Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Caravaning Oyambre

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Overseas > Spain > Site Reviews

Caravaning Oyambre
Finca Pena Gerra
San Vicente De La Barquera
Spain   (Browse area)
   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +34 942 711 461

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m   1m 

Pitches: 31-10-2016
Open: 04-03-2016

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
              9/10 from 12 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jim McGill 6 reviews from this member

This is one of the best sites we have ever been to and plan to return. Francis and his team will help you onto your pitch, give you all the local knowledge you will need and is always willing to have a chat. He remembers everyone's name, which on a site of this size is amazing. The bar is lively in the evening and there is a great atmosphere with mostly Spanish families recovering after a hard day on the beach. The restaurant serves excellent food at very reasonable prices. The beach is a 10 minute walk away and is never packed. In the surrounding areas there are lots of things to do on the rainy days you will get in this region. The toilets are spotlessly clean and the cleaners are continuously making sure they stay that way. All in all a gem of a site in a beautiful part of the world which is only a boat journey away.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Autumn9 19 reviews from this member

There are other campsites in the area however, on the two occasions we visited Caravanning Oyambre, early June and then in early July when it was much more busy, we thought the site retained its calm atmosphere. Reception was very welcoming and accommodating. The site has a pool, a bar and a very pleasant restaurant. On our first visit the meals served in the restaurant were excellent, on our second visit the standard was not quite so high but still acceptable. The brick built facilities include a washing-up area, laundry room and disabled facilities. There are ample modern toilets and showers in which a simple lever delivers non-stop hot water. Two rooms contain baths dedicated to bathing infants. The facilities are kept extremely clean. There is table football and bikes to hire. The pitches are on level terraces, with attractive bungalows included on the highest terrace. A path from the site leads to a quiet lane down to a golf course and the beach, about a twenty minute walk. The site overlooks countryside and on a clear day there are superb views of the Picas de Europa. A short drive away is the attractive town of Comillas with its cobbled streets and squares, restaurants, cafes, shops and a small supermarket. Among the splendid architecture is the house designed by Antonio Gaudi and there are pleasant views over the harbour. We enjoyed both our stays on this site and recommend it.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frogman14 17 reviews from this member

Endorse everything said about site and facilities, management is very proper. Lovely area to visit, St Vncente is esp nice coastal town. Trips into Picos mountains produced fabulous views, and several 'interesting ' lunches in villages, given we don't speak any Spanish, but all were perfect and very sociable.

Nearest supermarket we found to be Mercadona which is right on next mway exit towards Santander at a place called 'something del sol' which I can't remember, but the marrket is right by the exit next to a furniture warehouse. Prices for everything round about seemed to be ridiculously low when coupled with the .

The pool looked cold, although some brave souls did go in, suspect you would have to wait till August for the sun to warm it up.

Finally would recommend the restaurant on site. Our food was excellent, served in a style far better than a camp site, and the home made rice pudding is a must.

Well worth a prolonged stay.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 29 reviews from this member

We stayed for 8 nights at the end of our holiday this year before we got the ferry home from Santander. The site was great. We had a lovely large pitch but there are not many large pitches, many are quite small. There were amazing views from the pitch to the Picos mountains.

The toilets were extremely clean. There was a full time cleaner on the toilet block who was constantly cleaning which was good for hygiene purposes but it was a bit disconcerting to hear her shuffling about outside the toilet while you were doing your business and then as soon as you exit, she rushes in to clean the toilet seat and spray air freshener.

There is a restaurant on site which we didn't use but which we were told was excellent and a bar selling snacks and drinks. The bar also sells bread and milk and a few other essentials but there is no real shop on site.

The site is about a 15 minute walk to a large sandy beach which also has free parking but this fills up quite quickly on a sunny day and it can become slightly chaotic with cars parked everywhere and the road blocked with cars trying to pass each other. The sea was a bit rough when we were there as it is the Atlantic. My husband really enjoyed bodyboarding and I enjoyed the waves but it might have been a bit rough for some children. There are life guards on duty and they really enforce their rules if you bathe between their flags. On a few days when it was very rough they were insisting you never went deeper than waist depth.

The site has a reasonably sized pool but the water was freezing when we were there so we only used it once. I guess it would be great on a really hot day but the weather was not really that hot during our stay.

The nearby town of Comillas was amazing. We spent several days exploring the different parts of the town and we also did a few day trips further afield up into the Picos de Europa mountains which were really spectacular.

There is a small supermarket just outside the town of San Vicente which is about a 10 minute drive away. Twice during our stay we used the free motorway to motor into Torrelavega to the massive Carrefour supermarket which was about 30 minutes drive but it was worth it to stock up.

The staff on site were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.

Be careful not to get this site confused with another site nearby which is called Camping Oyambre Beach. Camping Oyambre Beach is much closer to the beach but nowhere near as nice. We were so glad we chose Camping Playa Oyambre when we had a look round Camping Oyambre Beach. To be polite, it was awful!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feelyjordan 15 reviews from this member

All of the positives mentioned in the reviews below, plus a great restaurant on site. We had intended to cook, but the restaurant offered very good value, excellent service and lovely food.

Cycling is good in the area, with very quiet roads, and reasonably friendly hills.

A couple of very minor quibbles, the waste water disposal point is at the entrance to the site and quite a hike from the pitches, while we had a bit of difficulty finding the place in the first instance.

Would definitely go again however, we had originally intended a two night stay but ended up staying for a week.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Inkaboat 13 reviews from this member

I don't disagree with any of the preceding comments. However, we were there for five days last week during torrential rainstorms. We were put in a 'new' part of the site, sans hard standings. It took five men, rubber mats and the motor mover just to get us onto our pitch, and I had to wind the legs every day to compensate for 'That Sinking Feeling'. We moved on to Madrid as soon as there was a (short) break in the weather. It rained there too.

My only other observation is that the owner was polite to the point of obsequiousness.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Spain   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

3772 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder