Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Het Rietveen

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Overseas > Netherlands > Site Reviews

Camping Het Rietveen
Noordeinde 130
1121al Landsmeer
Amsterdam
Netherlands   (Browse area)
   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0031 20 4821468

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 1m  5m   1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 7 Reviews
              9/10 from 7 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (14)

Reviews:  7 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rainbowfamily 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week in August 2014 visiting Amsterdam and surrounding areas. It was a very pleasant site and what just what I was hoping for.

There are many other Amsterdam campsites some of which were memorably pleasant when I stayed some years ago as a single young person. However returning now with children in tow I wanted somewhere a little more family-orientated rather than aimed young travellers intent on getting stoned and staying up into the early hours drinking and socialising! Het Rietveen with its 'No Drugs' policy was exactly as I hoped, full of mainly Dutch families and quiet by 11pm.

The campsite is on the very attractive lakeshore just opposite the Het Twiske nature reserve / recreation area. The prime pitches front onto the lake but long channels have been dug to allow other campers to moor boats next to their tents so plenty of people have a waterfront view of a kind. We enjoyed watching the ducks and swans and our children swam in the lake on a couple of occasions.

There are about 70? pitches but it was pretty busy the whole time we were there with a 'FULL' sign outside the gate all apart from the first day. Although the pitches were large enough, when surrounded by a lot of caravans it did feel a bit crowded at times - not much space for children to run around and play independently. Definitely do book ahead in the summer months - the owner leaves out a little yellow pitch markers to reserve certain pitches for named visitors - although I must add that although we did book ahead, there didn't seem to be a yellow marker for us so we just took a free space - so perhaps wise to follow up your online booking with a personal email to confirm your intended arrival. Coming straight off the overnight Harwich ferry as many British visitors will do, we arrived by 9am and found that it gave us a better choice of pitch than we might have had later in the day.

I would strongly recommend that visitors to this site bring bikes with them (we didn't and regretted it!) - Het Twiske is made for cycling and indeed can be reached much more easily by a ten minute bike path than by car for which the only access is 20 minutes drive away (and parking is charged). You can also apparently cycle along paths into Amsterdam which would save money on the very regular and efficient but not cheap buses into Amsterdam Central Station. At €10 return for adults and €3 return for 4-11 year olds the cost of travelling into town by bus does mount up.

The site felt very friendly and safe - don't be alarmed by the idea of no reception as this is all part of its laid back charm. The owner lives very close by and comes round a couple of times a day.

There is no wifi on site so do your internet research before arriving and bring some good maps with you as it will help you visit local villages etc without resorting to always travelling on the boring and crowded main roads. Local cycling maps are available from the info centre on Het Twiske - we found other local info hard to come by, though there is a noticeboard (all in Dutch!) outside the campsite toilets.

There were five toilets per sex and a total of four unisex showers plus two washing up sinks and a laundry one - with free and plentiful hot water they were busy all day but never too much so. All fairly clean but basic with no toilet paper or soap provided in the loos which was a bit of a pain until you got into the swing of having to take it with you!

The location, just 10 minutes pleasant walk from shops, restaurants and services in the quiet and pleasant town of Lansdmeer, was good. Two very good supermarkets, Jumbo and Deen, in town (both with a shelf of veggie alternatives, soya burgers etc) made cooking at camp very easy and we saved a lot of money by doing so.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Asfc70 8 reviews from this member

The site is very will situated on the edge of a lake. It is within walking distance of some lovely pubs in Landsmeer, where the staff are extremely welcoming, De Driesprong in particular, we were made to feel like guests of honour. A couple of supermarkets and other shops are also within a five minute drive. Het Twiske, across the lake, by Bike is a must. Kayak and Boat hire available and there is a small beach and Pavillion restaurant/bar. Zaanse Schans is a 20 minute drive away, and Enkuissen just under an hour, with a brilliant open air museum of the olden days.

Het Rietveen is a lovely site with a laid back atmosphere, Toilet and shower block is suffice. Not many English campers, mainly Dutch and German. Be prepared for the Mosquitos.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tripper99 11 reviews from this member

This is a nice small site about 5 miles north of Amsterdam. It is easy to get to and well signposted once off the motorway. Access from Purmerend (to the north) is very fiddly and a sat nav is very useful. There is no reception and the owner comes to you. If the site is busy she is around a few times a day.

There are about 60, grass only, pitches in quite a small area. The site has many trees and is by a large lake. Across the water is the nature reserve 'Het Twiske' which is geared up for walkers and cyclists. There are car parks around the perimeter.

The toilet facilities, on site, are very basic, but clean. There is always lots of hot water for showers and washing up.

For a caravan and 2 adults we paid Euro 25 per night which we thought expensive. The bus, 4 an hour, is a short walk away and it goes into Amsterdam Central Station. Buy the ticket on the bus Euro 10 return per person. Landsmeer is a 15 minute walk away it has everything you will want here. There is no Wi-Fi on site, but the nearby library has free internet access.

We stayed 11 nights here and found it to be in good position for visiting many of the nearby picturesque villages e. G. Marken, Edam etc.

We would be happy to come here again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grapefruitmoon 23 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a few nights so that we could visit Amsterdam. There are regular buses to central Amsterdam. The site was convenient and easy to reach from the ferry port at Imuigen.

Landsmeer itself is a pleasant town with very friendly people, shops, a good supermarket, and cafes. There is a large lake with park areas around. The campsite, just being a short walk to the centre of the town, is quiet and secluded.

The toilets and showers at the campsite are basic but clean. The site is quiet and our kids had nothing to do but (carefully!) kick a ball about and watch the swans.

The water/showers at the campsite are free which is unusual in Holland and the campsite rates were very reasonable for this area also.

Lovely lady who appears every afternoon to collect fees. Very trusting.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gray333 4 reviews from this member

This attractive site is beautifully located on the shores of a small lake. Narrow inlets coming into the site grounds give the impression that many pitches are on the water's edge.

Landsmeer town is within walking distance; it has a good selection of shops and places to eat, and is surrounded by interesting Dutch countryside. Landsmeer is also a good base from which to visit Amsterdam, either by car or cycle. We used the excellent bus service but found it to be a little expensive.

Pitches are reasonably sized, and site facilities are good and well maintained. There is no site office - the owner visits during the day but lives nearby - and payment is by cash only. There are no play facilities for children but part of the lake shore has been turned into a small 'beach'.

We would happily visit this site again if in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Louloveswheels 1 review from this member

It was busy during our 10 day August visit but never felt crowded and there were always a couple of pitches available. Supermarkets and banks are a 5 min walk away in the town (Landsmeer). The facilities were clean and the water was always hot, but there were no washing machines or driers provided which could have been a problem if the weather had not improved - enabling us to dry clothes in the breezy Dutch climate!

The location suited us perfectly; 7km from Amsterdam meant that our family could easily cycle into Amsterdam on the cycle route and on the days we wanted to avoid bustle we cycled around the huge recreation area next to the site, Het Twiske. Here we discovered the best playground equipment ever(!) and took a Kayak out on the water (6. 50 euros for 1/2 hour).

Frequent buses leave for the city from just around the corner of the site but they are costly and children over 4 are charged full price, however the drivers think this is wrong and they generally let youngsters travel for free! We didn't drive and use the park and ride service but 'neighbours' told us it was very good value.

If you are cycling into Amsterdam make sure you use a good chain to lock bikes up (not a cable lock) as we were warned by many about bike theft. There is a good cycle shop in Landsmeer with helpful and friendly advice. We had a great holiday and want to go back to explore more. A great family cycling experience with city culture and green space.

Previous     7 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Netherlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


923 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1172