Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Tent Showcase: Robens Double Horizon

Current model?
Max berths:
Tent weight:
Tent RRP on date added:
Bedroom inners:
Living area groundsheet:
Pitching Style:
Category:
Compare Tent Price:
Discontinued
5
19.40 KG
£799.99
2
Fully Sewn-in
In one
Tent
Search


Average User Rating:
8.63/10 from 8 reviews

Viewed: 8269 times

Back to index

Manufacturer Images


Member Uploaded Images - click to enlarge

There are currently no images uploaded by members for this tent. If you have a photo, be the first to upload one.

User Reviews of the Double Horizon

By: Farnham16  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2009   Rating:   Date: 17/03/2012

Terrific tent bought for our family of 4 after serious tent searching by my somewhat - on this anyway- purchase ! We also bought the extension but have to say we don't put that up if we are on a one night transit stop somewhere.

Now in it's 4th year of use we've had a couple of challenges with the extension in high winds but that's user error not product - more a question of thinking about the guy ropes in terms of the direction of the wind . Also we do need to get a couple of minor repairs made (peg loops to reattach) but we've used this tent A LOT and really it's held up v well.

Size wise we've had plenty of room - we use really useful boxes for clothes and they stack great so you keep floor space. Also, have spoilt ourselves now with camp beds which boxes go under and we still have plenty of space in the bedroom area

Ok, it takes 40 minutes or so to put up but it's a fab piece of kit
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Bluedelta  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 08/03/2012

Further to my previous review 2010. (Robens Double Horizon) We have now used the tent for two seasons and my initial thoughts still stand in that it has been a warm draught free and comfortable tent with no complaints form my girl friend. However last time out we had strong winds and although we were in a good sheltered position one of the guy line anchor points failed. I have to say the design of the attachment does not appear to be very robust. Not a major repair but a very basic flaw in an otherwise nice tent.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: 1campman  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 29/08/2011

Great tent, which deflects the weather effectively and is easy to use. The front flap is great for sitting under and it withstood some fairly heavy thunder storms in France.

I purchased mine online, a 2010 model, for under £500 but would get the extra ground sheet just to protect it better. There were just 2 people using it for 10 days in France this year but was very comfortable and feels of real quality.

Recommended.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Adeanddeb  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 06/03/2011

Bought this tent as a touring tent for all year use .Purchased in a preseason sale at a bargain price . It has had it's first outing this weekend on a cold frosty Dartmoor this is the best tent I have ever owned

There was a straight choice between the Robens and Outwell's Trout Lake both made by the same parent company and very similar in style the Robens was chosen on it's lighter weight .

It is a very easy tent to put up the ring and pin being very easy to insert not like on our Montana . The quality of materials and fabrics used are of the highest quality as you would expect on a tent of this price .

We had a frosty night in Princetown the tent was comfortable inside to sit in. A nylon tent would have been to cold . The universal bedroom is spacious for our double airbed the other half we use for storage . The living area is also very spacious there was plenty of room for us to move around in with table and chairs set up .

Would recommend that you us the footprint and carpet available for the Trout Lake as it makes the floor comfier . In all a great tent for a couple for all year use
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: LindsayH  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 28/09/2010

We’ve just used this tent for a fortnight in Scotland and the Lakes and we were really disappointed with it. We decided to upgrade from our little backpacking tent to something bigger and more comfortable, and we went for the Robens Double Horizon because we had heard Robens tents were good quality, and we wanted something that would hopefully stand up fairly well in bad weather (which we thought there was a chance we would get!). Certainly when we had a trial run of the tent at home we felt that it was good quality and the standard of workmanship was high. However, we had a number of problems with it when we used it on holiday:

1. 3 guy rope attachment points broke, one whilst putting the tent up, the other two in strong winds

