Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Le Val D Aleth

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Site Reviews

Le Val D Aleth
Alet Les Bains
Aude
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
11580   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0033 04 68 69 90 40

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  1m   1m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 37
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 11 Reviews
              6/10 from 11 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (3)

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Everyman 5 reviews from this member

The town is attractive but as others have mentioned, very quiet. The sites are small, the facilities adequate. But we didn't enjoy our stay. I was left with the feeling that we were 'in the way' of the (English) owners. We too were charged in advance for the seven nights we said we wished to stay. I don't have a problem with this, but I did resent being charged for our daughter who had joined us after injury on the Camino walk, AND the additional tent she slept in. More irritatingly, they advertise 'wi-fi' available but to achieve this we were advised to subscribe to Orange for a month (20 Euros approx) and the service was appalling - completely intermittent and unreliable. This was crucial for us as my wife works online once a week tutoring students in Australia. We ended up outside McDonalds in Limoux using their wi-fi, which thankfully extends to the carpark.

Would I recommend the park - sadly not.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bellringer18 4 reviews from this member

Found this site by chance. Lovely site well kept and very very clean shower block, showers best we have ever had in all the yrs been to france. Very helpful owners. Not far from carcasonne. Went by train which stops in the village 2euros. Andorra about two hrs away but well worth the ride. Bar in village and two very nice cafes. Open air pool. We had pitch no 7. Shady very hot so was most welcome overlooked the river. Good mix of brits, french, dutch. Limoux about 15mins away. Lots shops, bars etc. Markets. This is on our to go back to list.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mitchells 11 reviews from this member

We chose to stay at this site as we wanted to visit Carcassonne and from previous reviews it looked to be ideal, we were a little disappointed with what we found.

The pitches are small and very dark, it didn't look as if the trees and bushes had been pruned for a couple of years. The sanitary facilities are OK, yes there is unlimited hot water and the showers are not the push button type but I have seen facilities on some French Municipal sites which are as good if not better.

We were prepared for the village to be quite but were surprised just how quite it was. We had originally booked for 11 days and had been told in the confirmation letter that all days booked must be paid for, regardless of how long we stayed, also payment is taken when you arrive (a very British way of doing things I think). In hindsight that should have rung alarm bells as after a week we were more than ready to leave.

The site is on one side of the river and the road (quite busy) is immediately on the opposite side of the river. As it was hot we slept with the windows open and the traffic noise was quite intrusive, even more so than the church bells which started at 7am.

As a touring base for the area it's OK but will we go again - no.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Firstclass67 34 reviews from this member

I also would not use this site again. I was very disappointed with it.

The pitches were small and also very dirty - though that is not the owners' fault!

In the guide it advertises access to the river with swimming. There is a tiny narrow path along the river but there is no 'beach' - you have to climb down off the muddy bank and compete with the pond skaters for water.

The loos and showers were impeccably well kept, but without loo paper or loo seats. The showers would earn 10 out of 10 for me - adjustable settings, taps not push buttons, and plenty of hanging places for clothes and towel.

We were there during the fete weekend, which rather spoiled it for us - we were hoping for quiet nights, but what we got were discos that started very late and went on till 2 or 3 in the morning, 2 nights running.

Its a good site to use for the Cathar castles and the lower Pyrenees, and the village is well worth a walk round to see the medieval houses and roman remains.

Like a previous reviewer I didn't like that I had to pay up front, and was expected to pay for 3 nights when I had said on the phone 2 or maybe 3!

All in all I would not go back.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pinxton20 8 reviews from this member

Stayed 3 nights. Would have been 2, but our car was broken into at 5. 00 am 2nd night, and passports etc. Stolen. Owner initially said this had not happened before, but local boulangerie said there were 3 burglaries there last year. Sanitation facilities good - modern and clean. Site compact, bounded by river Aude (trout for flyfishers). Bus and train links to Carcassonne are good - important for motorhomers. Pitches were tight and site felt a bit run down (except for sanitation block. After burglary, other campers were extremely supportive. Didn't see much of owner though. Will I go again? no - not my sort of site.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gerhard1948 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site from mid June 2011 until the beginning of August 2011, the side was outstanding, very clean facilities, some of the best and cleanest we ever encountered. The owners are very friendly; as the cleaning personal was (she was a wealth of information on the area and history off it). Everyone was very helpful. The village was very quiet, with a nice little shop/coffee/bar, you may have to sit on the road for your drink, but the drivers donít mind, everything is very quiet and relaxing the Hotel/ Restaurant in the village has excellent food and service and again the staff was very helpful, the little garden restaurant was also very nice, sitting under the trees in the hot sunshine was very cooling and tranquil. The village also got a very nice swimming pool during the summer month and a free supply of fresh mineral water from the local spring. We can only recommend this side and the village for a very relaxing and stress free holiday.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Languedoc Roussillon   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2693 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1094