Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Embruns

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Site Reviews

Camping Les Embruns
Le Pouldu
2 Rue Du Philosophe Alain
Clohars Carnoet
Brittany   (Browse area)
29360   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 298 399 107

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m   10m  1m 

Pitches: 180
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
              9/10 from 14 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 30 reviews from this member

We stayed at Camping Les Embruns for 10 nights at the end of June 2015. We were allocated a lovely large pitch however, we had told the site in advance that we had a large awning. Many of the other pitches are a bit smaller and whilst being adequate, might feel a little cramped with a large caravan and awning plus all the usual camping paraphernalia.

The site itself is beautiful, more like camping in a garden surrounded by flowers and shrubs rather than in a standard campsite. The toilet block nearest us was immaculate and had the largest shower cubicles I have ever seen on a campsite. All the usual facilities such as laundry, dishwashing etc are all well maintained and plentiful.

The site has a medium sized rectangular pool with a retractable roof which was closed in cooler weather. The pool was nicely heated and we enjoyed using it in the late afternoon when it was relatively empty. There was another small outdoor pool which was really just for the water slide but we never used it so I can't comment.

The site is directly across the road from a small supermarket selling a few basics which was fine to get your morning croissants etc and a few soft drinks and fruit etc but not a big range. The nearest biggish supermarket we found was about 15 minutes drive away in the town of Guidel and it has everything you could want, including cheap petrol and a very good Sunday morning market.

The site is within a 5 minutes walk of the sea with a range of different coves. Some of these were quite seaweedy and even the biggest cove with the least seaweed was still quite weedy. We were lucky to have amazing weather when we were there and really wanted to swim in the sea so we drove 15 minutes to Guidel Plage which had amazing long golden sandy beaches with no seaweed! There were also some lovely beachfront restaurants in Guidel Plage and loads of free parking so we preferred to go there to the beach rather than the local ones.

My husband and I love walking and we made good use of the Brittany coastal path which you can pick up just down the road from the campsite and you can walk in both directions. To the left you can only go a short distance before hitting the river but if you go to the right you can walk all the way round to Doelan which was a very picturesque fishing village.

Apart from walking and the beach there isn't much to do in the immediate area but we did a couple of nice day trips to Concarneau and Quimperle. We didn't do too much when we were there as we really just wanted to relax and this site was ideal - peaceful and quiet.

We are planning to return again in June 2016 as we enjoyed the peacefulness of the area and the opportunities for walking. We had amazing weather in 2015 but I am a realist and I know that this was unusual for the time of year. I would imagine that in poor weather, the area will be a bit like Cornwall in bad weather but with much less to do!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Karen Richard89 4 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd year for 1 week at Les Embruns. This is a great site in all respects, not in your face but really nice for kids and well maintained facilities. Great walks to coves in either direction along the coast, and the 'town beach' is 400m down the road from the site entrance. It's Brittany, so the weather is king! But why on earth do they close after Wk 3 in September - it was fuller then last year than when we visited in August this year! Thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joe90jr 2 reviews from this member

Les Embruns, Le Pouldu, Brittany, located at the top of the village a couple of hundred meters from the sandy beeches. We were here a week at the end of August 2015. They accept Acsi and camping cheques etc from third week of August.

The staff are all fantastic and their English and willingness to use it far outstrips our French!

This 'peaceful' site has two pools with three slide, the indoor is heated to a very nice warm temperature, there are sun lounges and chairs for free use. It gets busy in the main part of the day during peek holidays as you would expect but when we arrived around 4pm it was fine.

There are two toilet blocks and two shower blocks which are both unisex, located in the middle and end of the main area. The showers are free and have mixer/ push button taps which also include a sink and plenty of space in each cubical. There is toilet paper and hand soap provided.

While we were there for entertainment they have a football pitch with posts, table tennis and nice grassy areas to walk with some animals (donkeys and goats) to pet.

