Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Campsite Les Erables

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Site Reviews

Campsite Les Erables
17 Rue De Chateau D Eau
Escalles
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62179   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 (0)3 21 85 25 36

Facilities:  (Key)
        

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m 

Pitches: 50
Open: April To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
              8/10 from 10 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  10 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Livewires 9 reviews from this member

This campsite was a great find! The staff are a very welcoming and pleasant couple who are happy to help. Its location around 7m from the Tunnel and within walking distance from the dog friendly beach make it ideal. The facilities are basic but absolutely clean and functional and the site represents good value at around 12 euros a night. On our first visit our 3 units travelling together were placed on one large pitch, which was fine. The site fills up quickly and we have always made a reservation a few days prior to our visit. Bread can be ordered the day before and Wi-Fi is free.

Worth staying an extra night to enjoy the beach and cliff walks. Would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woodrow137 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stop here with our 2 sons aged 3 & 5 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The site is clean and well run with very friendly helpful owners.

We found the price to be very reasonable too.

Toilets and showers were kept clean all of the time and although there are not many we never had to wait long to use them.

The site has lovely views over to England on a clear day and is close to nice sandy beaches and the village.

You can order fresh bread etc from the reception on site daily until 10pm and collect it the following morning.

Electric hook up connections are French but you can borrow an adadtor from reception with no charge.

Booking is certainly necessary as the site is very close for Calais and the Euro Tunnel as overnight stop off or longer periods and the complet sign was at the gate for the duration of our stay.

We will certainly return here again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mgre2310 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here on our way to Normandy and again on the way back. Cracking little site clean and very friendly. It doesn't have much very basic but so is the price. 15 minutes drive from Calais. You do need a French electric hook up adapter though. Mind we were able to borrow one. As every one else says you need to book in advance. It gets full early. Its ten minutes to village by legs. We had food in the second restaurant down but as its one of our favourite place to eat anyway its a bonus to be so close. Like I said basic but good.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 126 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave A16 at junction 40 and follow signs for Peuplingues, go through village and continue to Escalles. Site on left at sign although not easy to see, site about 200 mts down lane on left.

Les Erables is situated not from the coast just the west of Calais and is therefore handy as a stopover site to and from the ferries, especially as it opens longer than some better known sites in the area. (1st April-11th November) It’s seven miles from the Tunnel and a little further from the ferries. On a clear day you can see the English coast. However it is likely to be less well sheltered in windy weather than those sites a bit further inland. Some French might be required on booking in. Given the nature of its use this campsite is fairly basic although for the price it is very good value. The site is terraced down to the entrance and pitches are reasonably level. The 50 or so pitches are on all grass but some have have chipped stone runways which make them more all-weather particularly useful for motorhomes. Electric points are rated at 10amps and use CEE17 blue connectors although best to check for reverse polarity. The only water taps are either at the motorhome service point or at the toilet block. Likewise grey water and chemical disposal is also at the motorhome point. The toilet block has been created out of an old barn and whilst not luxurious is perfectly acceptable with seated toilets with paper provided in the cubicles. Bread can be ordered from reception. The site also offers free WiFi, just ask for the log-in details. Coming to this campsite I think you have to be prepared for it to appear quite crowded at busy times.

Most will use this site prior to their crossing. It would be handy as a place to do any final shopping before going home and you have the choice of a couple of very large supermarkets within a few miles. It could even be suitable for a slightly longer stay if you wished to explore the coast here abouts.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ina 15 reviews from this member

Time for an update on my review of 2008.

As I said in that review, the site is becoming ever more popular, and now is often full before 3 pm, with the 'Complet' sign put up at the gate.

The last time we stayed there was early October 2011, and even then it was quite full, though not 100%.

When returning from holiday this time, on 7 July, we went again, and arrived around 1pm. There were some empty pitches and we were allocated one of them at the top. When we got there, there were 2 motorhomes already there, we were the 3rd, and there was 1 more pitch free in that section. There are gravel tracks for the tyres, and 4 sets have been put in there, just for motorhomes. A few years ago this took just 2 units, and, as with quite a few other pitches now, they put 4 units on there. On inspection, we did not feel that the spacing between units was sufficient, very little space between, so asked for a different pitch. The answer was that that was the only free pitch, all others were reserved. Given that a few of the pitches had reserved on it, but by no means all, I'm not sure I believed that. After some discussion, we decided to leave and asked for our money back, which we got.

We have been coming to this site since it opened in 2004, but the last few years it is apparent that units are being squeezed on, confirmed by the fact that there are now pitch numbers ending in 'b', 'c' and 'd'. At the entrance it states there are 25 pitches, but that was a long time ago, I'd say at times there must be double that on there.

If you don't mind being squeezed on for 1 night, then it's a good stopover, but personally I'm disappointed that this site seems to be a victim of its own success. Also, for the number of people on there at times, the WC/showers are not sufficient.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bethan.flowers 3 reviews from this member

Brilliant, scenic little site, such an easy, short drive to/from Calais. Forgot to order our morning bread, so walked 10 mins downhill into village, bought croissants from the other campsite shop and breakfasted on a beautiful sunny beach, overlooking the white cliffs of Dover - a perfect start to our holiday.

Didn't really enjoy our first evening meal (1st restaurant on left in village) but found a great restaurant with good food & stunning almost 360 views for our second night - Le Thomé de Gamond, not far from the WW2 monument on top of Cap Blanc Nez. By road, go down into village, right at the crossroads onto D940 and turn right in approx 0. 7km. It's actually walkable in sturdy shoes up the hill from the carpark that you pass on the way down to the village - footpath signposted (but we can't remember what to!) but you can see the restaurant atop the hill from campsite and carpark.

Previous     10 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3001 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1101