Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Jungfrau

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Overseas > Switzerland > Site Reviews

Camping Jungfrau
Ch 3822
Weid 406
Lauterbrunnen
Switzerland   (Browse area)
                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 44033 856 20 10

Facilities:  (Key)
                      

Nearby: (within x miles)
10m  10m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
              10/10 from 9 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Reviews:  9 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hevseys 7 reviews from this member

The two of us stayed here after reading good reviews and certainly were not disappointed. We haven't travelled in Switzerland before and it was a first outing with a new motorhome, we are over 3. 5 tonne and knew about the Swiss vignette motorway pass but at the border they just waved us through with a normal pass. Later at another border control they realised we were heavier and changed to the annual pass with 10 days availability it was cheaper. I would recommend insisting on this at the first border however busy they are to save this hassle. They were however very helpful and pleasant which is what we found all over Switzerland.

So onto the site - we were unsure of the approach road as it didn't seem possible that it was going to be down the narrow looking street with shops and cafes spilling onto the pavement, but it was that way so don't be put off.

We arrived when the reception was shut for lunch but a smiley chap appeared on his bike and showed us two pitches to choose from pointing out the advantages of each. We chose the one nearest to the toilet block, there is only one block which is immaculate at all times, music playing and heated.

We were pitched right next to a fast flowing river which was spectacular, I probably would have worried if I had little ones with me but there was a secure fence ( I'm just a worrier) we had electric and water on our pitch and it was a reasonable size.

The river was very noisy which after 3 days I was pleased to leave behind it was like a ' white' noise constantly, my husband wasn't troubled by it at all. It was worth the noise for the setting.

We visited the Trummelbach waterfalls, an easy stroll from the site although we walked a bit too far as we missed a sign for them. Discounts are given if you stay on this site for this attraction and others.

We didn't go up any mountains as my husband doesn't do heights! We will definitely return with others so that I can can do them as the opportunities as endless for days out.

The weather alternated between scorchingly hot and pouring with rain which I believe is usual, some of the tents on the lower field looked a bit washed out as the rain was very heavy for a while.

There was evening entertainment Swiss folk style which was worth going to and gave a feeling of authenticity. Food was served which was optional.

The campsite shop was well stocked, we didn't try the restaurant which looked very nice. There are interesting shops in the village. The swimming pool is in the village, we didn't use it.

Everything is expensive in Switzerland but don't let that stop you going, just accept it and have a great time in a country which is very different and exceptionally clean and well maintained.

If you are travelling on to Italy check your route as we went over the highest mountain pass ever. It was scary but taken slowly we felt we had achieved something, don't do it in the rain!

We would without a doubt stay at this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SamandRose 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 6 nights in early June 2016 (it should have been 7, but we were delayed for a day in France)!

It's impossible to review this site without waxing lyrical about its location. Lauterbrunnen is stunningly beautiful. It's situated in a wide valley within which waterfalls (which result from the melting of Alpine glaciers) cascade down the sides into the river below. There are fabulous mountain views in every direction including the Jungfrau peak on a clear day.

Lauterbrunnen is also the starting point for the cogwheel railway to Kleine Scheidegg and Jungfraujoch (home of the highest railway station in Europe). The views from there - on a clear day - are spectacularly beautiful, including the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau peaks in one direction and across as far as Germany's Black Forest in another. Sit on the right-hand side of the train out of Lauterbrunnen for wonderful views into the valley on the ascent.

I could go on at length but am aware that I haven't even mentioned the site yet, so suffice to say that Switzerland's Jungfrau region is a place you must visit before you die. And you must stay in Lauterbrunnen.

The only question is: should you stay at Camping Jungfrau?

For a lot of reasons, yes. The reception staff - as well as speaking excellent English - are incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, and were able to sell us rail passes (we didn't need to use our car at all during our stay) and offer discounted entry to some other attractions. The facilities include heated toilets, showers, a laundry, drying room, separate family showers and even a pet shower. We never saw any of these in anything less than a spotless condition. The site also includes a children's play area, a shop which is well-stocked, and a bar and restaurant that serves delicious food.

There is a separate block of dormitories that is popular with coach tours, but we never felt that that intruded on the camp site.

There is just one area where things get a little more subjective. The pitches.

In essence there are two roughly level fields, one of which has some further terraces in a slope upwards from it. We had a terraced pitch that included electricity, water and waste water drainage and it was lovely. However, some of the tents and motorhomes parked in the fields below were very close together. Had we had to pitch among them, I'm not sure that we'd have felt comfortable. That's the only reason for our overall 9/10 rating.

The other problem is something the owners can do nothing about. Because the site is in a valley and the sides consist of impermeable rock, drainage isn't brilliant and the ground can get waterlogged on wet days. This wasn't a problem for us in our caravan, particularly as the staff gave us free duckboards to put outside our awning. I really wouldn't have fancied being in a tent though, even though some people were.

So, if you have a caravan or motorhome and the site is not full, you should definitely stay at Camping Jungfrau and love it. If you have a tent, maybe check the weather forecast first. And see if they have any room in a dormitory if it really rains hard.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soapbox 1 review from this member

I can only really echo what all the other reviews have said about this glorious site.

We stayed here for 5 nights during a family tour of Europe with three kids.

We didn't know much about the site and weren't overly optimistic. How wrong we were, the setting is STUNNING, the pitch we had was large, the reception staff were hugely friendly and knowledgeable and we bought our mountain passes etc on arrival, which proved to be a cheaper option.

The kids played in the park with the other children and everyone was very friendly. The shower block / toilets were immaculate and the drying room was brilliant for wet shoes etc. We had a meal in the on site restaurant and it was great and the traditional evening entertainment was really good also.

Special mention must go to our 'neighbour', Welsh Peter who was a real star.

We were really sorry to leave this site and will definitely return as soon as possible, however while staying here make sure you get out into the mountains as much as possible because the scenery is truly stunning.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kad1310 10 reviews from this member

All the previous review are spot on.

Valley of the 72 waterfalls. Stunning is an understatement.

The campsite;

Fantastic little shop.

Reception and check in is second to none, all the information you require and more, you can also buy your train and cable car tickets here.

Great restaurant with quality food and drink, good service. Book early for evening meal. Take away service available.

We have no kids so cannot comment on the facilities and events for them.

The shower and toilet block were always immaculate when we were there, they look brand new, well heated and loads of hot water. Dish washing area includes dish washers if you're that lazy, good sized washing machines and dryers, there is also a large drying room.

Motorhome service area includes a hose to wash your van.

When we arrived we were met by a man with a cracking moustache and a bicycle and he led us to our proposed pitch, here is my only gripe, he showed us a pitch that had other campers on it and the space left was not suitable, we asked for a different pitch and this was fine. I understand getting as many people on your Site as possible, but the week we were there was not all that busy.

He then issues you a ticket which you take to reception to check in, good way of doing it. We then set up and grabbed a couple of duck boards for the awning. Well worth getting them as did it rain for a couple of days, the pitch never flooded though.

The site is within walking distance of the Trummelbech falls and also the local village where you can catch a train or cable car. There is lots to do in the area even if it's wet.

All in all a fantastic campsite in a stunning location. I know everyone says that they will return, we have actually booked for next year already.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ZigiT 4 reviews from this member

I can only agree with the other reviews already posted for this site. The location is stunning, the facilities second to none and the staff helpful.

Do get the 6 day Jungfrau rail pass, it seems a lot of money but you will not need to use your car and through the cable car routes you can access places that you would not be able to with the car.

It rained heavily everyday around 5/6pm, but this was a relief as the days were very hot and it cleared the air. However because the site is located in a steep gorge you do not get sun on the tent very early in the morning, that may be a consideration for packing up in the morning. There are enough duck boards for 2 per pitch and they were really useful for putting at the entrance to the tent, sadly some campers were rather greedy, and they so often seemed to be British!

Switzerland is very expensive, apparently to do with them levying taxes through purchased goods rather than income tax. We mostly cooked for ourselves as eating out was extortionate. Food in the supermarkets (each town/large village seems to have a Co-op) was not much more expensive than at home.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diablo 1 review from this member

We stayed here in sept 2011 for 2 nights on the way to Italy. Absolutely stunning location, you cannot fail to be delighted with the facilities.

Toilet block is exceptional, the best we have ever seen, immaculate, ultra modern and they even have a purpose built dog shower (separate).

We were camped at the base of a waterfall and had 100% privacy on on spot. As we went in Sept, you would think that the local area would be quiet but lots of buzz still- however the chance to be ultra quiet was within the location and surroundings also.

The big spoiler is that the swiss franc is hugely inflated so any spending felt painful with the measly euro exchange. However, for top quality experience in terms of comfort and cleanliness plus the most stunning scenery and walks within moments of the site.

This is a place that will always be remembered by us with great warmth even though our coffers ran dry!

Previous     9 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Switzerland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6137 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec