Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Playa De Oyambre

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Overseas > Spain > Site Reviews

Camping Playa De Oyambre
Finca Pena Gerra
San Vicente De La Barquera
Cantabria
Spain   (Browse area)
   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: +34 942 711 461

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m  1m  1m   1m 

Pitches: 19-10-2014
Open: 01-03-2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
              9/10 from 9 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  9 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 27 reviews from this member

We stayed for 8 nights at the end of our holiday this year before we got the ferry home from Santander. The site was great. We had a lovely large pitch but there are not many large pitches, many are quite small. There were amazing views from the pitch to the Picos mountains.

The toilets were extremely clean. There was a full time cleaner on the toilet block who was constantly cleaning which was good for hygiene purposes but it was a bit disconcerting to hear her shuffling about outside the toilet while you were doing your business and then as soon as you exit, she rushes in to clean the toilet seat and spray air freshener.

There is a restaurant on site which we didn't use but which we were told was excellent and a bar selling snacks and drinks. The bar also sells bread and milk and a few other essentials but there is no real shop on site.

The site is about a 15 minute walk to a large sandy beach which also has free parking but this fills up quite quickly on a sunny day and it can become slightly chaotic with cars parked everywhere and the road blocked with cars trying to pass each other. The sea was a bit rough when we were there as it is the Atlantic. My husband really enjoyed bodyboarding and I enjoyed the waves but it might have been a bit rough for some children. There are life guards on duty and they really enforce their rules if you bathe between their flags. On a few days when it was very rough they were insisting you never went deeper than waist depth.

The site has a reasonably sized pool but the water was freezing when we were there so we only used it once. I guess it would be great on a really hot day but the weather was not really that hot during our stay.

The nearby town of Comillas was amazing. We spent several days exploring the different parts of the town and we also did a few day trips further afield up into the Picos de Europa mountains which were really spectacular.

There is a small supermarket just outside the town of San Vicente which is about a 10 minute drive away. Twice during our stay we used the free motorway to motor into Torrelavega to the massive Carrefour supermarket which was about 30 minutes drive but it was worth it to stock up.

The staff on site were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English.

Be careful not to get this site confused with another site nearby which is called Camping Oyambre Beach. Camping Oyambre Beach is much closer to the beach but nowhere near as nice. We were so glad we chose Camping Playa Oyambre when we had a look round Camping Oyambre Beach. To be polite, it was awful!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feelyjordan 12 reviews from this member

All of the positives mentioned in the reviews below, plus a great restaurant on site. We had intended to cook, but the restaurant offered very good value, excellent service and lovely food.

Cycling is good in the area, with very quiet roads, and reasonably friendly hills.

A couple of very minor quibbles, the waste water disposal point is at the entrance to the site and quite a hike from the pitches, while we had a bit of difficulty finding the place in the first instance.

Would definitely go again however, we had originally intended a two night stay but ended up staying for a week.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Inkaboat 13 reviews from this member

I don't disagree with any of the preceding comments. However, we were there for five days last week during torrential rainstorms. We were put in a 'new' part of the site, sans hard standings. It took five men, rubber mats and the motor mover just to get us onto our pitch, and I had to wind the legs every day to compensate for 'That Sinking Feeling'. We moved on to Madrid as soon as there was a (short) break in the weather. It rained there too.

My only other observation is that the owner was polite to the point of obsequiousness.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hwcamping 4 reviews from this member

First time to Spain in our VW campervan with 2 adults and 2 children ages 12 and 15 yrs. The site is only 50 mins from the Santander ferry and is easy to find from San Vicente. We were placed on a lovely pitch half way up the site with views to the Picos De Europa mountains, with other English families, so the children immediately made friends. We didn't have any shade, so I would suggest you either go to the bottom of the site, but you won't get the views, or take a canopy for shade.

The shop on site only sells essentials, ie milk, bread, butter and cold meats. The nearest town Comillas (2 miles away) has a small supermarket and there is a cycle path the whole way. There is a large supermarket in the next nearest town.

There is a beautiful beach within 15 mins walk, with a free car park and a beach cafe. You can get surfing lessons on the beach. The on site restaurant is brilliant value (5 for a lovely salad) and the coffee is just 80p a cup. You will just have to get used to Spanish meal times, in that it doesn't serve food until 8. 30pm.

There is plenty to do in the area for at least 10 days, but you will need a car to see all the beautiful towns and mountains. We had bikes and there are just too many hills to get very far on them.

The site was very quiet

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aliaucott 5 reviews from this member

We had a very enjoyable 13 nights here. Previous reviews describe the site and area perfectly.

The cleanest toilet and showers we have ever come across staff on duty throughout the day to ensure they were clean. Lots of hot water. Dish wash facilities also superb. Small laundrette too with dryer. Francis was very helpful.

We had a pitch closest to the road which was not a problem as it is reasonably quiet just traffic to the beach.

The beach is amazing. We would return and would ask for a pitch on the terrace as you get lovely views of the Picos. I would also ask for a pitch with some sun.

The site is nice and shady with lots of trees but if it rains you do need some sun to dry your pitch.

You have to expect some rain we had 3 days, the area would not be so beautiful without it.

The site is a great base to explore the area Picos de Europa is stunning, Comillas is lovely and San Vincente has some great restaurants.

We had 3 teenagers with us and they had a great time too. Didn't take us long to adjust to Spanish time site is very quiet up to 10ish lights in the play areas go out at 12 midnight so quiet after then.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Adenmax 3 reviews from this member

I can only agree with the comments in the previous review. Having spent our holiday in a variety of sites in Spain & Portugal we decided that this site had the best facilities overall. The toilets / showers etc are spotless as they are regularly cleaned. The is a large bar / restaurant and an excellent swimming pool. There are pitch sizes to suit all sizes of unit including our 28 feet long motorhome. The beach is a pleasant 1 mile walk and the sea offers the chance to surf. Highly recommended. The site is 10 minutes from the A8 Autoroute.

Previous     9 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Spain   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4978 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews


Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0508