Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Huttopia Noirmoutier

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Site Reviews

Camping Huttopia Noirmoutier
23 Allee Des Sableaux
Bois De La Chaize
Noirmoutier En Lile
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
85330   See Map
Tel: +3302 51 39 06 24
Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure
 Featured Site

Pitches: 530
Open: 13/04 To 23/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (15) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Refills   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ianandgilly 13 reviews from this member

This is our favourite campsite - we have been 3 times and the place is so well sited, right next to the sea. Also the proximity to the wildlife reserve is a great attraction. You get the noise of the waves plus the sound of curlews and egrets during the night.

The beach is a fine stretch and swimming is shallow and safe.

The facilities are perfectly adequate and the availability of wifi around the bar area is welcome.

Everyone visiting the site seems to be friendly (although the site reception feels a bit like a doctor's surgery as the 'meet and greet' is more like an inquisition.

Easy cycling in the area and some fabulous mansions by the coast; also some easy cycle trails across the marshes make this a great place to visit.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiftysomething 18 reviews from this member

The campsite review books love this site, but we didn't! Even in the second week of September it was PACKED. Almost no children of course as they were back at school but this place is a victim of its own success.

The main central road on Noirmoutier is much better than the one on Re but it's nose to tail traffic coming in. As we left the campsite dozens and dozens of people were walking, cycling or driving down to the campsite - not campers - to the beach to fish for shell fish. Can there be any shell fish left, I wonder?

Even the shops in the town of Noirmoutier seem to be mainly the same tourist junk as elsewhere.

We paid for two nights at the campsite and left after just one. We won't be going back but they won't miss us! They don't need us!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nik or Caroline 1 review from this member

24th to 4th August 2014 - this is the second visit to this camp site (previous visit was 2010) and we thoroughly enjoyed it all over again. We took the Tunnel and drove down and it's definitiely worth the drive. The site is comfortable and relaxed and has excellent beach-side pitches for tents. I'd recommend the beach pitches every time as the view over the mussel beds is beautiful. The main block that we used has laundry, toilets, showers, wash basin, pot washing, freezer (for ice packs) was well maintained and cleaned regularly in all areas. I recommend picking your pitch yourself from the map on the website in case you don't like being next to fences/roads etc. , even though the roads are very quiet.

A bike is a boon on the island especially when it's busy. The cycling is 99% flat terrain and even the cycleways between the towns across the centre of the island are mostly segregated from the motor traffic. The site itself has rental bikes and there are several other outlets too. We took our own plus a trailer to lug beach gear around in. Cycling here is by far the best way to recce the island and visit places generally, in fact if it wasn't for the bikes I don't think the place could sustain as many visitors as it does. The weather was very good during our stay and in the high 20s most days, peaking in the early afternoon. Things to do in Noirmoutier - relax, eat mussels, drink, read, swim, shop and bike. It's a small place so pace yourself and don't be tempted to get round everything too quickly. Plenty of really good beaches too, Plage des Dames is our favourite, closely followed by le Petit Vieile. The mid to northern end of the beach at the camp site is also good if you don't want to move around too much.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jobsa 1 review from this member

This site is very popular with good facilities. Beach side pitch is very advisable as the pitches are not always that big and there doesn't seam to be the normal keep 4m gap between tents. It is camping on sand and it does get everywhere, a long handle broom would be useful.

The view from the tent is brilliant, and it took us under a minute to be on the beach. The rows behind the sea view pitches had season long pitches which we found a bit unusual.

All in all a great holiday we didn't leave the island and wish we explored more than we did.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Landrob 1 review from this member

Was really excited about visiting this campsite on our cycle touring hols this year, we booked it on the back of having spent an enjoyable couple of days at the excellent indigo site in the Loire Valley last year. Really disappointed! We were stuck opposite a non-indigo snackbar (which I've noticed doesn't appear on the map on their website), right on the corner of the main public walkway to the beach on a pitch that was nothing more than a dirty square of sand/scrub, which rather amusingly was termed the 'nature' area and obviously designed for us smaller tent users. Really noisy all night from a couple of neighbouring campers and folks going back and forth from town/late night parties on the beach, and felt like we'd pitched our tent in the middle of a car park, with cars continually reversing/moving around, 1m away from our tent. I found toilets pretty grim, wash basins etc ok, but to be fair, it was really packed. I did ask to be moved, but it was fairly obvious that there were no other pitches available, apart from (funnily enough) the one to the right and left of our pitch. Several people arrived, and promptly left having surveyed the pitches, which in hindsight is what we should have done. We'd booked 5 nights, but left after 2. All in all, not what you want after cycling 240 miles to get there for a week's relaxation, particularly as I'd booked the pitch many months ago! It just seems as though they try and cram in as many people as they can, which seems to go against the whole 'back to nature' branding they have, although the pitches for big tents seemed to be in better settings. Noirmoutier itself if lovely (again though, probably much nicer out of school hols) and the beach is great.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jaggerdon 5 reviews from this member

Having stayed at a couple of other Camping Indigo sites, I found this via their website, I really like the ethos of the Indigo company, very family orientated with activities for everyone etc. I'm not sure this one is fully into the swing of all that just yet -possibly because its quite a large site. We had a beachside pitch and I don't think I would recommend any of the other pitches, at least in high season. It is on a nice beach but there are other nicer beaches so if you are stuck at the back squished in with everyone else I'm not sure how lovely it would be. Our beach pitch was glorious, waking up to the sun rising on the sea, beautiful. The beach never really got that busy, although the site was full. The showers are good, clean, efficient, and yes the toilets have loo roll! the bar was ok, but closed very early and not too many seats. The park was fun for the kids. We loved renting bikes, Noirmoutier is perfect for cycling but you may see most of it well within a week! Fantastic seafood. We had a lovely meal on Moules night with some fellow french campers and there was live music from a local band who were really quite good. Children's entertainment was lovely too- a french mime act, my kids love all that! A real mixture of campers, so good chance of ending up next to a bus-load of teenagers, but on the other hand you may also end up making friends with a lovely french family like we did.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Pays de la Loire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Holidaymaker 500 Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1,000 Win an Win an OLPRO Cubo Campervan Awning

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet VolksWorld Camper&Bus Show, Surrey 24 to 25 March 2018
Held at Sandown Park, a must attend event for those interested in all types of VW Transporters ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

2467 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017

Play Our Easter Hunt
Easter Hunt
Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a Malvern 6 Tent worth 299!