Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Tent Showcase: Eurohike Cairngorm

Current model?
Max berths:
Tent weight:
Tent RRP on date added:
Bedroom inners:
Living area groundsheet:
Pitching Style:
Category:
Compare Tent Price:
Yes
4

239.99
2
Fully Sewn-in
Fly first
Tent
Search


Average User Rating:
6.33/10 from 12 reviews

Viewed: 15487 times

Back to index

Manufacturer Images


Member Uploaded Images - click to enlarge

If you have a photo of this tent click here to upload it

User Reviews of the Cairngorm

By: Mattogier  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2011   Rating:   Date: 29/08/2013

We have the 'Blacks' branded version of this tent, purchased for 35 from eBay and, for the price, are very happy with it.

Used during spring half term in wet and windy Wales although having the aerodynamic qualities of a brick it did stand up to the weather although it was 'fun' pitching it in quite a strong breeze!

The bedroom pods are roomy (with plenty of height) for one and snug for two and the central core area big enough for four to cook and eat in. One slight criticism I have is the lack of windows . Coupled with the fact that rain water runs off the top into the main area when the doors are open (furled or out as an awning) mean this is not a great wet weather tent unless used purely for sleeping and eating .

This summer we are using the outer as a cook tent (to go with our 16 berth SunnCamp Manta) and for this its perfect (in the sunshine).

We have not had problems with poles that others have but this maybe an issue the manufacturers have resolved?
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Diver293  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2012   Rating:   Date: 26/07/2013

On a positive note the tent provides good space, but the poles are extremely flimsy, two of ours broke after we'd put it up only four times.

Fortunately this happened at the end of two weeks in France - I really don't want to think about what would have happened if it had failed at the start of our trip.

We bought it from Millets who, 11 months after buying, refused to do anything about repair or replacement under guarantee.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Lorr40  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2011   Rating:   Date: 23/09/2012

Lovely spacious tent but felt the poles aren't the best as 2 of ours split on a recent camping trip when it was windy standing up room and 2 separate rooms also a good sitting area in the centre, easy to build (we have a knack that we can build it in 20 mins)the best tent we've had (had a few) pity about the poles.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Camper159  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2011   Rating:   Date: 06/06/2012

We bought this tent because it was reduced in Millets and because it sleeps 4 in two compartments which are separated by the entrance area, rather than being right next to each other.

It is nice and roomy with good standing room but not that easy to put up and one pole has cracked already - on the second time of using!

It's not easy when putting it up to get everything squared properly - but I presume this will get easier with practice.

I don't think it would stand up to severe weather too well.

Otherwise a good size tent for the money.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Dants  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 24/07/2011

As a 4 person tent for a small family this is great. It's incredibly spacious, the vis a vis design allows a good divide between the two sleeping compartments, the entrances on either side good ventilation and there's plenty of space. If put up and put down with care it should provide several years service either to groups of 4 looking to do weekend trips or groups of 2 that just want to use 1 sleeping compartment and then be left with a cavernous amount of room for bikes, relaxing etc.

That's the good stuff out the way. However, what does need to be borne in mine is that this is a 100 tent (you'd be a fool to pay the RRP of 260 for it). And with 100 tents the pole sleeves do snag and rip if poles are forced. Stitches will pull and seams will rip under undue pressure. The poles are quite brittle and will disintegrate if bent hard. If you get a ripped sleeve or a cracked pole at the start of a trip then good luck if it gets breezy. And the included pegs are fantastic so long as you're pitching on a bowling green with zero wind.

My advice? Buy one, but a) Assemble it with care b) Spend an extra 20 and get spare polls and replacement pegs at the same time (and take them with you!) c) Make sure the kids don't try to swing from the sleeping compartments d) Make sure it is pegged and roped out meticulously. Follow my advice and you'll have a rock solid purchase for pretty much any UK conditions. Ignore it and you'll have a flimsy tent that'll fall apart the second you snag a sleeve and the wind gets up.
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Camperducks  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 04/07/2011

We bought this tent like many others because it was on offer and we needed something roomy enough to stand up in: which this certainly is for me (I'm 5ft 10).