The grass pitches vary in size, we have a two birth with 260 awning and Jetta, just fitting on the pitch however across the way it looks at least half as big again. The site intermingles static vans with touring. The access road is just a car width and this can make setting up the van tricky, but we have a motor mover. Without one you can easily push the van in to the flat pitches. If there is space they allow you to choose a pitch which would make access easier and some allow you to drive right through your pitch (in one side and out the other). There is lots of shade provided by many trees (including apple trees).

Our pitch (and it looks like most do) had water, grey water disposal, electricity and TV point which was nice. I believe it is 16amp. We have a small (normal) sky dish and we have picked up Freesat without a lot effort and strong signal.

Free 30 min a day wifi is available at one of the 'club' house each day by getting a code issued from reception. Wifi is available across the site for 20 euros a week (appears fairly standard).

Would we stay again? Possibly not as there is another few sites nearby (within walking distance) and one looks slightly nice, wider greener spaces (le grands sables. ) for the same price. Then again we rarely return, others have been here a number of years :-)

There is aircraft noise starting September as I think there is a military base nearby, none of which bothered us.

The site is secure with barriers that get locked at a set time at night, there is parking outside the barriers if you want to return late. Don't forget your code as you will not be able to walk in :-)

We needed to have the electricity reset a couple of times, this was done before we had time to return from reception, amazing!

Some of those we spoke to have been here for a number of years, it certainly ticks a number of boxes.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Teekayk 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here in the first 2 weeks of August in our tent, 2 adults and our 8 year old son.

The site was fantastic and definitely the best we have stayed at so far. We had a comfort pitch, which has electric, tap and drain. It was just big enough for our large tent, car, trailer and space for table and chairs.

All pitches are separated with hedges etc, and the whole site is beautifully planted out with trees and flowers, and kept clean and tidy.

All the facilities are spotless and we never had any issues with queuing for anything. There is a small playground with bouncy castles, a few mini golf holes, a nature space with ducks and donkeys, a small library and a games room. My husband enjoyed a massage at the health suite and the restaurant right next door at the front of the campsite was fine too, providing pizza, salads, chicken, steak and mussels. They also did some items to takeaway. There is a small shop round the corner for basics. The bakery just 100m down the road does lovely cakes too.

The swimming pool was great as it is covered and heated for rainy days and the water slides were perfect for my 8 year old. All the area was clean and well kept with plenty of loungers. We paid extra for Internet. The signal was ok most of the time. Only 2 devices could use the Internet for the one fee, and only one device could be used at any one time.

Le Pouldu is a small sleepy village with generally not too much going on except the market on Wednesday morning and a smaller one on Sunday nights in high season. There was a circus there one night while we were there. The best beach was the one opposite the Girapark as it was less seaweedy. This was about an easy 10 minute walk from the campsite ( walk down to the sea and further along the road to the right ).

We visited Pont Aven, Concarneau, Quimperle ( there is a large LeClerc here ). We visited Lorient to go to Ile de Groix. There was a huge Celtic festival on at Lorient which was well worth a visit. Our visit to Ile de Groix didn't go as planned because we didn't give ourselves enough time due to lack of planning on our part. You need a full day and it takes 45 mins to get there on the ferry from Lorient, which does not run as frequently as I had anticipated.

The site was fantastic and I would have no hesitation in recommending it. The area is very pleasant and I expect to return sometime.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Big Roy 2 reviews from this member

We had a week here, it's an immaculate site, with flowers and shrubs everywhere, the pitches are separated by hedges and although not big, adequate.

There is a pool which we did not use so can't comment and a small shop just outside the gate which sold fresh bread, there is also a restaurant which was good and value for money.

The toilet blocks were immaculate with push button showers.

The staff on reception were very helpful especially Gwen who couldn't do enough for us.

The beach in Pouldu is a ten minute walk and is superb although no dogs.

