Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mill Haven Place

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Mill Haven Place
Middle Broadmoor
Talbenny
Little Haven
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 3XD   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01437 781145

Facilities:  (Key)
        

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  1m  1m  1m  5m  5m  1m   5m  1m  10m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 3 Yurts 6 tent/caravan/motorhome pitches
Open: Easter To End Of September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
              9/10 from 6 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (5)

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents, space permitting. It is a member only site - you may be able to join on arrival - please check direct with the site.

Reviews:

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarac 9 reviews from this member

In agreement with most of the reviews below, this campsite is our perfect campsite! The camping field is large and mown and pretty level, with picnic benches and firepits dotted around the place for you to use. The facilities are basic, but exceptionally clean and well looked after - there is a composting toilet which was fun to use and a lovely shower in a wooden hut, with all your hot water included in the price. It is in a very quiet location, but this is the Marloes peninsula, so I wouldn't expect anything else. We cycled everywhere as the lanes were quiet and cars we did meet were courteous. The family that run Millhaven Place are so lovely - friendly and laid back, but helpful if you need it. If you want to get away from the tarmac/hardstanding clinical campsites that are all too numerous now, then this is the place for you.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Welshcamper100 12 reviews from this member

We booked this campsite thinking it was within walking distance of Littlehaven. Unfortunately it wasn't, it was miles from anywhere except a small cove which was very rocky. The site is pleasant enough with nice facilities. It is very peaceful but you do need to drive everywhere along narrow country lanes. I probably would return but having to drive everywhere is a bit offputting. However the owners are helpful and the firepits and benches on each pitch are great.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Middlemouse 9 reviews from this member

I am tempted to just write 'see below' for my review as everything that the previous reviewers have said is spot on. This is my kind of camping.

Basic but clean facilities with lovely homely touches such as tubs of flowers in the wash-up area and a real towel by the sink. I was thrilled to be able to have a fire (the main reason I chose the site!) and the wood was plentiful and reasonably priced at £3 for a large bucketful.

A very quiet site with no traffic noise at all - lovely. The owners are very friendly and offer help when needed but basically leave the campers to get on with it;'rules' are minimal (I didn't see any lists of 'please do not. ').

Sadly we left a day early as we chose to stay in a monsoon but at least it stopped long enough for us to have a fire on the first night.

By way of completeness I have to say that this site may not be to everyone's taste as it is not a manicured, trimmed site with washing machines and heated shower blocks (although there are freezers in the barn for ice blocks) and play equipment but if I had a campsite, I would model it on this one.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mozzy 2 reviews from this member

Mill Haven is aptly named as it is indeed a haven from the hurly burly of everyday life – me thinks a little piece of heaven! It is run by a really lovely caring family, all of whom are friendly and extremely helpful.

We spent nine nights here and normally I am ‘ready to go home’ after eight or nine days but here I wanted to stay and it was a real wrench to go home!

There is plenty of room between pitches and plenty of space for children to play in the middle of the field. Each pitch has a picnic table and fire pit, with firewood available at a very reasonable cost.

In the adjacent field are four Yurts which are really cozy for those who prefer a bit of ‘glam’ camping! Facilities are excellent and kept really clean.

A 20 minute walk down the lane leads to a small cove and the coastal path which takes you along some stunning scenery. There are many lovely beaches around the area and plenty of places to visit, although I quite liked staying ‘on site’!

If you want peace and quiet, big skies and nature this is the place to go. We have already booked for next year and hope to again before the season ends.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Woody53 3 reviews from this member

I cannot recommend this site enough! We opted to not take our tent and stayed in one of their yurts. They are beautiful and well worth the extra cash. The fact that you can have your own camp fire every night adds to the whole atmosphere on site which at night is very peaceful with just you and a few bats for company. The owners are very friendly and you get the impression that nothing is too much for them. The facilities were always clean with one large family shower room and 2 more single sized showers with plenty of hot water.

The surrounding area is lovely with lots of great beaches and small towns to visit. So good that we have booked again for next year!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevenwilliam 5 reviews from this member

We spent 8 nights camping in July 2010 and would like to recommend the campsite. The site is fairly small, but because tent pitches are limited to just 5, there is plenty of space between tents even if all the pitches are in use.

I got the impression that the owners would allow you to pitch anywhere, but the pre-cut fire rings mean that unless you have your own firepit, you’ll be near a fire ring if you want a fire (and who doesn’t?). There is a large pile of wood in one of the barns and the campers can help themselves for a small charge for a large basket load.

Situated down a single-track road which ends at the sea, the campsite has a lovely remote feel to it. It’s about a mile’s walk to the coast and the Pembrokeshire coastal path which runs through some of the most beautiful and dramatic stretches of the coast anywhere in Britain.

At night, apart from the sounds of nature (wind in the trees, the occasional cow lowing, crackle and hiss of the logs on the fire), it’s completely quiet – it’s not the sort of place you’re going to hear loud stereos or raucous conversations. However, if you do want peace and stillness, this is the place to come.

The closest community (a 10-minute drive away) is Little Haven, with its three pubs – the food at The Castle was very good pub grub - and the adjoining Broad Haven has a small supermarket which stocks most of your camping day-to-day needs. Haverfordwest, about 8 miles away, has a very large, 24-hr Tesco, selling virtually everything.

The owners are in the process of refurbishing various old farm buildings, and converting one of them into holiday cottages. The field adjoining the camping field is home to 4 yurts. The facilities were perfectly adequate and charming: simple wooden structures housing a compost loo, sinks and a shower.

It’s evident a lot of care and thought has gone into details: sprigs of home-grown lavender in the loo and sink area; hooks made from branches; an outline of a crescent moon carved in a door. The yurts have solar powered fairy lights, which faintly twinkle at night. During our week’s stay, a new area with showers and loos (of the flushing variety) was completed. Each pitch has a wooden picnic table and a barbecue.

On the warm evenings, it was such a joy to see so many swallows and house martins dipping and arcing over the field – could have watched them for hours. After the birds went to roost, there was the occasional bat flitting across the sky. The darkening sky in this part of the world is a beautiful spectacle; at this time of year, the twilight continuing until well past 10PM.

Perhaps what’s best about Mill Haven though is the fact it’s a truly family run affair; three generations of genuinely warm and caring people – they made us feel very welcome indeed.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Pembrokeshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4502 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0930
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec