Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Blair Drummond Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Site Reviews

Blair Drummond Caravan Park
Cuthil Brae
Blair Drummond
Stirlingshire   (Browse area)
FK9 4UP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01786 841208

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby:
5m  5m 

Pitches: 88
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
              9/10 from 27 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kaydeescoolcamping 3 reviews from this member

We booked the only 2 tent spaces with ehu for this site for a weekend (the other tent spaces are not EHU) and had an absolutely fantastic weekend here. Our 2yr old grandchild had her birthday in the safari park and birthday barbq at the tents. Her Aunt and Uncle came for the barbq and the warden was very helpful and offered to lift the barrier for them when they were going but they decided just to leave the car in the car park outside. Although the tent spaces are outside the walled area they are in a nice cosy corner with maybe 4 other spaces and a small grassed area for our toddler to play (there is a play area but she was so busy) It was really clean and lovely and quiet apart from an animal noise in the middle of the night for a few minutes which sparked great conversation the next morning over what it had been :) We had a lovely time here and once we finalise dates will reserve for next year as well.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nwaddrof 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here Sept 2014 for a 2 night stay as close to home.

It's a pretty site and very well kept, especially the grass. The wall around is attractive although daunting to go through as a relatively new caravanner. The toilets were clean and very modern with touch control free hot water showers and Dyson hand dryers. The shop is stocked with essentials and ice cream. Just a note. The shop/reception shuts at 7pm and not 8pm as stated on their website. We only just made our pitch with 10 minutes to spare. There was no mention of the earlier closure on our booking receipt.

We stayed through the wall next to the woods and the playpark, which was quiet but meant we were covered in leaves and had a couple of birds get into the awning (all part of the caravanning experience). Plus we were next to the path into the wooded area so found 6-8pm quite busy with dog walkers next to the van. In this area the ground is quite uneven, even the hard standings, so make sure you have some levelling blocks with you.

The play park and woods were very good for our older children but you have to keep a watchful eye on wee ones due to the zip slide. Between that and the trees to climb the kids had an excellent time.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flier109 1 review from this member

This site now allows tents, which isopod as it is a lovely site, as people have said, loads to do in very scenic setting. There's also a small children's play area. Toilets are excellent, loads of space, plenty of hot water etc. People running the site were friendly, I believe it was taken over this season. There is now also recycling at this site. I look forward to returning, although I'd advise booking ahead, as it was full when we were there early August.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Waterman 18 reviews from this member

As an Affiliated site I wasn't sure what to expect. Really pleasantly surprised. The site is in an old walled garden, it looks well cared for and 'pretty'. The dog walk is in the grounds of the house, looks more like a castle, which I now believe to be a Rudolph Steiner school. There are many tracks around the estate with a river/lake at the bottom, this is complete with an island of monkeys, which are part of the next door safari park. The Rhododendrons were out and were beautiful, some over 20ft high. The showers were brilliant, double width with a hand basin, and you didn't have to touch the controls, just wave at them. Dyson hand driers. I was only there for one night as a stopover up to Skye, but well worth staying longer.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Madge23 5 reviews from this member

We just loved this site. Situated in a wall garden with lots of walks in the woods adjacent to the site. Children's playground well away from the main site. Showers and toilets clean and lots of hot water. We especially liked the many tracks just outside the site on the estate where you could walk or cycle in peace away from the traffic. Large loch nearby and a lovely river walk into the village of Doune where there were two small supermarkets. Would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PollyPeacock 3 reviews from this member

This is the most formal, 'posh' site I have been to. I have only ever been to sites that allowed tents before (with a tent, as this was my first time with a caravan): this site does not allow tents. Most of the caravans were good quality and the owners were obviously experienced caravanners with every mod con available. This probably explains why, even on the Bank Holiday weekend, that the toilet and shower blocks were never busy when we were there.

When we arrived, the woman on reception was not very helpful or friendly. I enquired about some toilet chemicals and asked what the two types were for, only to be told, rather incredulously by the woman on reception, 'I have NO idea! I know NOTHING about caravans!' So if you're new to camping and think you might get some advice or assistance at this park, you probably won't get it from the staff.

As stated on the website and in other reviews, they offer very limited opening hours, however, they do have electricity hook up (1) and water in their car park and they also have a key entry to allow you access up till 8pm to the park.

Everything about this caravan park speaks of quality - a lot of money has obviously been spent on everything -the toilet block, the hard standings, the satellite dishes dotted around and the children's play area.

The toilets are warm - the gas central heating radiators were on all the time and the sink water was hot, but the showers weren't great: there is an ill-fitting shower curtain that does not stop the water soaking the whole cubicle and there is only the tiniest space to stand on the other side of it to dress/undress and to dry yourself after the floor is soaked. The showers are operated like automatic taps, so can just go off at random if you are not standing/moving close enough to the sensor and even up to the highest setting, it was only lukewarm when I used it this morning.

The site is not at all friendly. In fact, it is the most unfriendly site I have ever been on - fellow campers rarely even smiled at one another and did not say, 'Hello'. It was lovely and peaceful though - I was far away from the children's area, near the toilet block. I could have had peaceful lie-ins in the mornings if I had wanted to. Everyone seems to be in bed by 10pm. You won't find any late night drinkers or loud music at this park.

There seems to be no recycling here and it's not very eco-friendly - all rubbish is general waste in big bins outside the toilet block and the toilets have heating on all day often with the external door left wide open.

You can walk/cycle through the land in the private estate next to the caravan park with its lovely trees and loch and this route takes you to the back of the safari park (although this is not a way in). The safari park is a mile away and we got entry on other days for free after paying once at the caravan park, which was really good value.

We had lunch the first day at a pub in nearby Doune which was great and went to Waitrose in Stirling one evening. We also used a local Spar in Doune for bread and milk.

This is a really well-established site that is very peaceful and in lovely surroundings and would probably be most suitable for older (age 60+) experienced caravaners with beautiful caravans - the type of people who polish their car at least once a week.

Just not for me. I would rather slum it in a more child friendly place. This has a good children's play area but it seems like the children are shoved as far away from the rest of the site as possible and when other caravanners do see them coming to and fro - they don't seem to like young children being there.

All in all - great for retired people, or childless couples, not so good for families.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Stirlingshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2497 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469