Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Oxwellmains
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1WG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 02477670642

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 10m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
              8/10 from 47 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (17) and Video

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SamJB 1 review from this member

First visit to this site.

Warmly welcomed and given a choice of pitches, especially as they were not particularly busy.

We had grass with hook up. There was only about 4 or 5 other tents and then a smattering of campervans.

Lovely view from our pitch of Bass Rock and Dunbar. The site is exposed though so was windy. Make sure you peg out well! I would say that all pitches have a seaview, except for the site managers!

Only one toilet/shower/wash up block for the whole site. So if you position your self on the edge then you have a bit of a trek to it. Every thing was clean and tidy. Lovely hot showers. Never seemed busy but the site was not full. Inside and outside washing up sinks.

Very hot on recycling (quiet rightly) so be prepared to sort your rubbish.

WiFi cards for day, week, or year. However it is one code card for one device, so when you have two children with ipad's and husband with iphone. We managed though! Maybe C&C should look at changing this to a code per unit, because it could get expensive! Embrace the technology C&C!

Only one fenced of playarea. A fort combination many aimed at the littles. Picnic site with lovely views, space to fly a kite, play ball games etc and specific dog walking areas.

It is a short walk to the nearest beach at White Sands, a small sandy beach with rocks to climb. Dunbar is also a short walk or drive in the opposite direction, a nice little town. An Asda is also close by.

The site is just of the A1, although no traffic noise. It is close to a cement works/quarry and Torness Power Station but they are not so close that they spoil your stay/view. A1 enables easy access North to Edinburgh and further or South to Berwick and Northumberland coast.

Would definitely visit site again.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tuffins 4 reviews from this member

We stayed just the one night at this site but thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

The sea view was lovely from our pitch and we were able to walk along the coastal path into Dunbar whilst watching a bit of Golf along the way.

We had a very friendly welcome and were provided with all the information we needed.

The facilities are fairly new and very clean and well kept.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magsie 3 reviews from this member

An excellent Camping Club site. Good clean modern facilities, spacious pitches (some grass, some hardstanding). The WiFi worked very well all over the site, at £2 for 24 hrs or £10 for a week. Wardens extremely helpful, especially Paul.

Dunbar is a good walk or short cycle ride away, or you can park free at the swimming baths near the harbour and High Street. Nice to see a range of individual shops along the High St. If you need a supermarket, there is a large Asda, with cheap fuel, a couple of miles away on the A1.

Very much enjoyed a short stay and intend to return for longer.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sam Rosenthal 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 weeks in August together with group of families and lots of kids. It's a fantastic site with a high quality playground and was thoroughly enjoyed by all the family.

It's a spacious site and we never felt crowded.

There are quite a lot of rules but that's typical for a CCC site and the rules are there for a purpose. (Rules also help prevent the type of campers who aren't interested in rules).

As noted in the other reviews, it's a windy site but that's the price to pay for a magnificent view of the sea. We actually had to pitch our tent on the day that (the tailwinds) of Hurricane Bertha were passing over the UK and we therefore needed lots of help pitching our tent, and got it up at the second attempt with the help of the legendary Schleiders and Bambergers.

There's lots to do in the area - I'll list a few:

North Berwick Law and Air Museum.

St Abbs Head - clifftop walk

Pease Bay and Cove

John Muir Country Park - you can then walk from there to the campsite

Lammermuir Hills - Lammer Law

Edinburgh and attractions - incl the Fringe during Aug

Pressmenan Woods

Trapain Law - has a picnic spot

Blairdrummon Safari and zoo - 1. 25 hours drive but well worth it if you get there early enough.

Will no doubt be returning at some point.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cara89 30 reviews from this member

We hve visited before but got quite a surprise at the new play park that has been built. It never had one until this year. There is also a large, fenced in grassy area for children to play very safely.

There is a dog walk with a great view and a ball games pitch.

The pitches are really large. Both the hard standing and the grass.

Staff were cheerful and friendly.

The shower block is well kept inside the building as well as outside with flowers in pots and patches.

Even the chemical disposal was spotlessly clean.

This site is now one of my favourites due to it now feeling welcoming to families.

A sea view from every pitch just adds yet another positive.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cammie1912 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site, with great sea views. Staff friendly and welcoming, showed us to our pitch. All facilities clean and tidy. Great motorhome service area, although water points on site can be a bit of a trek depending on where you are pitched. Nice walk along the coast into Dunbar, about an hour and half. Most of it along side the golf course so dogs must be on leads for most of the way. Dunbar itself is not that exciting, but a drive to North Berwick is a must, lovely beach and seabird centre and a high street with some lovely independent shops and nice cafés.

Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5089 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0569