2. One of the webbing loops that the poles fit into broke (this was actually on the extension rather than the tent)

3. We couldn’t get the extension to stay up once the wind picked up (I’ll post a separate review about the extension – the extension was one of the reasons we bought the tent, as we wanted a sheltered cooking/storage area)

4. One pole bent slightly in the first set of strong winds we had, and another bent severely in the next set of strong winds

5. It developed quite a bad leak above one of the windows

6. After a week in Scotland we moved on to the Lakes, but the tent leaked badly – to the extent that there was no way we’d have been able to sleep in it - when we pitched it in the Lakes. We wondered whether it was because we’d had to pack it away wet in Scotland and then in transit the flysheet was all packed up so in contact with other bits of the flysheet and hence lost some of its waterproofing (since polycotton can leak if you touch the inside when it’s raining). We then left it a couple of days, thinking that the leaks might stop once the tent had chance to dry out, and it certainly looked like the leaks were reducing for a while, but then it started raining again and the leaks got worse – we think most of the water was coming in through the doors – it was really windy and the wind was pushing the flysheet into contact with the mossie net doors, which seemed to be drawing water through.

We think that these problems are probably a combination of us getting a faulty model (eg guy ropes breaking) and it not being a very good design (extension not fitting, water leaking through the doors) – and to be fair we did have some pretty bad weather. However, it’s a big thumbs up to Camping World – that’s where we got the tent from and we took it back to them to explain the situation. They checked it out for us and agreed that there was a fault, and offered us a replacement (though we asked instead for a refund, because we don’t want to risk the same thing happening again!). So we were really happy with the customer service we’ve had from then and would definitely consider getting our next tent from them. However, I don’t think we’d buy another Robens tent – which is very disappointing, because we had thought that these were meant to be good tents.

Having said this, it’s not all bad: for the size of tent it was reasonably easy to put up and take down. Had we used it for a fortnight in say the south of France with good weather we’d have absolutely loved it. The layout is great, there’s plenty of space (even for 4 adults – we were joined by my brother & his girlfriend for a couple of days and even when it rained and the four of us had to retreat into the living area we just about had enough space), the windows mean it’s nice and light, the mossie net doors give plenty of ventilation options (and protection against the dreaded Scottish midges), it dried fairly quick in the rain and was warmer than a nylon tent would have been (we’d also expect it to be cooler in the heat).
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Bluedelta  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 22/09/2010

Robens Double Horizon Tent. - Sept. 2010

Just spent five days camping in my new Robens tent with my new girl friend who had never been camping before. Being late in the season, September 2010 I have to say the weather was a mixed batch of wind rain and sun not ideal. So how was the new tent?

Having arrived at the site on the East Coast the rain held off but the wind was quite blustery as we erected the tent out of the box so to speak. Being polycotton the fly sheet had a little weight. The poles were easy to slide into place through the sleeves but they were very long and unwieldy, and it was quite tricky to form the arch and engage the securing pins into the open end of each hoop.( there is a tension strap running across the tent between the bottom open ends of each hoop ). However having got the alloy hoops in place we were able to hoist the fly sheet up and once a couple of guy lines were attached it all fell into place and with a little practice I am sure it would become easier…With the ground sheet easily zipped in place the inner tent could also be fitted using the clips and hangers very easily.

With the tent now erected we could get our first real impression of our new home. There is very good headroom and we never felt cramped or restricted inside. As there was only the two of us we opened up the dividing partition between the two bedrooms which gave a very useful area not only for sleeping but also for dressing etc. With full headroom.The living area was more than adequate for a table, a couple of chairs and the dog bed.