Lots of places to eat and drink, There's an Intermarche at Moelan Sur Mer and a vet

This is a beautiful part of Brittany with lots of places to visit and reminded me very much of Cornwall but with better weather

I would highly recommend this site but if you are travelling from Calais I would advise to stop overnight half way, as it is quite a drive

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alphonso De Lard 23 reviews from this member

We had 13 nights on this site, and one night on the Brittany Ferry to Roscoff from Plymoouth. The site is only 2. 5 hours from the port, and makes an ideal campsite for those not wanting to travel too far into France. As with Ghislaine's review below, we were highly impressed with Les Embruns. It's a beautiful site, really well looked after, with top notch facilities. We had a Grand Confort pitch, which wasn't massive, our car was squeezed onto the pitch along the road, (only negative of the whole stay, more of that later), but we had plenty of room for van and full awning. The showers were spotlessly clean, push button, but the temperature could be altered, and the push lasted plenty of time. The swimming pool was fantastic, sometimes busy, sometimes not. Our junior camper enjoyed the slides but the outside pools were a little chilly! The indoor pool was clean, and warm. Loads to do on site, ping pong, animations, games room, park, petanque etc. We bought the wifi so we could use it on the pitch, worked fine mostly, but was hit and miss a couple of times. Free wifi is available in the games room. The site had a mixture of custom, quite a few English and French, but also Spanish, Irish, Dutch and German. Pitches are a mixture of tents, caravans and chalets.

Concarneau, Pont Aven, Port Louis (interest Citadel here) and Quimperle are all within easy reach and are well worth a visit. In fact, I was impressed with the whole area. South Brittany is beautiful, hardly any litter - anywhere, nice properties, rivers galore, lovely beaches, estuaries, it's a lovely geographic area well worth a visit. There's a lovely beach at Kerfanny, as well as giving us plenty of somewhat immature laughs! There is a local Abbey, we visited but just walked around the grounds rather than paying an entrance fee - was worth the walk as we saw a kingfisher by the estuary, I was so chuffed, never spotted one before, and managed to get a couple of poor photos of it. Some of the best things in life are free! Speaking of free, there was an excellent firework display over Pouldu port, not sure what they were celebrating, but presume it's an annual thing - keep a look out next August. Must have been an hour of excellent fireworks, if not longer, over the estuary. Fantastic.

Shopping. There's an Intermarche at Moelan Sur Mer and a Carrefour at Clohars Carnoet. We preferred the slightly larger Intermarche, (the butcher in here is an absolute star - go seek him out). There's a small shop just by the site that sells most basics, as well as fresh bread and croissants. Although the almond croissants from the bakers next to the cafe on the road towards the beach, are delicious! We found the bread from this shop slightly nicer than from the site shop too. We ate at the site restaurant a couple of nights, good pizza and reasonably priced. Found a lovely Italian restaurant in Guidel, really good choice on the menu, grilled meats, fish, moules and pizza/pasta dishes. Desserts were outstanding! The local markets are well worth a visit, although it does seem to be the same stall holders traveling around each one.

The one negative was the car parking on the pitch. (106). A young lad accidentally rode his bike straight into the corner of our car, causing very slight damage. Other pitches had plenty more room, but our car was, although on our pitch, right next to one of the main thoroughfares of the camp site. If we return to this site, I would probably ask not to be pitched here again, or to ask for a bigger pitch so we can park further from the road. Fortunately, not too much damage was done, and I decided to drop it, but he's left his mark on the car, which spoiled a day or two of the holiday for me.

We would definitely stay at Les Embruns again if we return to this part of France, it's a lovely well cared for site, suitable for couples and families. Bonjournee.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Brittany   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win AutoSock Ice and Snow Wheel Socks Win tickets to the Win a 'Best of British' Holiday worth up to £350!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 23 - 28 February
The UK’s biggest start of season showcase, held at Birmingham’s NEC. Win 25 pairs of tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6395 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0625