Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Conifer Lake Caravan And Camping Site With Fishing

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > York > Site Reviews

Conifer Lake Caravan And Camping Site With Fishing
Allerthorpe
York
York   (Browse area)
YO42 4RL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07568 546682  or  07766 821836

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby:
5m  1m  1m 1m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 58 Reviews
              10/10 from 58 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (24) and Video

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mucker1884 17 reviews from this member

(Couple - late 40's/early 50's - look for peace, quiet and tranquillity, but with a few mod cons).

Stayed 2 nights - Fri 27/2 to Sun 1/3.

This is our 4th visit to this site, and our third review.

Having just checked, all comments made in my previous review, from January 2014, still stand.

For the record, we were the only tent on site. There was one touring caravan, and it appeared that about 4 or 5 seasonal's were preparing themselves for the onrushing season.

As an update, there are a few changes around site, mostly minimal, and certainly none offensive!

First off, they are obviously continuing to remain busy!

Lots of trees around the lake continue to be well lopped, and it now seems that the wind can get at the water, and give it a bit of a stir. Apparently, these fisherman types like that, so I presume that's a positive!

New flower beds, some done, some being done at the time of our visit.

The most noticeable difference, for those familiar with the site, is the disappearance of 'The middle island'. We camped in there on our first visit. Basically an almost private/exclusive pitch, surrounded by low trees and shrubbery, but without the added benefit of EHU. Well, those trees and shrubs have now gone. Their potholes topped up with soil, and the surface grassed to blend in, so in effect, opening the whole field up. Whether they plan to allow non EHU units there, or now plan to keep all pitches to the outside edge, with this new open space in front, I don't know. Should have asked. Sorry!

Another noticeable difference was the lack of chickens/hens/cockerels or whatever they were (Can you tell I'm not from round these parts!) As in, there were none. Again, I didn't ask, so I've no idea whether they have gone for good, or whether chickens even hibernate, and will return when the sun comes out! I doubt that, as they were there 13 months ago! Their coops are still there though, on the same island in the middle of the lake!

It also appears that their website now states 'Adult only. No children', as opposed to the previous rule of 'No under 12's'.

If opinions count for anything, I'd now say they have enough mannequins/animal statue doodahs etc, and need to be careful of not overdoing it. 'Quirky' is great, 'Tacky' not so! Just my personal opinion, of course.

All the other stuff remains absolutely brilliant. Someone is being very artistic with the natural products, be that benches cut from chopped down trees, sliced logs for new peg number plates for the fishy-folk, or the massive, medium, and small home made insect hotels ( I had to google that. I had no idea there was such a thing, and thought it was just 'modern art'!)

Some of this is also for sale, if you fancy similar in your own garden.

The loo's/showers are still spotlessly clean, of course, and well stocked (Ooh, the soap dispensers are now fixed to the wall, rather than the (more than acceptable) off-the-supermarket-shelf type), and they still put the heating on in there for you, if you go at this time of year.

Again, as a personal preference, I'd say I'd like paper towels in there, and/or a blower, rather than a shared proper hand towel (We take our own in there, rather than share). I appreciate you then need to rely on folk (i. E. You and me!) putting them in the bin, rather than on the floor!

Always hot water. Never run out of soap/loo roll. Always a mop and bucket to do the decent thing, and wipe the floor on your way out!

The extremely pleasant, if not too short, walk around the fishing lake remains a post tea-time must.

The local village still has a pub. The local town still has pubs, takeaways, and shops/supermarket. And is still just a hop in the car away.

The seaside is still over to the right, just by the coast.

Back on site, the ground still holds out well on wet winter weekends, and again remains puddle-free throughout. And the prices still remain competitive at worst, and at this time of year, in a tent, still the cheapest we have paid, anywhere, any time. Hoorah for winter rates!

The booking in remains painless and informal (By phone, 2 days before arrival). The owners (We're not allowed to name names on here!) are still friendly, helpful, and approachable, when called upon, but if you want solitude, they're more than happy to leave you alone. We like that!

Being the busy type, I doubt we'll get back there this summer, or maybe even this year, but be back we will. Almost certainly Jan/Feb time next year, so I guess, we'll see you then.

Thanks for a wonderful site, and thanks for letting us stay.

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Bloomooning 6 reviews from this member

Fantastic site stayed in one of the cosy cabins for a change, really enjoyed it close to all major shops 10 mins drive. Toilets spotless campsite is well thought out with a touch of quirkiness, a credit to the owners who are very friendly and accommodating. Nice walk round the lake would definitely recommend

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Fermec 8 reviews from this member

Our second visit here this year, we came here in June and stayed in a Cozy Cabin for 2 nights, we enjoyed it that much we came again end of October into November for 6 nights and really enjoyed ourselves

We do a lot of camping and I have got to say this is the best site we have been on and we have been to a lot, Graham and Alison who own the site are very friendly and down to earth and have given the site there personal touch, the site is geared up for anglers (I got some nice carp) but you don't have to be into fishing to enjoy the site, the toilet / shower block is spotless there are washing up facilities and also a washing machine and drier that can be used at a small cost, and there is also use of a fridge freezer on site.

There is a gate at the back of the site which leads to a short walk to the local pub where the food is excellent, nearby is the local village Pocklington where there are many shops pubs takeaways and a Aldi and Sainsbury's.

All in All this is the best site and we will be back next Summer.

Pete & Anne

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: 40metreman55 2 reviews from this member

Just had a fantastic three night break at this gorgeous site. The Cozy Cabin was outstanding, you only need to take your food, clothes and bedding. Everything else is provided. The shower/toilet block was extremely well looked after, spotlessly clean and the showers are hot and powerful. The site is an anglers dream. Well marked pegs and some big carp. There is a gate at the back of the site that allows you to cut off a huge corner on the walk to the pub in Allerthorpe (The Plough) where you can get good food and real ales. We wanted to scope out the camping pitches for next year, they are quite large, most with EHU and all nice flat grass. We'll definitely be back, again and again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Owenconnor 5 reviews from this member

Excellent camp site, owners very friendly and prices are fantastic to what you can pay elsewhere. Would definitely return and recommend to anyone. No play park for kids but as we didn't take ours, didn't really affect. Seems more suited to adults. Very large pitches and all flat and we'll looked after. Not far from York

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Welshwiz1 3 reviews from this member

We booked this site for six nights but loved it so much that we extended our stay to eight nights!The pitch we had was less than 5 minutes walk from the lake and 1 minute from the facilities. The grass was neatly cut and the pitches well marked and spacious, all had EHU.

There are 3 toilet, sink and shower cubicles, male, female and disabled which were all spotlessly clean with a mop and bucket provided to wipe up muddy/grassy footprints.

What a beautiful lake!good paths all around and well-marked pegs. My husband fished the match on Saturday and although didn, t have the biggest catch, thoroughly enjoyed himself.

Graham and Allison were friendly and although this was our first visit, we were made to feel like old friends. Both of them were busy every day, maintaining the site and chatting to the campers.

We went to York twice using the park and ride, 2, 70 each return. The Plough in Allerthorpe is a 15 minute walk away using the short-cut. Good size village of Pocklington not too far away for provisions.

We have re-booked a long weekend in July and hopefully will be visiting again for 2 weeks next year.

If you love peace and quiet, the only noise being bird-song then this is the site for you.

Written by Mrs Welshwiz

Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in York   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 200 of Cool Prizes from Outwell Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game & Country Fair 25/04 to 26/04
Masses of fun and displays at the The Norfolk Showground - day tickets or you can camp over for the weekend.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5117 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015




Easter Hunt
Win an Awning
Follow the clues, find the answer, and have a chance to win a fantastic Easter prize - a caravan awning worth 169!




0.0449