers. Toilets were miles away from the allotted tourer pitches. In fact there was nothing on the site except the toilet/shower/laundry block. The site attendant disappeared from her portacabin almost as soon as we'd checked in. And when we couldn't work out where to hook the electric up to, there was no-one to advise. We had to telephone the main site again and complain. They telephoned us back and explained where the socket was. We then couldn't fit the connection as the socket was underneath the the electric box - and far too near the ground to fit it in. We had to use the one for the pitch next to us. Good job we were the only tourer there.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamper42 1 review from this member

The site is in a fab location, nestled between the beach and wonderful pine woods at the back. We visited with our two sons, 7 and 9 and our dog and all three had a fabulous time exploring an playing.

The site is quite basic, there is no shop and electric hook up only and it is dominated by static vans. There are only about perhaps 10 touring pitches, arranged in circular fashion around the very small play area in the middle. The toilet block is clean, but the shower curtains in the individual cubicles in the ladies could do with some fixing and looking after (you could really only use two out of the 4 showers). There is no bucket and mop to clean the shower after your own use, which was okay for us (because there were not that many people using them and we were generally quite early). I could imagine them getting quite dirty when it is busier.

The office for the park is right in the middle of it and could do with some signage when you drive up to the park (it is a single track road towards the beach and we stopped in case we had it wrong and phoned the office).

All in all, it is a lovely location and we would definitely recommend it.

Previous     8 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Moray   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2766 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0450