Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Moulin De La Geneste

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Limousin > Site Reviews

Camping Moulin De La Geneste
Moulin De La Geneste
Condat Sur Ganaveix
Limousin   (Browse area)
19140   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 00 33 555 98 90 08

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 25 + 4 chalets + 2 bell tents + 3 mobile homes
Open: 1 April - 30 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 32 Reviews
              10/10 from 32 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (17)

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MrsClemo 2 reviews from this member

Well, a year on and we finally got to return to Moulin de la Geneste.

We stayed for 2 weeks this time, and despite having had 10 nights there last year, we still found there was more than enough to do in the surrounding area, and still more to do than we had time (it was a struggle to get our two boys (4 and 6 years old) away from the site)! I talked endlessly in my last review of the campsite so thought I'd just say that it is still as magical as ever, even with such special memories from last year, it didn't disappoint (something I was slightly worried about on returning this year to be honest).

There have been a few updates around the site since our last visit, but only improvements, nothing to detract from the wonderful 'back to nature' feel.

If you are visiting the area do make the effort (and hour or so drive) to the caves at Padirac. Amazing! Definitely book tickets in advance at peak times though - we had to book a week in advance to get 2 adults and 2 children in at the same sensible time.

Sharon's curry nights have grown significantly (she catered for 52 people the week before we arrived!), but are still as delicious, and not to be missed.

This is SUCH a wonderful site for children and just the best place to forget everything you left behind at home - it makes looking at alternative campsites virtually impossible - I'm not sure anywhere else could ever live up to la Geneste.

We'll be back again next year for the campsites 50th anniversary celebrations. Roll on August 2015!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Cheryl+mark 1 review from this member

Cannot find the words to express what a wonderful 2 weeks we had at this friendly campsite. Stayed in a beautiful chalet built by the owner Steve. Every morning was a pleasure to wake up to open our door onto the decking area where our fresh bread and croissants had been delivered. Looking out between the trees onto play areas for the children, we see very little of our children for 2 weeks! Whether they were exploring the site, playing on the lake in their boats although they usually ended up in the lake! and they found a new hobby fishing.

There is plenty to do and see nearby or stay on camp for a relaxing day. The owners Steve and Sharon keep campers very well informed of anything going on in the local area and if there is something you are looking for Sharon will find it for you!

Sharon's curry night is a must, we were lucky enough to get 2 during our stay! Brilliant hosts and fantastic food, an enjoyable evening to get together with others on the site and the locals.

We can't wait to return and cannot recommend this site enough.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunflowers6 2 reviews from this member

Our 2nd time here and we stayed longer this time. The weather wasn't great but that didn't stop us having a fantastic time. So much to do on site, the children lived the farm, rowing on the lake, petting and brushing the ponies and of course the play park. Steve and Sharon are so friendly and welcoming and even remembered us from last year. The site is set in amazing surroundings and close to swimming lakes and the dordogne for extra trips out. Can't wait to come back next year!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shaun328 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this site and I can only praise the camps owners on what was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had. The site itself is well kept and tidy. The toilet/block although a little dated is kept very clean and tidy, as was the play area. Its great for kids, as is the forest for exploring and the lake for fishing & boating. The pitches are good sizes and vary in shade. I could go on for ages about how good it all is, but the best way to find out is to visit the campsite yourself. The only warning i'll give you is, don't follow a sat nav unless you really like a challenge, make sure you have an up to date map!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: SharronBarber 1 review from this member

What a fantastic place to wind down! My partner and I do not have a great deal of time to unwind and relax at home so 'Moulin De La Geneste' was a great find.

Where to start?? The campsite is the best I have stayed at. The owners Sharron, Stephen and young Harvey were very welcoming and made our experience a very memorable one! They always had very helpful advice and great knowledge of their local town, its attractions, places to visit and general excursions around the surrounding towns villages and cities.

The campsite is an idyllic place to relax, situated in its very own wilderness, there is always something to see and look at whether you are venturing out for a walk or simply want to relax and read a book down by the lake. There is plenty of activities for the family as well as for the adults. My partner and I always found ourselves having a game of ping pong and badminton. Although not much of a swimmer myself, it was nice to relax on the jetty and watch my boyfriend swim and play around on the boat in the lake.

The Owners Sharron and Steve have their very own little animal farm going on situated at the very bottom of the campsite which is fantastic for the kids. Ponies, goats, pigs, sheep and chickens all make for an interesting walk and visit for the kids.

The campsite itself was very clean, all shower blocks and toilets were maintained and kept clean on a regular basis and very pleasant to use.

We opted to stay in the wooden chalet of which I believe we were the first guests to do so. WOW

WOW WOW WOW! not only are these chalets attractive but an incredibly comfortable place to stay! we had our very own private area and decking to enjoy breakfast on. Breakfast was cooked inside as the chalets boast there very own little living areas and kitchen as well as somewhere for the kids to sleep. I would strongly recommend these for a stay! the chalet is built by the owner Stephen and you can see his passion and talent in his joinery and furniture making not only in the chalets but all over the campsite.

We are very delighted to have booked to return later on in the summer and cannot wait to enjoy some of the local wine in the sun again.

Thanks for an enjoyable stay Sharron, Steve and Harvey,

We will see you soon :)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LuckyNo13 3 reviews from this member

What can I say but wonderful!

We only spent four days here, but I wish we could have stayed longer.

The site is child heaven, set in woodland, with a lovely playground, fairy woods, a river for splashing in, a lake with boats to borrow (not pay to hire) and nature in abundance.

I was worried about the lack of pool on the site, but I shouldn't have, because the swimming lakes nearby at Masseret and Seilhac are fantastic, with lovely beaches, clear waters and they are generally warmer than many of the pools we went to after this site.

Sharron and Steve are lovely and very hard working. Nothing was too much trouble and when we needed something they were amazingly helpful and kind.

Their honesty shop is great and Sharron even delivers the morning bread to your pitch if you order the night before.

Out pitch was nice and shady and marked by trees and bushes. It was long enough for our tent and extension, with plenty of room in front to play and park the car too.

It was quiet and peaceful at night - the perfect get away from it all.

It's hard to find any negatives, but if you shower late then the water is cold, but that's what you expect for being late!

The showers were always clean and we along with everyone else cleaned up afterwards. It wasn't requested, everyone just did.

There is also a fridge to store food, a BBQ to use and many more things I have probably forgotten!

We will definitely return.

If you are reading this Sharron - thank you for a lovely start to our holiday.

Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Limousin   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2080 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0410