Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crugan Farm Caravan & Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Crugan Farm Caravan & Camping
Llanbedrog
Abersoch
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7NL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01758 740273

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  5m  1m   5m  5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
              9/10 from 10 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (13)

Reviews:  10 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CarterD 1 review from this member

Just had 6 days at Crugan Farm. Really lovely place. Ideally situated for Pwllheli and Abersoch. Close to Llanbedrog beach. Walking distance to a pub which we visited. Very friendly owners of the site. Toilet and showers nice and clean (though ladies toilets often without loo paper - however no problem I don't feel it should be provided anyway - we take our own).

Toilets and showers are a bit of a walk from the touring field so if you need the loo in a hurry it could be a problem!Well kept tidy working farm run by a lovely family. We will definitely be back. Richard (owner) said they are replacing the toilet block for next season. Though as I mentioned the showers were clean and plenty of hot water. There are other tourer caravans on 2 other fields which appear to be permanently sited and all pitches beautifully kept. Thankyou for lovely 6 days wonderful days. We will be back!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsbumble 1 review from this member

Just home from a 5 night stay at Crugan Farm. I chose this campsite as when I was emailing various sites for availability I felt that Gwenno was the most enthusiastic and helpful in her reply. I was concerned about the distance from the pitches to the facilities and Gwenno emailed me a map fully explaining the layout of the site.

We were allocated pitch 48 which was right next to the walk through from our field to the next one and also one of the water taps, we had a windbreak up so still had our privacy despite the amount of people that passed by our tent. I was very happy with this pitch, it was a great size, very flat and with having 3 children (14, 11 and 5) it was only a cock stride through to the play area for my youngest and I could easily keep a check on her.

There are 4 toilets (2 male/2 female)and 4 showers. These were kept impeccably clean. My first thought when I saw them was that there wasn't enough for the size of the site but there was never a wait for the showers and we rarely had to wait for the toilets. There was 2 washing up sinks but again we didn't have to wait. There was freezer that we could use for our ice blocks free of charge. The owners also sold their own eggs (which were amazing) and they also sold some delicious meats for barbecues, we tried burgers and belly pork and they were amazing.

The site was within easy reach of Abersoch with it's beautiful beach, Pwllheli and Porthmadog. I would highly recommend anyone stay at Crugan Farm, we'll definitely go back in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ian Bot 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from having an excellent 5 nights stay at Crugans Farm, We have never been to this part of Wales before and what a lovely place it is. On arrival we were booked in by the owner a very lovely lady who gave us a leaflet which had the site plan and rules and reg's and told us which pitches we could choose from, also a swipe card so you can get through the electronic barrier, we chose Pitch 26 which was quite a large pitch as all the others seem to be too, it was next to the children's play area but we didn't mind. The shower and toilet block was near to us and always clean when we used them, you can buy fresh eggs from the farm and also bacon sausage burgers and other meats which are all local products. There is a really nice Beach across the road and a Pub within walking distance which does good food at reasonable prices, there is also a Bistro on the Beach as well. So I would just like to say a big thank-you to the owner and everyone at Crugan's Farm for making our stay so enjoyable, Recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lyndseylola 1 review from this member

I'd pre-booked this site due to the excellent recommendations on UKCampsite.co.uk and wasn't disappointed. I'd had a few questions for the location and had rang Gwenno who was very informative and helpful. I'd rang around a few campsites and Crugan Farm was the only one in the area with such a happy telephonist, everyone else I'd felt like I'd disturbed their day, however with Gwenno I felt welcome right from the word go.

On arrival to the site we turned onto the turn off on the main road to be greeted by a reception at a lovely farm house. It is a working farm so we had to call the number listed at the entrance for help but we didn't mind as the owners were so pleasant and gave us our pick of the pitches as they were quiet and even offered to let us stay later on out departure day (due to availability, not always allowed if in busy periods. )

We set up our tent nicely protected by a hedge on a nicely flat field, well maintained and with plenty of space around the tent. The ground was very hard so I'd recommend bringing a mallet for your pegs however it had been hot all weekend so it couldn't be helped.

There was a small children's' play area and ample playing space for children, a well maintained shower block and toilet block, a freezer to re-freeze freezer blocks and food.

We liked the fact that it was a working farm (with sheep in the next field and guinea fowl running round, but not in the camping area mind. ) and we even bought some ribs and chops from the farm for our BBQ which was delicious, they even provided a block for us to put our disposable BBQ on so we didn't ruin the grass.

We got chatting to some guests who were staying in camper vans who said the electric hook up is good, strong wifi connection and good disposal for the chemical toilets.

The location is a nice 15 min walk from Llanbedrog village and about a 15 min drive from Abersoch and Phewelli. It is about a mile from the Wakestock festival, an ideal location for any festival goers, and directly across the road to the farm you cross a field and you are straight away on the coastal path leading to a gorgeous little cove of Llanbedrog beach.

We had a lovely time, made even more special by Gwenno and the team at Crugan Farm.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Justine752 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a long weekend and yes, the site was clean and had level pitches, but we were actually very disappointed and came home a day early, Our pitch was on the small side and only just took our Outwell Montana tent (luckily, we could park the car outside it) and backed onto an extremely busy A road (the main road out of Abersoch). You were very much squeezed in and the caravan next door had a constant stream of visitors so we were forever facing onto 3 or 4 cars. Sorry, but we won't be visiting again. The owners are lovely though and it was great being on a working farm.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Minardifans 1 review from this member

Visited Crugan Farm for 3 nights in June 2014.

The site is very tidy. Even though dogs are welcome (we took ours) there is no dog mess to be found as there are signs everywhere telling campers to clean up their mess. As it was during term time the site was very quite although this is a working farm so there is some noise from the cows but you soon get used to this.

All the pitches are level and clearly spaced with a small fence. There is hedging and trees between the sea and the site which provides shelter from the wind. The only issue with the pitches when tenting is that out pitch was quite rocky underneath so we had quite a few bent tent pegs.

The toilet blocks and other facilities such as showers are spotless and cleaned everyday and there are sockets at the facilities for charging a phone and a freezer to freeze any cool blocks you have. There is also a play area for the kids. Lots of what look like seasonal caravans mainly taking up most of the rear of the site.

A great location too with great views of the mountains behind and not far from Criccaeth, Pwllheli and Abersoch. The owners are very friendly too!

The only big downside is that the toilets are a fair walk from the camping field and near the seasonal caravans so a bit of a walk which is ok during the day but a right pain during the night.

Previous     10 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3572 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1172