Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stonehenge Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Stonehenge Campsite
Berwick Road
Berwick St James
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4TQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07786 734732

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 10m  5m  5m   10m  5m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 15 Plus Glamping Pods
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
              9/10 from 76 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Denz63 4 reviews from this member

Visited this site as part of a club meet. From the moment we arrived all the staff were pleasant and very helpful. Stayed on a hardstanding near the camping pods, a lovely spot. The facilities are the best we have ever seen. Campers kitchen with complimentary tea and coffee is a definite bonus. The toilets and showers are kept immaculately clean by hardworking staff. You can have a fire pit. Its only a short walk to the pub. A big thank you to all the staff who do a fantastic job. Look forward to returning

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pushbike Pete 1 review from this member

Fantastic campsite with very friendly and welcoming staff who went out of their way to make us feel at home. No silly rules, could pitch where we liked in a beautiful grassy field with brand new benches. Facilities were superb, clean, heated, modern toilet/shower blocks with soap, bog roll, etc etc. But the best bit was the kitchen, yes, kitchen! Cooker, microwave, fridge, kettle, washing machine, drier, free tea, coffee and milk, fresh eggs 20p each. Lots of local information, maps, local farm shop in the village (about a mile away). Easy footpath walk to local pub (The Bell) which does good food and ale and is open at 9am for a life saving breakfast! And a pool table and darts and a great live band when we were there. I can't recommend this site enough and will definitely be going back again soon. Oh, and camp fires are allowed and actively encouraged, hooray!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Susanj 12 reviews from this member

What a charming site. There is obviously a lot of care, love and attention going into this site. The four wardens were so helpful and friendly. The site is composed of a smallish area for motorhomes and caravans, with 10 hardstandings I think, and there are about 5 glamping pods in this same area. The toilet/showers are also in this area. There is a large field for camping, with portable toilets at the far end. The site is beautifully planted and very attractive, with much thought given to local wildlife, including the provision of bird feeders (you can buy bird food at the farm shop).

Although the showers (free) etc are in a sort of portakabin, don't let this put you off, as they are LOVELY, so clean, and with lots of nice touches. There are 2 ladies showers, 1 mens, and 1 shared. If the site was full you might have to time your shower so as not to wait, but we were there on a BH weekend, and there was no problem. The campers kitchen is a godsend, with hob, microwave, fridge, toaster, 3 washing up sinks, cooking and eating utensils, mugs etc. There is also a washing machine and a tumble drier in this area.

There are lovely walks around, and the one through the valley to the pub in the village (The Boot) is so attractive, with ravens flying around and a lovely chalk stream. We had a celebratory meal in The Boot one night, and the food and service were excellent. The pub also gets 5 stars for food hygiene. They have a quiz there every Sunday evening, but you have to book your teams place.

There is a farm shop in the village which sells meat, fruit, veg, bread etc and it has a little tea-room attached.

The camp dog, Tia, is so lovely I wanted to steal her! For anyone who is timid around dogs, do not worry, she is a little charmer!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Em1982 8 reviews from this member

This was our second stay at this site, on good traffic day it is an hour from home so great for first trip of the year/testing new van out.

Our first stay was February 2014, which turned out to be one of the windiest weekends of the year. This time it was during school holidays. The only difference was more people. During our stay the toilets and showers etc where always clean, noise level wise yes a bit !more in the day but only cause more people (so that is naturally going to increase the noise level) but night wise as quiet as in February 2014 (well actually quieter as no wind)!

Whilst no playground for kids the clientele of this site are those that know how to respect others and use the holiday as good quality family time.

It is a great area for walking. We did not do Stonehenge (saw enough of it sat in traffic trying to get to the site) however there are plenty of other walks in the area.

On the Saturday night we ate at The Bell Inn, a short walk from the site, not really sure the menu has something for everyone but I managed to find something I would eat and it was lovely.

All in all a great site and one we are hoping to use more often for weekend away. The only possible thing I can think is to put arrival times on the website but I know they have just had the website redone and have a few teething issues as you would expect.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pariah 2 reviews from this member

This place is amazing!

Everything looks brand new, from the kitchen to the showers; the pods to the fencing! It really is that well maintained!

Long story short; our first ever family camping trip (me, wife & 2 year old) was almost cut short (due to 50+mph winds practically destroying our tent at 3am on the first evening) but as soon as liane and dave (the site wardens) realised we had to sleep in our car, they offered us the festival pod to gather ourselves.

We opted to upgrade to the eden pod as we were due to stay for another 2 nights and had already paid for a 2 day pass at longleat.

Best

Decision

Ever

Clean, well equipped and room for the 3 of us, we were almost glad our tent was unusable!

They are one of the only sites in the area that allows traditional camp fires too!

The camper's kitchen is well equipped with things such as washing machine, 3 sinks, kettle, fridge, toaster, electric hob and all the utensils you would need!

It's like a home from home!

The site caters for all; from tents of all sizes to caravans and campers and there are 5 pods ranging from basic to wow all set in highly maintained surroundings.

The heated showers and toilets are award-winningly clean along with the entire site!

Even the owner's dog, tia, is perfect!

If you plan an overnight stay within 20, 30 or even 50 miles of stonehenge, then i implore you, you simply must spend at least 1 night at stonehenge campsite!

Do it!

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Waltonej 1 review from this member

My partner and I have just spent a weekend at stonehenge campsite. This was by far the best campsite we have stayed at. With friendly staff, communal kitchen (with fantastic cooking facilities) and clean toilets/showers we couldn't have asked for a better weekend. We stayed in one of the glamping pods which was warm and cosy and even had it's own mini kitchen which we found really helpful as we didn't have to worry about bringing anything with us. The setting of the site was peaceful, perfect for a relaxing weekend away. We would definitely come again! Thank-you.

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2608 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0469