Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Rectory Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

The Old Rectory Caravan & Camping Park
Gulworthy
Tavistock
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
PL19 8JA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 832927

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  1m  5m 10m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 13
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
              8/10 from 18 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Glamping 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eldever 3 reviews from this member

This is a really lovely campsite, friendly welcoming owners, clean toilets/showers, hot water plentiful, their own produce for sale, and the most fantastic view of Dartmoor, over which if you're lucky enough to be facing the right way, you can watch the sunrise - it was beautiful. The local area is picturesque and has a lot going for it with regard to places to visit; the nearest shop is a couple of miles away in Gunnislake. The site is situated between two roads so there was traffic noise but this didn't really bother me. The only problem is the price - it's terribly expensive - £23 per night (with electric and a dog); I was going to come down this weekend but by the time I got there on the Friday night it would be gone 7 and with having to leave by 11am on the Sunday it would cost £46 for what amounts to more or less one day! I think this is too much for a tent.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kernowcamper 2 reviews from this member

We used this campsite as an excellently placed base to do some cycling of the local trails. The trails don't leave directly from the campsite but they are not far away. Also very close to Morwellham Quay (although not walkable to from campsite on the local trails as their website claims) and Cotehele. We stayed in the camping field; fantastic view! I wouldn't bother staying in the hedged off pitches, especially at £2. 50 a night extra.

The road is rather close so you do get some traffic noise but wasn't too bad.

The toilet facilities are a bit sparse; one toilet and one shower for the ladies unless you use the disabled facility. There was never a queue, but then there were very few campers staying.

The kids loved the small playground and area to play football and the ponies, pigs and chickens were lovely to have around.

The sausages and bacon from the pigs were fantastic, and the owners were very helpful in supplying us with more when they ran out.

My biggest gripe was the price: for two adults and three kids it cost us £30 a night! That's £15 a pitch and £5 for each of the kids. This is really steep for a campsite with so few facilities in June.

Although it was a lovely site I'm not sure I'll go again just because of the cost. I want to go back to the area because there's loads more I want to do up there but I will look to see if there is somewhere cheaper I'm afraid.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mollcampers 3 reviews from this member

Visited in June 2013. Chose this site as it was best positioned for our biking holiday and the Moors. Brilliant site! Cannot fault it! Like the idea of it being a small site with plenty of room and hedged off pitches for privacy. Showers and toilets clean. Fresh bacon, eggs and sausages with an honesty box went down well! There was a shed to store our bikes and a bike wash. The animals were great, we were welcomed every morning by the chickens and the dogs. We SHALL return!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fireydiva 3 reviews from this member

This was our first caravan holiday ever and we chose this park because it is very close to friends of ours in a neighbouring village. The pitches are spacious and hedges between them make them nice and private. The facilities were adequate - one shower and one toilet in the ladies' block and I understand the same in the men's. There is also one, large family/disabled shower room with two showers and a toilet - I used this one as the site was very quiet when we visited and the single shower in the ladies block wasn't big enough to stop clothes getting wet when hung on the back of the door.

On our first visit (we went back in September of 2013) there were pigs and ponies in the field which was nice, although I didn't see them on our second visit.

The owners were pleasant although we didn't see very much of them because there is no reception - you call a mobile number when you arrive and somebody comes to meet you. Access is easy and although it is sandwiched between 2 roads, traffic noise wasn't a problem. There is a dishwashing area which we didn't use, and a washing machine which I couldn't make work.

There is a dog exercise area but it's not enclosed and you're asked to keep your dog on a lead in it - I have no problem keeping him on a lead in the park itself but in a specific exercise area, I was hoping it would be enclosed and of lead exercise would be permitted.

It's a nice site - we went twice last year and are considering a return visit this year - but it is quite expensive compared to another local site we used this year which had much better facilities for the same cost. The main advantage of this site for us (apart from its proximity to our friends!) is that it hasn't been crowded when we've visited meaning that it's nice and peaceful and there is a dog exercise area, albeit not ideal.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Rob88411 1 review from this member

Just got back from three days podding in August bank holiday weekend 2012. Never been podding before and we loved it! The site is small, family run which gives it loads of charm. The owners are friendly and helpful.

The pod is warm, clean and dry as you would expect with the added convenience of two plug sockets with a lamp and oil filled heater. It was hot a couple days and torrential rain the other day so we experienced the site in all conditions; leaning out of the warm dry pod in the rain to cook was not only comfortable but added extra charm.

The shower block is well equipped; two toilets + showers for male and female which were cleaned regularly, a pair of sinks for washing up, mini fridge restocked daily with their own eggs, sausages and bacon which you paid for using a honesty box (I thought was a lovely touch and something I donít see often), a washer and dryer you can pay for and a freezer to freeze your ice packs.

The site also had outdoor washing facilities for your muddy walks and an array of recycling for the conscientious camper. They also have a small number of pigs, chickens, cows and their own dogs; we enjoyed relaxing in the pod watching the chickens and dogs quietly running around exploring.

We would both definitely recommend this site, we were very happy and we look forward to staying here again!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lesley stevens 1 review from this member

Just stayed at The Old Rectory and can't recommend it enough. Even though the weather wasn't great we had a good time, there are high hedges which give protection from the wind, the facilities are clean and we never had to queue.

You can buy their own eggs, sausages and bacon through an honesty box, the owners are very friendly and helpful, this is out second visit and they remembered us from last time.

Great if you like animals, with chickens, pigs and cows and not forgeting Clyde the resident dog.

Plenty of space will be going again next year

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4527 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0469