Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Menhirs

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Site Reviews

Camping Les Menhirs
Allee St Michel
Carnac Plage
Brittany   (Browse area)
56340   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 02 97 52 94 67

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m  
Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
              8/10 from 9 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  9 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katieep 3 reviews from this member

The location of this campsite was fabulous. If the weather had been good we would not have had to use the car at all. We really liked Carnac - nice town and the local cycle paths were well maintained and safe - great with the kids and a really good way to explore the local area. Also thought the site was fairly quiet despite being so close to the centre of town. First holiday in a while that OH didn't use his ear plugs at all.

Pool was small but our girls loved the slides and cycling round the site. The shop was ok but had always run out of croissants by the time we got out of bed!

On the negative, the toilet block seemed to harbour mosses and I got some really bad bites. Also (not the fault of the campsite) we didn't really enjoy Brittany as much as other bits of France - really cold wind, not a lot to go and see when the weather was bad - no vineyards, castels, chateaus, etc. Also the fruit was really poor - however if we'd been lucky and had had 12 days of sunshine and no wind we would have had a fab time on the beach eating ice creams and drinking cocktails!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrewdoddsuk 2 reviews from this member

Recent stay - Tent, 2 adults and 2 kids.

Pleasant site - good drainage as we can testify from the amount of rain! Not the quietest, it has to be said. If you want silence don't go.

Shop was good and there are nearby supermarkets. Reception efficient, facilities clean - indeed, constantly being cleaned in shifts, it seemed. The water park was good and had an attendant, and the water was heated. Some of the kids facilities in the basement of the building looked a bit haphazard. But the playground was OK.

Walking to the beach is pretty straightforward, and the restaurants are nearby as well. Plenty of places to get your crepes and ice cream.

Local area is good. Scenic, covered in Menhirs and Creperies. Could easily spend a fortnight exploring and visiting, we only had 5 nights.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Paul hesford 3 reviews from this member

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this site, it was quite quiet for most of the time, then came the French Bank Holiday and the whole dynamic changed, the place came alive, the pool area was full and vibrant buy still plenty of sunbeds available. The shop had limited stock but there was a supermarket a short walk away. The beach was a good 5 minute walk away but not if you had much to carry, it was 20 minute walk into the town and but only 10 minutes to the restaurants, bars and shops.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MadFrank 21 reviews from this member

Have just returned from Les Menhirs after a break of 8 years.

It's amazing how memories change - in this case for the better - the site seemed a lot more open than I remembered.

Reception is very efficient - and even let me stay later on the last day at no charge so I could get the 11PM ferry from Caen.

The location is fantastic 10 mins walk from the town centre and 5 mins walk from the beach - perfect.

The pool is small but has two great (fast) slides that kept the kids happy.

The bar is small but quite pleasant.

There are three sets of very decent toilet/shower blocks that were constantly being cleaned.

I booked one of the 'prestige' pitches with the BBQ, water and waste facilities - not for the facilities themselves but because of the larger pitches. The basic pitches are quite small so if you have a larger van then it is worth considering the extra money.

Gripes:

The shop is poor and closed more than it is open.

There is quite a large static contingent which changes th esite dynamics a bit - especially if you are in the midst of them.

There is only one chemical loo point which became a little unpleasant at time when some of us caravanners decided not to clear up any mess that we made - this was cleaned quite promptly so cannt fault the site - just the users.

Am I going back again - oh yes.

It is expensive bit worth the money for the location in my eyes.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Turner2 25 reviews from this member

A medium sized commercial site with several tent and chalet operators. Fairly quiet on our visit in September 2012. Nice grassed pitches with water taps every couple of pitches and all with EHU. Two large toilet blocks with Showers/washing up areas etc - These were kept very clean during our stay. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby with weekly markets on Wednesday/Sunday with lots of food stalls. Small shop on site with limited stock during our visit as season was due to end but bread could be ordered daily and fresh milk always available - The shop also provided an evening take-away service for hot chicken/sausage and chips etc (6to8pm). The indoor pool was very clean and pleasant but closed on Mondays. The site manager Sylvie was very helpful. Beaches are just 5 mins away from the site and you can catch the little train to La Trinite-sur Mer

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hwcamping 4 reviews from this member

This was our first trip abroad in our campervan and we chose Carnac because it was only 3 hours drive from Roscoff and Les Menhirs had swimming pools and was close to the beach.

The drive from Roscoff was very easy with most of it being on quiet dual carriageways. The easiest way to find the site is to follow the signs for the Tourism office at Carnac Plage and then keep going for another 100yds and the site is signposted on the left.

The owner of the site speaks English which is great and will help you with any queries. The site at the end of July was full to capacity, but the pools were never overcrowded. The lifeguard would always ensure the slides were used safely. Our children aged 11 and 14 yrs spent many hours on the slides. There were table tennis tables, but there were often full. There was a very noisy kids club, our kids were too old to try it.

The pitches were a good size, with some being separated by hedges. I would recommend asking for a pitch around the edges of the site, as the ones in the middle are affected by the noise from the pools and the evening entertainment.

Although the site was busy, this was made up by the proximity of the site to Carnac Plage where there were many eating places in the evening and lots of wonderful icecream parlours. It was just 10 mins walk max to these and then you could walk back to the site along the beach.

If you want a quieter site, then it is probably worth going to the ones between here and St Trinite Sur Le Mere, where there is still a beach, but no eating places within walking distance.

Finally take a bike or hire one and tour the area using the many cycle lanes - French drivers will always let you out at junctions and give you plenty of space when overtaking, so it is a real pleasure cycling around.

Previous     9 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Brittany   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4900 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1094