Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Badrallach

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Badrallach
Croft 9
Badrallach
Dundonnell
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV23 2QP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01854 633281

Facilities:  (Key)
   

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
              8/10 from 8 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  No Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  8 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gailyates 1 review from this member

Spend an idyllic week at Badrallach over the Easter break and didn't want to come home. The campsite is set on a quiet estate road, tucked away from civilisation on the banks of Little Loch Broom. Pitches are level on the main field and there are a number of additional pitches set in amongst gorse bushes, if you want a bit more privacy. The sun shone for our entire stay so we didn't really use the bothy, but we did check it out. Its a really homely little building with huge leather sofas, a fire and a wealth of games and books that can be borrowed. The kitchen can be used for pot washing and for cooking if needed. Facilities were fantastic, lots of piping hot water (free) for showers, which were welcome after a day on the hill. Mick, the owner, was around if needed and he's keen to have feedback on your stay.

All in all, Badrallach is a quiet little gem of a place, especially if you want to escape from life and while away the hours completely absorbed in the stunning scenery that the area has to offer. We will certainly be heading back.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markphelan 12 reviews from this member

We visited Badrallach as a start to our tour of Scotland. The site was very quiet, with only a handful of other people stopping for just 1 night.

The site is very much 'off the beaten track', and the road to get there is single track (often very narrow in places). Cars are fine - we were towing a trailer without any problems, but I can imagine a campervan or caravan to be a bit more tricky round some of the tight turns and hills.

The site has space for around 12 tents, and is on a slight slope. There are 3 electric hookup points for campers/caravans towards the top of the site on a single post.

Several of the smaller pitches are dotted around amongst the hedges and many had firepits built nearby - though the one on our pitch had seen better days so I dug it out and rebuilt it.

The toilets and showers were great - plenty of hot water in the showers, once you manage to get around the 'quirky' shower screens! The bothy is equally nice, and the shared kitchen facilities were good.

We were joined by a couple of motorhomes during our stay, who both insisted on driving down to the bottom of the site. It should be noted that, especially at this time of year, the ground is not suitable for vehicles at the lower end of the site and should be avoided. One driver got his vehicle well and truly stuck at around 9pm, and despite our best efforts we could not get it free. A local farmer had to bring a tractor down to drag it out, and the motorhome left the place in a real mess with churned up ground, rocks, bits of wood etc.

If you're expecting floodlit level tarmac, then this is not the site for you. Access is limited and the site is a dark, quiet relaxing place that does not benefit from spinning tyres and revving engines. Indeed, the long track to get here should give you a clue that there is not a sprawling metropolis waiting to greet you at the end of the journey.

We loved it - the lochside is a 2 minute walk and we were lucky enough to see an otter and porpoises. On a clear night the stars were incredibly bright, and we were surrounded by deer in the hills around us.

Definitely one to visit if you want to get away from it all - but probably not for everyone due to its remoteness. We just parked up the car and enjoyed the peace for 4 nights and didn't drive anywhere until the day we left. Perfect - will definitely return!

Date of Visit: January 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arty Collins 5 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here in January. Was hoping to do some winter walking in the area. Snow was deep and roads icy which curtailed my walking plans somewhat!

Stayed in the Bothy and as I was the only one there it was like 5 star camping. Facilities are good, showers hot and toilets fine. Owners are friendly and helpful.

Amazing wildlife, deer eagles etc were seen every day.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

Beautiful setting by the lochside,campers canoeing on the loch when we arrived. We stayed for 1 night, with hook up, did struggle to get sort of level as the site is on a slope but managed it with wedges.

Bothy is handy with kitchen facilities and shower/toilet block behind.

Very friendly owners at croft just up the road, holiday cottage next to site (they were letting off some fireworks for a 50th birthday but did check with all on campsite first re dogs etc - not sure what they would have done if we had said no though!)

Overall lovely site but be aware there are no local facilities and it is a good drive back to Ullapool.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fimg 1 review from this member

Remote and peaceful campsite, the bothy - which is available to all campers (if not exclusively booked - you will advised when checking in whether available to access) has books and games available. The toilet block were far better than I imagined. Gorgeous scenery - only possible downside would be some pitches were water logged but there had been excessive rain. Owners very friendly, approachable & helpful & will be definitely go back again. Also has the plus side of being able to have a camp fire on most pitches

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mozzi 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at Badrallach for 9 nights in late June/early July 2009, and chose the site because of its small size and remote location.

The setting was lovely, but I'm not sure if I would return again.

The site advertises that it takes 12 tents and 3 campervans, but on a very busy weekend in the middle of our stay, there were more than this, plus the bothy was full, and the facilities were strained. The site owners did do their best to keep on top of it though.

There were 2 loos in the ladies', not sure of the number in the gents', 2 showers and 1 washing-up sink to serve the entire site. However, the showers always had hot water and decent water pressure when I used them.

There is a small fridge with ice compartment in the bothy kitchen/washing-up facility, which is shared by the bothy, and when the bothy was full on an exclusive-use basis, these facilities were not really accessible to the rest of the campsite.

The main pitches themselves were in a line on a slight slope and of a decent size, with car parking on the pitch, and some had fire pits, which was nice. There were additional outlying pitches with no car access, which looked to be smaller, and again some had fire pits.

There is no laundry facility, the nearest being over an hour's drive away in Ullapool.

There are very few shops nearby, even for basic provisions, and all are at least a half hour's drive away, and don't expect any to be open on a Sunday!

The midges can be a problem, so be prepared if visiting in summer.

Overall it was a nice site, served the purpose generally for somewhere small, remote and quiet, but was less pleasant when over-full on a weekend. The scenery was beautiful!

Previous     8 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Highlands   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6389 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1074