Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gruinard Bay Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Gruinard Bay Caravan Park
Laide
Wester Ross
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV22 2ND   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01445 731556  or  07972 614532

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
              8/10 from 12 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (8)

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Countrycruisers 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite recently for one night, the location is stunning but the cost of staying one night with hook up was £22. 00 which was quite expensive (WIFI was extra £5 per day) when the facilities are very dated and showers are a fine art to control the temperature. The instantaneous gas Paloma water heaters used for heating the showering water are something my grandmother would have had in her house 50 years ago. The toilets are a mix of different colours, Gents toilets and showers are located in an old container, with home made shower tray while the Ladies showers are the back end of a residential caravan also used as reception. Not a good site for facilities, the tumble dryer was out of order. We won't be back until some money is invested in a new facilities block.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fionagh1 1 review from this member

We have just returned home following 4 wonderful nights camping at this idyllic campsite. We have stayed here many times now and it has to be the most beautiful setting anyone could wish for. The weather was good and warm with no midges in sight. This is a basic campsite but is all we need. Lots of lovely walks round the area with lots of fabulous beaches. Many thanks to the owners for making us so welcome and we will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JandB 9 reviews from this member

There have to be (in my experience) very few places in Scotland with a better view than from this campsite. The beach is small but beautiful, with pink sand and stones and what better sound to fall asleep to than the lapping of waves. The views out across the bay to outlying islands, mountains and headlands is simply stunning. Run by a lovely friendly couple the site has seen better days; the toilets and showers are housed in an old static caravan and a converted shipping container. The facilities are clean but old and in desperate need of replacement. Having said that, this site has to have a pretty perfect location and, when we visited, was up for sale, so whoever buys it has a potential winner on their hands if they are prepared to spend some capital and build a new toilet and shower block and maybe put in some hardstandings.

There are approx 15 grass pitches for caravans or motorhomes with most of these right on the edge of the beach with stunning views (weather permitting). There are also a similar number of static caravans (some for rent and some privately owned) and about the same number of pitches for tents. It was blowing a gale on the second day we were there with classic Scottish squally showers but the rainbows that came and went will have your camera clicking away like crazy.

It's a very rural community but it still has a small shop/post office/petrol station a few minutes walk up the road, and we were frankly amazed to find an excellent variety of products on sale. Given that you are many miles from a town or a supermarket we didn't expect to find locally made cakes, skimmed milk, an impressive assortment of wines, beers and spirits, fresh fruit (avocados, peaches etc) and loads of chilled products like ham, haggis etc etc. We live in a small rural community ourselves and know the importance of supporting local amenities but Laird Stores is by far and above your average village shop.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maggieswesties 4 reviews from this member

This site is in a beautiful location and you pitch on the edge of the beach. Beach a mixture of stones and sand with rocks and pools to provide endless amusement to children. Very peaceful and relaxing place to stay. Owners are found at the house and are friendly and helpful. As already stated in other reviews, the facilities are very old fashioned and outdated but scrupulously clean and should not deter folk from coming to stay. The Bay has an interesting history of having the small offshore island used for experimentation for biological warfare - now decontaminated but uninhabited by humans and animals - I didn't collect mussels from the beach for lunch!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lumatrix 5 reviews from this member

Gruinard Bay Caravan Park is exceptional. The views when parked up are sensational. Toilet blocks are old but clean and pleasant, the beach is small but with the aforementioned wonderful views. Hookups are available but we don't use one. They are NOT charged for if you do not use one.

There is a small, colourful burial ground to the East of the park in case, as the owner told us you 'feel affected by a presence' as one camper told him.

The owner was very helpful to us when we ran out of gas and went way beyond what could have been expected in generosity and helpfulness.

All in all - do not drive past this park it is wonderful.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Wheeler99 8 reviews from this member

Great site! Location is spot on for relaxing and within a short drive to some superb hills. Site spotlessly clean and pot wash plus washers are modern. Toilets and showers are dated but very clean and hot ( look past this its fine). Otter and good birdlife on the beach. Good walk to Mellon Udrigle beach was worth it an amazing place! Good pub food at Aultbea Hotel. Places like this need supporting!

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets for the UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 18 - 21 August 2017
East Yorkshire - the world’s biggest tribute band music festival, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4879 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0898