Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Cevennes Provence

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Site Reviews

Camping Cevennes Provence
Corbes Thoiras
Anduze
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
30140   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 00 33 46 66 17 310

Facilities:  (Key)
                    

Nearby:
1m  5m 

Pitches: 250
Open: 20/03/2009 To 20/10/2009

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 5 Reviews
              9/10 from 5 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikebzley 6 reviews from this member

A lovely site in beautiful countryside.

The weather was cold and wet, so there weren't many people there. As a result it was very quiet. I imagine it gets quite noisy in the summer.

The river was too fast and full to be safe, but when the water is lower and slower it becomes a great playground.

The woods are full of deer, wild boar and other animals.

The sites are flat, grassy and well shaded.

The toilet blocks were very clean and well equipped.

The shop was good, and the snack bar served very tasty pizzas and other food.

A great find!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Deakins 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fortnight at this gorgeous campsite – our second visit. Back in rainy England wishing we were there. The river swimming is wonderful, lots of shady places to sit, and the setting just beautiful.

The walk up through the campsite to the interesting old signal tower is lovely.

Prices more reasonable than a lot. The only downside was a lot of mosquitos so go prepared – they go with the water.

This is the only campsite we’ve ever been to where we spent most of our time on site, having visited most of the more distant attractions last time. You do have to drive to visit any town or village.

Pitches are very varied. The “plaine” is at the bottom and nearest the beach area, very attractive but a bit crowded in for us. Mostly under trees and flat, lots of shade but no view, except for pitches at the edge nearest the “beach” which are probably booked a year in advance for high season.

We were on the “terrasses” both times and lucky to have lovely views of the distant hills. This is an ancient farm, still family owned, and the terrasses are old with lots of trees. Steps and the roads lead to the bottom where the shop, restaurant and play facilities are. (good minigolf. )

Then there are the “collines”, more terraced pitches that go a long way high up; many are very private but you would probably want to use a car to go to the beach and shop. Not many of these have electric hookup (These may be all that’s available if you haven’t booked in advance, but you will always get in. )

You may have a choice if you ask; they will take you around on a golf trolley – or a Mini Moke! (Wanted to bring that home…)The staff are very friendly and remembered us from 2 years ago.

There are at least 10 Sanitaires scattered around of various sizes. All we visited have at least one sitting toilet – we have never had a problem waiting, being oldish I can’t do the Squatty sort!

Everything was cleaned twice a day and very well kept, with plenty of hot water, though all are unisex (and why not!) If this is a problem to you, you probably won’t be camping in France.

The rubbish and recycling arrangenents are magnificent - people abandon all sorts of unwanted equipment there and we Borrowed 2 good chairs which only needed screws tightened, much better than ours.

There were very few English in July and August, most are French or Dutch with a good scattering of German, Belgian etc. The shop is very good with lots of fresh meat and vegetables but hardly any tinned meals.

The restaurant is quite good but rather over-subscribed, takeaway pizzas (especially the Cevenol!) and Frites great. We had entertainment twice a week, not too loud and finishes promptly, all play areas and bar are dark after 10. 30pm and peace descends. Perfect. (No barrier or curfew at the entrance). Children have a lovely noisy time at the excellent playground.

The pool at the next ruined mill, a walk of 20 minutes from the camp along (and in!) the river, is fabulous – go left at the beach and keep going, wearing suitable shoes of course. It’s very popular with locals, there is a bit of parking on the road but to drive there you have to cross the river at Anduze or St Jean.

You can also walk down the site drive and through the gate on the left to the river, or find the path behind the campsite old mill and walk along the “canal”, ignoring all the No Entry signs as everyone else does, along the gorge and swim in the pools.

Lovely, and much safer than scrambling over the rocks. The Canal is a leat which waters the Bambouserai outside Anduze, a huge and lovely garden. No picnics or food inside so you have to time arrival right, it’s extremely popular, with carpark and ticket queues but we spent 3 hours in there.

Several supermarkets etc. Are at the near end of Anduze ten minutes drive away – but very steep on a bike! Anduze is attractive, St Jean less so though the Cevennes museum is well worth a visit and the steam train fun.

The Gardon de Mialet goes up the mountains and there are lots of lovely swimming places above St Jean; follow the river and park in a layby where you can see a track going down, or at the first big bridge there is a huge carpark and lovely gorge swimming.

Altogether a lovely area.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LisaSR 2 reviews from this member

Mixed opinion of this site. Overall, would recommend, and in wonderful area of France.

We chose a hillside pitch - good size and the way it is cut into the hill gives a sense of own space/privacy, but that does make it isolated and not good if you like to be sociable. We enjoyed the peace and the setting.

It was extremely hot when we were there, and it was very steep, which made it quite a chore to walk down to the main area and river, and we got bitten by mosquitoes walking up through the trees at dusk (or going down to the nearest water tap).

Power point was on next pitch - standard lead wouldn't stretch without being a trip hazard and management tried to charge us for an extension, ultimately agreeing not to charge.

Nearest sanitary block had 2 continental-style toilets and one with a seat; three showers which had to queue for; only light was from gaps at top/bottom (so a few bugs too).

Alternative pitches are as mentioned by the river, but would have had the opposite problem i.e. too crowded and noisy - would suit if you are sociable and have young children.

The river is spectacular - great for kids to enjoy having fun in natural surroundings, and boulders for parents to sit and read/sunbathe.

Great views when walk to the top.

Good playground, busy boules area, crazy golf.

On-site shop with tomatoes and other homegrown produce.

Enjoyed meal in restaurant, but by the end of our holiday they switched to a more limited menu, inc stopped doing half-pizzas for the children.

Family run, hard working team.

Liked the town of Anduze - during our trip there was a pottery extravaganza in the park and a nightime procession. Great excursions in the area or reasonable drive away: parcours circuit with enough levels of difficulty to suit all ages, Grotte de Trabuc (caves), town of Nimes (recommend ampitheatre and park). Plenty more to explore in the wider area that we didn't have time for.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rain_flower69 5 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 10 night break at this lovely campsite. You can coose from 3 pitches, by the rivers which is bust and quite packed in, it felt very on top of each other, unless lucky enough to have a corner plot, there were plots on the terraces which were lovely and then those on the hills, which were all individual, well screened, private and quiet plots. The down side to the hill plots are they are UP HILL, obvious I know but hard when you have quite a walk from the rivers.

The site was spotless, the staff very helpful with excellent English and were always jolly. There were hardly any English people there, it was mainly French and Dutch families, and hardly any people without kids. It did mean our daughter didn't have a chance to meet other kids which she loves to do, but on the positive side it was a very quiet, ordered site. Lights literally went off at 10.30 across the site and parents removed thier kids from playgrounds etc promptly. It also meant the 'entertainment' was all in French or Dutch, not that we wanted to see it or be involved, too happy sitting on our hill over looking the rivers.

Toilets - well, on the hills they were clean but the old fashioned French toilets, on the flat plain there were 3-4 really excellent blocks with glamorous toilets, showers and even a dog shower! Ours were very clean, but I just don't get stand up toilets!

We loved the views, the nearby town of Anduze, the quiet, the beautiful river walks (go left along the river and keep walking - you will come to the most beautiful deserted, tumbledown watermill & plunge pool)we liked the restaurant and the icecream varieties and liked the table tennis.

We didn't like the stand up toilets, but that was it!

We loved this place and I really cant wait to go back

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnnyhamster 8 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet site with a fantastic river. Ten hours drive from Caen.

Situated at the confluence of two rivers (both named Gardon, confusingly), camping Cevennes Provence has almost a mile of river within its grounds, which is naturally the main attraction. Access to the site is over a narrow bridge, up a sharp hairpin and down to reception. This is a well run, family owned site, very French – we received a friendly welcome and had our rented fridge and EHU working inside ten minutes. The mix in early August was a handful of British, with an equal split of French and Dutch. English spoken at reception.

There’s a very well stocked shop selling a range of bread and croissants, beer, wine, groceries (including local produce), camping essentials, also river shoes (recommended). Camping Gaz exchange and fridge rental. Twice weekly visit by butcher and a hairdresser once a week. Adjacent to the shop is a bar and restaurant / takeaway which spills over onto the boules pitch opposite. The restaurant serves the usual French fare, plus crepes, pizza and ice creams, plus a daily set menu. Entertainment is low key and everything shuts down by 11pm, plunging the site into total darkness apart from the toilet blocks, so keep a torch handy. Next to reception there’s a huge boules pitch mini golf and tennis, plus a very good play area. By the river there’s a large recreation area with play equipment plus volleyball nets.

Pitches are all shady and spread over three areas. Hillside - if you like peace and quiet, these pitches are mostly very private, (we had a huge pitch , but had to leave the car at a lower level). It’s also a bit of a trek from the hilltop down to the river in the blistering summer heat (some of the upper pitches are a hundred metres above the river). At the top of the hill there’s an old watchtower which gives excellent views of the miles and miles of wooded hills so typical of the area. The lower pitches are better placed for access to facilities and if you’d rather have neighbours. The river is less than a minutes walk. The terraces are slightly higher up and seemed popular with camper vans.

There are ten toilet blocks around the site, all very clean and mostly modern if basic, although only about half of them feature ‘english’ toilets. The main block down on the lower level was in need of an update and seemed quite heavily used, while some of the hillside ones were barely visited.

There’s no swimming pool, but the river is fantastic, crystal clear and warm. As with swimming pools, the water is regularly tested for quality. Upstream of a small weir there’s about 300m of shallow river, ideal for small children. Downstream the river courses through pools and rapids for over half a mile – ideal for swimming and sunbathing on the flat rocks, although the river bed can be slippery and river shoes are advised. Supervision of children is recommended, there’s a lot of ‘safe’ danger here, so you’d need to be fairly confident in the water.

The small but lively town of Anduze is three miles away, and has plenty of restaurants and shops. Aldi and Netto are just down the road, there’s also a Super-U in the town centre. Nearby attractions include the Bamboo Gardens (within walking distance) and a steam train running between Anduze and St Jean du Gard. Head north into the Cevennes for walking, cycling and some really wild and remote countryside. We drove for hours on tortuous roads through stunning scenery to Mt Aigoual. Alternatively, head south for Provence – the Camargue and the Med are just over an hours drive.

What’s good: Quiet, laid back site, friendly staff. Spectacular river. Starry nights.

Not so good: Some of the upper pitches are a bit out of the way. Main toilet block needs modernising. Out of season, the river may well be unswimmable as they get some serious winter flooding in these parts.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Languedoc Roussillon   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3985 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469