Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Watertop Open Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Site Reviews

Watertop Open Farm
188 Cushendall Rd
Ballypatrick
Ballycastle
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT54 6RN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 028 20762576

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
5m  5m   5m  10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 14
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
              8/10 from 12 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (4)

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jmc74 3 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to Watertop Farm. It is still one of our favourite camping sites, as there is so much for the children to do. Go to the farm, pet the animals, make friends with the farm dog, go for walks, play in the park, to name but a few. (Check their website for the rest).

The camp site has been upgraded with water and electric hook up at each camping pitch. Great for modern campers!

Ballycastle is about a 15 min drive away, which is a must for ice cream and a play on the beach.
http://www.ukcampsite.co.uk/sites/reviewgo.asp?newid=183909&id=4576
Having been to the site before, I was glad to hear they were updating the toilet/shower facilities, as this was the only area that I thought needed updated. However I was disappointed that the facilities were not ready when we were there. We were told they weren't going to be ready until 1 July 2014. A few more hand sanitisers around the farm for the kids hands would also be a good idea.

The views across the mountains and the wide open fields are beautiful to look out at, and at night, the park goes completely quiet after 11. Which is great for a good night sleep! But remember your torch if you need a trip to the toilets throughout the night.

There are plenty of bins for rubbish, and Watertop have now put recycling bins at the pitches which is also a great idea. These bins are cleared regularly, and the campsite is spotless.

Once the new facilities are open and more hand sanitisers are in place, this camp site will be well worth 10/10.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heleg 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site just outside of peak season, which suited us perfectly as we practically had the site to ourselves!

We stayed for two nights with a car and tent and were impressed by the amount of space, beautiful surroundings, friendly owners and great price.

The toilet block was perhaps a little basic, but this did not bother us. Free hot showers and a place to wash up were great, and there were laundry facilities had we needed them.

We enjoyed being able to see the animals and even cuddle some kittens and puppies! Overall a lovely site and a beautiful area - just wish we'd had time to stay longer!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahlouduck 1 review from this member

We decided to visit this site as there seemed to be a lot for our young children to do. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

We were on a hard pitch beside a fenced off river and were tortured my midges every night. Also there was no room for our car to be parked once our awning was up.

The toilet and shower facilities were very basic and there was only 2 toilet cubicles for women which are also used by day visitors to the farm.

My children loved all the play areas and assault course, although wellies are a must if there has been any rain at all.

There is a small cafe on site but it is just a 10 minute drive to ballycastle which has lots of shops, restaurants, pubs etc.

A fantastic site for young families but midge repellent is a must buy before visiting.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jmck74 2 reviews from this member

We chose watertop open farm for our first ever camping trip.

When we arrived, we were directed to the camping field, and given our pitch number. I personally found this helpful as it was our first time camping, I knew exactly were to pitch our tent.

We set up with no problems, the grass was good, and all the pitches seemed level.

The scenery no matter where our tent would have been was beautiful.

There was plenty for the children to do, either play in the large grass area in front of the tents, or play in the playpark. There was also plenty of activities within the farm. There was beautiful walks around the farm, which we done.

I was worried that being close to a farm, that I would be kept awake by the animals, but apart from the odd baa from a sheep, there was no noise at all.

All dogs were kept on leads, the farm and campsite were spotless, and the campsite was quiet by 11pm.

The only one negative, was that the toilet and showers were very basic, but considering everything else was wonderful, this did not spoil our camping experience.

I will return to Watertop without any hesitation.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Serenityjunkie 1 review from this member

I have stayed at this site several times a year for nearly 20 years. And will continue to do so. It has been a major part of our children's growing up

As it showed them a way of life and experiences they could not get in the city

This is a working farm, and that for me is part of the attraction. It is a great place to camp especially in the new camping field which is relatively midge free. There is a short walk to the toilets, as there is in most sites.

Occasionally there have been problems with toilets getting blocked and I have seen this in many sites all over Europe. Once reported it gets sorted ASAP.

I thoroughly recommend this site for family camping, there is loads to do even when the attractions arent on. Good place for peace and quiet.

The surroundings are amazing, and you are just a short drive away from some of the most beautiful coastal scenery in the British isles

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nellybellmotorhome 18 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site off season which isn't recommended as none of the advertised activities are are available. There isn't a lot to do if you've nothing else planned to do, except go for walks or drive into Ballycastle.

The site has all the usual facilities (electric, waste disposal), but the toilets and showers aren't that clean.

There are farm animals on site such as sheep, pigs, chicks and rabbits which you can pet and a small playground for kids. They have a minature 'museum', and shop/cafe which is only open in the summer.

Overall, a site probably better in peak season.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in N Ireland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4411 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0391