Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fox And Hounds Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Fox And Hounds Camp Site
Bridestowe
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX204HF   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 820206

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  5m  10m  5m  10m   10m  5m 

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 8 Reviews
              5/10 from 8 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  8 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Annsimpson 3 reviews from this member

We've just had a week at the site and found it a nice place if you don't mind basic facilities, the field was lovely and big and our pitch was good and flat. Although there was a group of Sea Scouts the first weekend we weren't disturbed noise wise, the 'rickety' stairs as spoken about in other reviews must have been replaced as they were fine although steep so not suitable for anyone with problems.

The two female toilets were basic and were cleaned daily and toilet rolls replenished, the only mess came from other inconsiderate campers. The shower was a cubicle in the toilet room so wasn't very private but if you showered first thing or when other campers were out then you had the room to yourself, however the shower wasn't working the last two days. I'd say that its best to take your own porta loo and be prepared to wash in your tent like we did and you'll be fine.

The site is very near the Granite cycle trail and there's a track from the site that goes straight out onto the moor so its ideally sited for bikers/walkers, we ate in the hotel/pub one evening and the service was very good

The owners were very friendly and helpful, we'd go back there again. We used the Sun £1 pitch vouchers and paid for electric hook up so it only cost us £6 a night all in all a nice cheap weeks holiday and the weather was kind to us.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nicky Hatherell 16 reviews from this member

We have just spent a weekend at this site and it's great for location and pitch space - a lovely field.

Given the weather of this summer so far it was quite empty when we arrived so the fact that there were just 2 toilets (2 ladies and 2 gents) was ok. The only shower was very small, and as previously mentioned there was absolutely no privacy for dressing as the shower cubicle is in the toilet / sink area. The only place to put your clean / dirty clothes and towel is on the floor outside the shower cubicle (which could probably become quite grubby when the site is busy). There is a wide window sill you could use, but that wasn't within reach of the shower so you'd have to wander naked to reach your towel if you put it there!

We didn't notice it becoming dirty but they were definitely slow to replace toilet rolls - often empty or almost empty.

Another negative is that there is no facility for dish-washing so be prepared to boil kettles!

But for the price of £8 per night (despite the website informing us it was £6. 50) it was still good value.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hawcara 35 reviews from this member

Access to site is good, up bumpy track, between two buildings and then through 1st gate on the right.

Watch the road before it, as it is 40mph and we saw a mobile speed trap on a Sunday morning.

There are 5 hardstandings with water close by and all with electric.

At first glance the site looks a bit grubby, but it is close to the moor, just up the lane and the pub is 10 yds away.

The toilets are functioning and could do with updating. The shower is warm/hot but there is no heating in the block so it is decidedly chilly in the winter. Toilets leaked.

We had a meal in the pub and found it reasonable value.

We would have used the site even if there were no toilets, having them was a bonus.

I don't think we would visit in the summer, because it may be too crowded.

We will certainly go again as we like walking, the site was reasonably priced, the staff in the pub were all friendly and efficient, with good food and beer.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MillerTime 1 review from this member

The purpose of our visit was a little different to the norm, as we were invited as part of a wedding party, so the site was very busy.

There is a pub attached to the site, which serves traditional home cooked locally sourced food with friendly service.

The sites facilities are very basic, the toilets and shower are upstairs in the bunk house. The shower cubical is in the same room as the toilets, so you basically step out the shower and have no privacy what so ever! The toilets were often dirty and one of the two always had a pool of water around it. A simple shower curtain would help this a lot, and a hook for your towel etc would be helpful too.

The rest of the sites facilities are; there are a couple of water points on the site, and there is a waste disposal although we didn't need one. The EHU which we also didn't need actually looked quite new and seemed to be sufficient for the others pitched along side us.

I don't think I would use this site again, simply because the facilities are so poor.

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bilbo Bagginsx3 2 reviews from this member

We are new to motorhoming and this is the 2nd site we've stayed in. In November 2010 we needed to stay overnight near Okehampton and found The Fox & Hounds on this site. Phoned previously and was told not to worry about booking but just to turn up. We arrived at around 1pm to check in and pay but were told: a) not to pay until the evening and b) the serviced pitch could not be saved for us if we were to leave the site and wish to return later which is what we had intended to do. Slightly miffed, we decided to take a chance thinking we could at least pitch on the grass without hook up, if someone had taken it. We were advised to put a cone on the hardstanding but was again reminded if it were moved there was nothing that could be done! Fortunately, when we returned at around 6pm the serviced pitch was still available so we pitched up for the night. The hook up itself was just a plug poking out of the ground with a small wooden cover on it. Unfortunately the welcome was lacking clarification and we weren't really told where anything is on the site when we arrived. Had to ask in the end as couldn't find the toilets. And yes well. Just horrible!.We had to walk up a rickety looking, slippery wooden staircase which took us into the most basic toilet block I have seen for many years. It was not clean, the floor was rank, the toilets were splattered, the shower was muddy, the sinks were not that clean but adequate. The most annoying thing though was that there was no hot water and no driers, not even paper towels to dry hands with! Couldn't see where to empty the waste either.

On a good note and having said all that, we did have a meal in The Fox & Hounds which was basic pub grub but tasty and nicely cooked.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pthare 1 review from this member

Very basic site, found one water tap which worked when it thought it would.

The toilet block is in fact the toilet and showers in the camping barn. 1 shower and 2 toilets in the ladies and gents both in need of a good clean. 2 small wash hand basins gents had no plugs ladies had one. The shower had seen better days no where to hang clothes or towel while in the shower. The outer door of the ladies didn't close fully, one toilet door wouldn't lock all in need of some tlc.

There was no where to do washing up.

We didn't use the pub so can't comment on that.

Previous     8 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3700 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0430