Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hirdre Fawr Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hirdre Fawr Farm
Tudweiliog
Morfa Nefyn
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8YY   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01758 770309

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 43 Reviews
              9/10 from 43 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (23)

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trank1978 1 review from this member

We have camped all over North wales.

Since finding Hirdre fawr we have not been to another since. We have been returning to this site for the last 4 years

It ticks all the boxes for us as a family of 4 (plus dog).

Loads of Space for the Kids to play.

Sheltered beach with rockpools and seals.

Electric hook up.

Clean toilet block and showers.

You feel that you don't need to always keep an eye on the Kids.

Great location to explore the rest of the LLyn Peninsula.

Great approachable owners.

It does not get any better for us :)

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gturner1709 6 reviews from this member

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at this site. It is well laid out and has a dedicated field for the children to play on. There is also a private beach at the bottom of the site which everyone refers to as 'seal beach'. Quite often we saw seals on the beach and in the water, and the surrounding views are magnificent.

Because this site is located on the Lynne Peninsular there are plenty nof excellent places to visit all within easy travelling distance. Major shopping facilities within reasonable travelling distance.

The site is easily accessible, the toilets and showers very clean and well maintained. The owners down to earth, and very helpful

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Thebobajob 1 review from this member

Visited here in our motorhome for the Bank Holiday weekend with a group of friends who were camping. What a perfect campsite for kids!

We had a hookup pitch on a separate field from our friends in tents but near enough to carry over food and drink to join in the fun.

The owners kept pitches to the edges of fields which meant, especially in the tent field, there was masses of space for kids to play. So much room, in fact, that several groups of people could all play separately without encroaching upon each others' space. This should be thoroughly applauded as they could have fitted in at least three times the amount of tents and double the motorhomes and caravans. There was also a playground for the children and plenty of space to bike around.

There was lots of fun and frolics going on with several large groups on site, and well into the evening, but the space between kept noise at a distance and MOST people were considerate enough to quieten down at a suitable time.

A lovely dog-friendly beach, suitable for swimming, kayaking and leaping off rocks, was within easy walking distance but there was also a road down so that those less able or with more equipment could get nearer. Even the seals came to play when we were kayaking.

Shower and toilet blocks were clean and tidy, and never seemed too busy, but make sure you take plenty of 50p pieces for the showers.

Some other lovely beaches nearby at Morfa Nefyn and Rhos-y-llan are worth a visit. Morfa Nefyn gets very busy but there is a pub, the Ty Cock, at one end. Rhos-y-llan had a non-dog end but we managed to find a little cove just to the right of this that had only us on it. It was a bit of a scramble to get to, but well worth it.

We shall definitely be returning here. Perfect for kids and large groups and extremely helpful and friendly owners.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Super4 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful flat campsite with far reaching views of sea and snowdonia. Spotless facilities, lovely owners, 20 min walk, with kids to secluded pebble beach, with seals! Swam with 7 feet of one!

Not overcrowded even when full, plenty of space to play in camp field along with playground and little footy pitch. Great time was had by 3 adults and 3 kids. Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mamaduck 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely stay at Hirdre Fawr. Having last stayed in August 2010, we thought it was definitely time to return. Site is spacious and well thought out with areas for children to play (wooden play equipment, football goals) safely away from cars and a huge open area in the camping field for impromptu cricket, bike practice and birdwatching. All the other campers we encountered during our stay were very friendly and the children had a great time making new friends. Flat roomy pitches give plenty of space for campers and the facilities are only a short walk away. Despite the site having its busiest week, we didn't have to queue for showers or loos, and the block was kept scrupulously clean by the lovely Annwen. We remembered to take a pile of 50ps with us which always gave ample time and hot water for showering. Views are stunning, and the walk to the cliff edge/beach an easy 15 minute stroll including children.

We used The Lion Hotel for eating out in Tudweiliog, and can also recommend Villa Marina (Italian restaurant) if you go to Carnarvon. A little smallholding on the road out of Morfa Nefyn sells homegrown burgers, sausages and apple juice, with cider from the end of June. Well worth popping in! We won't leave it so long before visiting again. A gem of a site, spacious and flat, and easy to tow to in an area where there are many little campsites which cram their campers into tiny spaces.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fudgybrown 7 reviews from this member

This site is excellent, it had everything we wanted and was ideal for a family holiday.

We camped in the large camping field bounded by hedges on three sides. The right hand side of the field running alongside of the road has electric hookups. The road was quiet at night so I donít suppose traffic noise would be any problem. We didnít need electric and so we camped in the far left hand corner. This side of the field does not have a hedge and being only a short distance to the sea the wind blew from this direction, but the ground was firm and held the pegs well even in the gale force winds we endured for some of the time. The kids had a great time flying a kite. They really enjoyed the huge area in the middle of the field. They could run, play football and generally have a good time without disturbing other campers. There was also a play area with swings and climbing frame and a small football pitch - both were very popular. There is a newly laid track to the small beach near the campsite which apparently has seals. But having two young kids we didnít walk down the path to the beach itself and no sign of seals, they probably gone to eat some fish! Another good thing is the dark skies at night. Ideal for stargazing and when we were there the space station shone brightly as it wizzed across the heavens.

The facilities were excellent and kept really clean. The showers were good and lasted long enough for me and my son to shower on one 50p. My wife and daughter reported the same. Yes it would be good at peak times if there were more toilets but that is the same wherever you go. There were plenty of freezer and fridges but freezers needed a bit of defrosting. Nice hot water for washing up.

The nearest shop and pub are in Tudweiliog which is exactly a mile away. The pub does excellent food and was very popular. There is also a great shop attached to the petrol station in Morfa Nefyn. The pork and leek sausages were great.

The local area has plenty of beaches. The best in our opinion is at Aberdaron about a twenty minute drive. Nice sandy beach and a pretty little village. Suited us as kids are young and the beach kept them busy all day.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6005 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0859