Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Dunbar Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1WG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 02477670642

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 10m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 51 Reviews
              8/10 from 51 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (17) and Video

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jazzyboy 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site for 2 nights in September. Site itself is lovely, very clean and tidy. Toilets which are my bug bear were impeccable. My only negative comment and I know I maybe be a bit over reacting here but I asked the rep ( not the owner) where I might photograph wildlife. He suggested Bass Rock. Bass rock is 10 miles away and a boat trip. 200 yds as the crow flys pardon the pun from the site is a quarry lake where there are various birds. First dog walk I saw a Barn Owl. Great Site, excellent facilities, toilets impeccable, all that is needed are local reps.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gaz44 7 reviews from this member

What can I say, when your sitting in your van looking at the sea

All seems well in the world.

Longish single lane road from main road but with plenty of passing places so no problem.

Large area for late arrivals with a motor home service point so you could fill with water, empty grey, and use the elsan point before you get shown to your pitch.

Staff were friendly and helpful, can't fault them.

Toilet block, as you'd expect with a ccc site were spotless with plenty of hot water.

We didn't use our awning or fence as it was pretty windy on our visit and was told the ground was hard, but there were plenty of others with there's out plus the tents didn't seem to be having a problem.

Dog walking area at top of site, but over the style across a field down the road and you were on the beach in 10 minute's and from there walks each way.

Not much in the area, but a big asda along the main road on way in.

Think it was about a half hour walk along a path into Dunbar itself, and we had a fifty minute drive into Edinburgh for a dog show.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mumsy100 2 reviews from this member

What a really lovely site with equally lovely managers and assistants. The site is very clean and very well tended. It is slightly tiered. It is both grass and hard standing has EHU chemical disposal, clean toilet and shower block, washing up, facilities, laundry etc. Washer costs 3. 50 a wash. A quiet site with few play facilities ie I think I saw some at the bottom of the field but not sure! There were children but few when we were here and I would guess the site might be more suitable for recycled teenagers :). There were all kinds of outfits - tourers /tents/ campervans /Motorhomes. We were on the top tier with a lovely view of the sea - majority of pitches have sea views. Brilliant and we would certainly come again.

Dunbar town is a bit boring - Edinburgh clearly not! 24 return train fare for two adults. 20/25 minute ride. Frequent trains. ASDA about two miles away from the site - site shop limited. Beach in Dunbar very smelly and I found it unpleasant and caked in seaweed. Go out of campsite and turn left to a beautiful beach - minutes away. They were just installing parking meters when we were there! Berwick on Tweed is a nice town to visit - maybe 30 minutes drive away? Shops clean interesting etc.

Dunbar campsite is definitely excellent - quiet which suited us and very well managed. I would highly recommend going if you want some breeze sun excellently clean and spacious facilities and peace. Dog friendly - keep on a lead. We will go back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GeoffanJan 3 reviews from this member

I cannot find any fault with this site and can only endorse what other people have said.

The wardens are really friendly and helpful and keep the site looking immaculate.

The pitches are quite generous in size and all have sea views because of the elevated position.

We found plenty of things to do and see during our week long stay including trips to :Edinburgh, North Berwick St Abbs and Falkirk, which was about an hours drive away, to see The Kelpies and the Falkirk Wheel. Can also recommend the Air Museum at East Fortune and the Motor Museum at Myreton Aberlady.

On the whole a lovely site and we will definitely be coming back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SamJB 1 review from this member

First visit to this site.

Warmly welcomed and given a choice of pitches, especially as they were not particularly busy.

We had grass with hook up. There was only about 4 or 5 other tents and then a smattering of campervans.

Lovely view from our pitch of Bass Rock and Dunbar. The site is exposed though so was windy. Make sure you peg out well! I would say that all pitches have a seaview, except for the site managers!

Only one toilet/shower/wash up block for the whole site. So if you position your self on the edge then you have a bit of a trek to it. Every thing was clean and tidy. Lovely hot showers. Never seemed busy but the site was not full. Inside and outside washing up sinks.

Very hot on recycling (quiet rightly) so be prepared to sort your rubbish.

WiFi cards for day, week, or year. However it is one code card for one device, so when you have two children with ipad's and husband with iphone. We managed though! Maybe C&C should look at changing this to a code per unit, because it could get expensive! Embrace the technology C&C!

Only one fenced of playarea. A fort combination many aimed at the littles. Picnic site with lovely views, space to fly a kite, play ball games etc and specific dog walking areas.

It is a short walk to the nearest beach at White Sands, a small sandy beach with rocks to climb. Dunbar is also a short walk or drive in the opposite direction, a nice little town. An Asda is also close by.

The site is just of the A1, although no traffic noise. It is close to a cement works/quarry and Torness Power Station but they are not so close that they spoil your stay/view. A1 enables easy access North to Edinburgh and further or South to Berwick and Northumberland coast.

Would definitely visit site again.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tuffins 4 reviews from this member

We stayed just the one night at this site but thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

The sea view was lovely from our pitch and we were able to walk along the coastal path into Dunbar whilst watching a bit of Golf along the way.

We had a very friendly welcome and were provided with all the information we needed.

The facilities are fairly new and very clean and well kept.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lothian   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

299 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder