Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping As Cancelas

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Overseas > Spain > Site Reviews

Camping As Cancelas
Rua Do 25 De Xullo, 35
Santiago De Compostela
Spain   (Browse area)
   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0034 981 58 02 66

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 6 Reviews
              8/10 from 6 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roy gallafant 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 5 nights in May 2017.

On arrival the reception were very friendly & helpful. We were told to find a pitch and inform them pitch number. The ascent up to the pitches was very steep(but I never saw any vehicles having problems). Our pitch was flat, some sun, water adjacent. From the outside the toilets/showers looked a bit run down but once you went inside they were spotless and modern. There is a very good restaurant on site, you can also have bar meals. There is a bus into town and the bus stop is about 400 metres from site. We drove into the town and parked at the Cathedral car park with no problems. There is a big shopping complex 400 metres from site. Besides the cathedral it is very convenient for sightseeing in the area. There is a swimming pool on site but we didn't use it.

Really nice site would recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crwydryn 32 reviews from this member

Excellently situated for visiting Santiago de Compostella which is a reasonably comfortable walk away. The bus to the centre is 200m away and costs 1 euro. We only stayed the night but found the facilities good with shower/washing facilities modern, clean and the water hot. Electricity @ 5 euros quite high but free good wifi counters that!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 31 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site for 2 nights for a visit to the city, with our 3 teenage children. The reception was very friendly and welcoming and we were given a map and information about the bus and walk into the centre. We were told we could pitch where we wanted and found a large pitch beside water supply. On the second day we moved to a more level pitch, which was tricky to find. The pitches vary in size but there was plenty large enough available for out 8m motorhome. The toilet blocks were very good large and kept clean, good shower facilities and toilet roll in the toilets. There was a swimming pool which my children used and they said it was very good. We walked into the city centre which took about 20 minutes down hill and of course uphill return. There is a huge new shopping Mall right next to the site, which has an equally huge Carrefour Supermarket in it, very handy for provisions. The morning after the first night, I saw 2 old cars were parked on a pitch with no tent or caravan. Then I saw that they were full of Gypsies, who had come into the site at night and they then left having used the toilet facilities and water, left rubbish and presumably not paid. There was no barrier to the site which would prevent this happening. I did inform the reception of what had happened. They did not return the second night.

I would recommend this site as it is very convenient for visiting Santiago De Compostela.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dragonsfan 1 review from this member

As previously reported, access to the pitches was steep but not too demanding. Pitches are compact but adequate. Our main criticism is that only one toilet/shower block open although the site was quite full. Nice bar/restaurant. Swimming pool looked well kept but we didn't use it. About 15 minute walk into the old city, bit steep on the way back but fine if you're moderately fit. Bit overpriced but its the only site in Santiago. The city is lovely.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tony + Marg 43 reviews from this member

We choose this site on the day as we got off the ferry and drove into record breaking snow, so in an effort to beat the snow we drove along the coast to here.

Sat Nav wanted to take us up a very steep road to access the site, but on phoning they helpfully gave us the proper way in which was much easier.

Site was virtually empty but it still cost 26 Euro for the 1 night.

Toilets and showers were immaculate, but they are all open aspect and really, unless you were brave too cold to use.

Site is terraced, some areas quite steep, so some pitches not accessible for motorhomes or caravans. Because the site was so quiet we parked the night on one of the access roads as I didn't want to go off the tarmac, onto damp/soft ground, as there were no hardstandings.

Almost next door is a big shopping mall with numerous restaurants and cinema. Which was perfect for a walk and something to eat and drink after a 'memorable' drive.

If you wanted to explore the town this is ideally located.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iwalani 150 reviews from this member

There are three campsites in Santiago but we had been put off this one because the guidebooks say there's a steep ascent on entering the site and the pitches are small. We tried the other two sites and they were both closed, so we ended up at As Cancelas after all!

We needn't have worried as we coped well with the steep ascent and found one of the few larger pitches. However, this is a very busy site, even in early May, so things might be more difficult in high season.

The site is quite large, is steeply terraced, and has very good shower and laundry facilities. There's also a bar and restaurant, though we didn't use the latter.

There is a bus stop for the city centre a couple of hundred metres from the site, but we opted to walk into town as it's downhill, but got the bus back. Santiago is a fascinating place, full of history and interesting architecture,ranging from medieval to baroque, and thronging with pilgrims.

There is a pilgrims' mass in the Cathedral at noon every day which is well worth seeing, but for sightseeing purposes a return to the Cathedral at a quieter time is necessary!


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Spain   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5266 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938