The fly sheet being polytcotton gave a feeling of security and the window panels gave a feeling of space. All of the windows have roll up blinds which gives good control over light and privacy. The main doors have fully zipped screens although the actual door flaps are only zipped down the sides with the bottom edge being held with gripper pads, but this worked fine with no leaks. Four hooded ventilation panels with mesh screens worked very well at keeping the interior fresh and draught free.One feature which we found very useful for personal nick nacks were the vertical storage pockets between the sleeping compartment doors. Overall we were very happy with the tent which kept us dry and warm through several rain storms. The general feeling is of quality from the storm proof zips to the well engineered frame poles and the security of the polycotton fly sheet. Although polycotton the tent dried quite quickly after the morning rain on the day of our departure, and I feel this tent will give good service if well cared for. Niggles just a few. With the doors sloping and having no weather hood the door flap has to be shut in wet weather to prevent the ingress of rain. The inner tent is hung / clipped in place and with our tent there was a manufacturing mistake and two of the hangers did not match. Well there you have it . Best of all my girl friend is happy to go camping again, and if our new found romance lasts as long as the tent I will be happy.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Mackster40  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 26/06/2010

Having owned a Vaude tent for a few years now I have recently upgraded to the Robens Double Horizon. The main reasons were that I wanted to be able to stand up instead of constantly stooping and I was getting fed up of the constant 'internal' condensation issues associated with a polyester tent. Make no mistake this Polycotton tent is a top quality product. It is comfortable to be in - never feels damp or cold at night. There is absolutely no condensation issues with it in any conditions and there is a superb amount of room. The design of the tent has obviously been well thought out. The groundsheet zips in & out for easy cleaning / storage. The two bedroom pods can be easily made into one - just unzip one of the bedrooms. Putting the tent up and taking down is a two person job although I can manage it on my own if pushed. Putting up is very straightforward, and once up is rock solid. This is a real campers tent that can be enjoyed in any weather.
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Wayne2004  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 28/08/2008

Just bought this tent as a 2nd tent as our 1st Outwell Hartford is too big for what we usually need. Was initially a bit worried about this as we bought it from Great outdoors sale at £99 and thought it was too good to be true as other Sunncamp tents were much higher in price. Also it is only 2000 hh and our Outwell was 3000. We needn't have worried - this tent is a dream to erect and withstands the elements with ease ! We really love the design of the attached groundsheet to inner tent (buy one and see what we mean !) Also, the versatility of openings and canopy's makes it very easy to sit inside and yet be out in our temperamental weather ! The contemporary look of this tent and the clever design in terms of light and darker area's are really cool and the added bonus of the height is very welcome (we store 2 mountain bikes in the entrance part and at over 6 ft in height, we have plenty of room to stand etc. Much recommended if you can get it (seems to be sold out almost everywhere - we got the last one in the sale where we bought ours from )
1 from 2 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

Add your comments on the Double Horizon for a chance to win a prize!

If you have used this tent please leave a review, or your comments for other visitors, and have a chance to win
If you have used any tent please leave a review or your comments, for other visitors, and have a chance to win a 2 night break courtesy of Camping in the Forest - camping in beautiful forest campsites in the UK.


You will need to be logged in as a member of the UKCampsite.co.uk Please log in or register here.


Manufacturer's Description

The tunnel design and durable HydroTex Polycotton fabric of the Double Horizon offer versatile, reliable shelter. Sleeping up to five in two Universal inner tents with black-out inners, practical use of the large living area is achieved by two side doors. The side doors complement the main door allowing flexible access and cross-ventilation between the entrances and ventilation ports. One side door features a Rain Safe hood, and with its double slider zips, can be opened to any height over the additional mesh door for effective airflow and an airy feel inside. That airy feel supplements the light and views from no less than six windows with adjustable curtains. The tent features a tough sewn-in polyester groundsheet plus full mesh door in front.
Flysheet: HydroTex Polycotton, 65% cotton / 35% polyester
Inner tent: 210D Oxford polyester, 100% polyester
Rooms: 2 bedrooms, 1 living room
Poles: Alloy #7001, #6061, T6, 8.5 / 19 mm, anodised
Floor: 210T Oxford polyester, 100% polyester, 5000 mm
Pack size: 80 x 35 cm

... there may be more info on their website

Back to main tent index



Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

8028 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014