Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Holebeck Touring Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Site Reviews

Holebeck Touring Caravan Site
Holebeck House Farm
Wolsingham
Bishop Auckland
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL13 3BG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01388 527384  or  07918614796

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m   1m  1m  5m  1m  1m 

Pitches: 70
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
              8/10 from 38 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jim yorkshire 2 reviews from this member

Returned yesterday 8/27/2016 from this site. We were supposed to be staying for 7 days but had to leave after 4 days it was that bad.

Arrived after managing to get over the not very level crossing, it would not take much to sort out so one wonders why it has not been done!

We could not find any one at the reception, so we tried ringing the owners for a good ten minuets. Got no answer not really what you need after a very long drive.

A very helpful young girl offered to go and get her mum who said it would be ok to pitch next to them.

A lady eventually turned up and identified herself as the owner, I told her we had been trying to ring her, to which she answered the phone had not stopped ringing so she had turned it off !

The toilet block is not adequate for the number of people on the site, just two toilets and showers in the male and female blocks also they are probably the worst toilet block I have ever come across in thirty plus years of camping and caravanning. Toilet paper may or may not be there depending on if it has been all flushed down the toilet blocking them. I agree with other reviews locking them at night is a bit odd it could be an indication of the behaviour of people using the site. One thing you can depend on for certain regarding the toilet block is that the owner comes to lock the showers and empty the coin box at 8 pm on the dot every night.

The play area is one of the better facilities on site, it's a shame that there are vending machines that light up like beacons right next to the play area. Which someone had tried to break into.

The first night we were there must have been 20-30 kids of all ages in the play area till well gone 11pm. The second night these kids can only be described as gone feral there parents were too busy drinking and listening to very loud music to be bothered what there kids were doing. The lady owner told us the following morning that she went to put her dogs out at gone 11pm and wondered what the hell the noise was and she lives a quarter of a mile away. She did come down and scream at the kids to get back to their parents.

The site was packed in like sardines, people were just basically pitching up where they wanted to with no regard to other people. Loud music till late at night and very rowdy. There was a group that were constantly using foul language at there children. They also had so many people visiting them who also used the same foul language. We did have a word with the lady owner about this who told us they were a problem and they were going to be evicted, on speaking to a number of other people on site it turns out that this had been going on for a number of weeks and they had not in fact been asked to leave. We did feel very intimidated by this group of people. Children as young as two years old were left to wonder about with no parent in sight one very nearly got run over by a reversing caravan!. The water did get turned off if it was thought the kids were making too many water bombs which they were making by the hundreds, not very helpful if you wanted to fill your water barrel. On returning from a trip out we had a caravan pitch next to us with four dogs in it they erected a wind break-cum dog pen two feet from our caravan window and hung bags of dog poo on one of the poles right under our window where we ate our meals. Needless to say they were asked to remove it. Health and safety rules were none existent i. E. Distance between units etc.

To sum up I think that the owners have lost control of the site.

There are some very nice friendly people on the seasonal pitches one guy in particular who went out of his way to be very helpful. I do feel very sorry for these people.

The area is stunning with lots to do and see, the views from the site are also lovely.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chissy5568 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site once again after the Bank Holiday weekend. Absolutely loved this site and the staff have worked so hard for the bank holiday to be successful and what a job they done. The most recent feature added of the football being played on a large projector screen was a massive bonus for us as we all enjoy football, furthermore the car boot sale and the bouncy castle was another great idea and the kids loved the slide and assault course. The site was very busy with it being a bank holiday however the staff were very friendly and were always around of if you needed a hand. Shower block remained clean and when it they were closed for cleaning the porta loo was a great idea so that campers weren't stuck without use of toilets. The staff have worked extremely well and they should be proud of what they have managed to achieve. Well done, you're doing a great job. Keep it up, we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda460andBaba 1 review from this member

We only made a last minute booking here for one night (due to work commitments) to try out the new tent. So 2adults and 1dog. We were welcomed after a brief phone call by the ??the site owners son, very pleasant & helpful. We pitched the tent before going off walking for the day, on return I tried out the shower. Mmm found it very strange that the coin box was external to the shower, no separate cubicle to strip off, no where to put shampoo etc as no shelf and the hook to hang clothes touched the shower curtain. They were immaculate but just a slightly larger cubicle with a change area would have been fab! There was loo roll for us unlike previous reviews. Found the 1. 5hour closure of toilets a little excessive, we were bursting by time they opened. Other facilities were fab!

The site quietened down ok but we were next to a caravan whereby the couple locked their 3 dogs in for the night, they barked until midnight! Overall we enjoyed our stay, lots of midgies but the site cant control that can they. We would return x

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsdjacks 3 reviews from this member

Owner is developing the site with plenty of shrubs surrounding it. The pitches are grass but reasonably level and well drained. There's a one way system around the site. The owner and site helper patrol the site regularly and are always available should you need help or assistance. Both were friendly and approachable and acted quickly to queries or concerns

Access to the site is over a very quiet railway line, it was fine if taken with great care, however was rough.

Our electric did trip out so not sure if it's 16 amp.

There are plenty of water points but it's supplied by natural spring water so can and did run dry.

There is a shower block - after reading other reviews I can add that showers do have doors and toilet roll is available.

There is a Barrier in use for safety and security over night but you can get a fob for access.

There are vending machines for snacks and soft drinks. On site bank holiday weekend was a burger van.

There's a small children's play area and plenty of open space to explore and play.

A small irritation was from a group pitched in tents behind us, their kids were up and loud from 7 am through to 12 pm playing football and other games behind our caravan. We had to ask them to move away as they were hitting our caravan. They were not tidy leaving loads of rubbish, was such a shame as it did spoil a good site.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lindasewerrat 4 reviews from this member

We were very disappointed with this site. 25 per night albeit with ehu but still at the higher end of the site scale. Everyone was crammed in with little regard for the 6 meter rule. There was an extra charge for the showers and these were very strange - no lock on the door and no room to get undressed. 2 hooks on door to hang clothes but these touched shower curtain so clothes got wet. A first for us was that no toilet paper was supplied! We won't be making a return visit.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julie 78 1 review from this member

When we arrived here we were greeted by the owner she guided us to put our tent up, we were travelling with kids of all ages, we put our tents up without any problems, carol came to check everything was ok, there is washers and dryers on site which are not to expensive, showers are lovely and clean as we'll as hot, small park for kids to play on and go karts, short walk to the stream, our kids had plenty to keep them entertained, we will all be returning to this campsite shortly and we have told our friends about it and they are now joining us, thanks carol for a lovely weekend.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Co Durham   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6645 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0898
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window