Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Les Trois Chateaux

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Lorraine - Alsace > Site Reviews

Les Trois Chateaux
10 Rue Du Bassin
Eguisheim
Lorraine - Alsace   (Browse area)
68420   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 00 33 389 23 19 39

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  1m  1m 

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
              8/10 from 12 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 6                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dawath1948 21 reviews from this member

Great site, a little uneven but nothing to get excited about.

Sanitaire cleaned twice a day, separate facilities for male and females.

Reception staff extremely helpful and friendly, especially Mirielle.

Eguisheim is a short walk away, well worth visiting and taking the walk around the ramparts, and can recommend the scenic train ride around the town and into the surrounding area.

Loads of information available at the tourist office.

A superb site to be our base for two weeks whilst we visited the other ancient towns in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 26 reviews from this member

We opted for this site after visiting Le Medieval in nearby Turkheim, since it's in a more rural location.

First, don't follow sat nav instructions to get to this site; it'll take you up narrow, twisty roads and alongside a vineyard. Instead, follow the signposts once you reach Eguisheim.

This campsite is larger than it first looks, and was very busy when we were there (May 2017). The pitches are mostly small so there's a bit of a 'packed in' feel. The sanitaire block (there's only one) is kept clean and tidy (separate sections for men and women) but it's quite a trek from the pitches on the higher level. The site is mostly used by caravans and motorhomes so maybe this isn't an issue for most people, who use their own facilities.

There are quite a few cabins on the lower level, around the entrance. The pitches are a bit scrubby and it's not what I'd call a lovely site but it's an easy and pleasant (signposted) walk from the site into Eguisheim, past the stork nests, and we had an enjoyable day strolling around (along with the other hundreds of tourists). Most of the restaurants were shut when we were there (Tuesday closing for many, clearly).

I reckon this is a site to use as a base, not as an ultimate holiday destination.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Parlourbarn 18 reviews from this member

Within 5 minutes’ walk of beautiful Eguisheim, an ideal site for 2/3 nights to see the villages in Alsace.

However we could not have stayed longer, the pitches were small and the whole site cramped and very busy. Most guests were Dutch with generally smaller caravans than our standard 4 berth fixed bed. We paid for an XL pitch, but even they are varied in size and shape, some of which you could only access with a motor mover. You could pick your own pitch though. There are considerable comings and goings every day, from 7 am some days.

Generally the whole site was poorly maintained with overgrown shrubbery and grass, although the reception staff were very nice, you had to ask re local supermarkets, WiFi etc, the information was not offered.

Eguisheim itself is stunning and busy with day trippers, but at night is completely dead, with only one or two restaurants open, we were very surprised.

Not a site we would return to now we have seen Eguisheim.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Livewires 10 reviews from this member

My husband and I visited this ACSI site in September 2014 with our campervan and 2 dogs. The staff were lovely and we found the site to be very clean and the facilities very good with plenty of hot water. We were allowed to choose our own pitch and we paid an extra euro to have a slightly larger corner plot. Not that we needed a large pitch, but because it had a wonderful view over the adjacent vineyards.

The site was fairly busy but we had no problem finding a decent pitch at 2pm [we had not booked].

We loved the walks through the vineyards [signposted] which are dog friendly and accessible directly from the campsite. The village of Eguisheim is stunning and just a short walk away. It is beautifully set amid the vines and well placed for visits in the area.

We would definitely return to this site and thoroughly recommend it.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andiamo 4 reviews from this member

We stopped here for one night en route. It was easy to locate and far enough from the motorway to hear no noise but also close enough to be a convenient stop. We chose our own spot to pitch and the warden was friendly and helpful. The sanitary and other facilities were good. This is a site we would return to. The village of Eguisheim was stunning. There were old buildings, tiny streets, fountains, restaurants and an interesting church. There were also signposted walks from the campsite. Lovely!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jkingscott 2 reviews from this member

Alsace is a fantastic place to visit and Eguisheim is one of the nicest villages we went to, however I didn't go much on this site.

Of all the campsites I stayed on this summer (5) this was the only one to take a fairly large deposit - and charge me 6€ for booking. They also required a credit card to be held at the office the entire time we were there. They also charge a deposit for the key - not a big deal, but again the only site to do so.

A small freezer is available - but you are charged a euro each time you take something out.

The facilities are very good, clean and with plenty of hot water. The pitches though are very mixed, some are fine - if gravelly, though they do mention that when you book - but some are tiny slithers you could just get a small dome tent on.

While the facilities are well maintained the pitches aren't - grass not cut or shrubs pruned, the odd bit of rubbish left. Ours - 124 / 6 I think, was large only because most of it was completely unusable, rough lumpy bare earth.

I'd be suggest one checks out the pitch first before handing over your credit card! I much preferred camping at the municipal site in Ribeauvillé!

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 6      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lorraine - Alsace   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3322 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0898