We've used our tent twice so far in the UK in relatively good weather conditions, a bit of wind, a spot of drizzle but nothing much more, and its been great for the job. One of the other reasons that we choose this model is that its 4 seasons and had a good level of water proofing; fortunately we haven't really had to test this out!

We can fit a full double-sized air mattress in one of the sleeping areas quite easily with a bit of room to spare and have found the double central opening really good for hotter days and getting a breeze through. The central areas is easily big enough for us to sit in and eat / play cards / have a cuppa etc if needs be and more than enough space overall to stow everything away over night.

So far we've been really pleased with out Cairngorm and plan to use it again soon!
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Judgie83  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 02/10/2010

Another bargain from Blacks (40 quid)! Took it to France for 2 weeks and it survived a range of weather conditions. Like other reviewers, we found the groundsheet for the middle section was not well fitted but suited us as we had muddy boots etc to leave on grass rather than walking it onto the sheet.

Found that a double airbed fitted in the sleeping sections perfectly with some room at either end to leave bags and clothes etc. Incidentally, we found it very roomy - enough height to stand upright (I'm 5'7'') easily.

Fairly easy to erect though instructions are little difficult to follow. It becomes easier the second time as you leave the inners in.

In rain and wind we were well protected and the tent stood up well to a few nights of battering. In sunshine the double doors made for a cool breeze through the tent. Had some difficulty putting up the canopy as there were not enough guide ropes for this - had to use the spare, cut in half to do the job. Once up though, the canopy offers a little protection from either sun or rain.

Generally very happy with the tent - I wouldn't want to pay full price though.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Kraftybabs  Reason: I've used one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 28/09/2010

We bought this for our Scout leaders as it was greatly reduced at Blacks. The tent was fairly easy to pitch, second time a little easier as we left the inners connected. Bit draughty and the groundsheet didn't seem to fit too well but we always pitch on a separate groundsheet. The sleeping area was a bit tight and two airbeds wouldn't fit although two camp beds fitted if you didn't mind being snug. One main problem was the guylines which were red and we had to use light up pegs to show where they were at our camp last weekend. The tent is not easily spotted in the dark at all. We will be using it for two male leaders in future - one each side as it wasn't suitable for my husband and I.

Seems well made but the tension on the poles does worry me.

I wonder if the tent has been reduced to 80 because there are problems with it. I certainly wouldn't pay full price for this one and although we used it this last weekend we have gone back to our Outwell one for future use.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Goodies5  Reason: I've used one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 01/09/2010

We bought this tent as an absolute bargain from Blacks. It can withstand very strong winds indeed but it whistles under the doors so we made a barrier. Able to open both doors for through breeze on hot days. It is very spacious and now the kids are grown and gone, our Bull Mastiff has the other bedroom! Don't think the instructions for erection are brilliant but now we do it our own way and it's much quicker. Would have preferred completely sewn in groundsheet but bought a separate one as base for whole tent.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Jymjams  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2009   Rating:   Date: 29/08/2010

This was our first tent and was only set up four times in all. The second time it was set up a pole broke and the shop exchanged it without question. However, our last site was more open and subject to stronger winds. When one pole broke it stressed the others and all four failed leaving split and broken fibreglass sticking out. I won't be buying another Eurohike as we have only had this one for less than 4 weeks. We were lucky it happened after we woke up and not during the night as we had our 4 year old child with us.
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Sharon2407  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 15/08/2010

Bought this tent for our first time camping and it did the job well. Would have preferred the groundsheet sewn in but the tent was roomy. It was rainy and windy when we used our tent but it stood up to the Scottish weather great. I did notice a few other campers using the same tent so it must be quite popular. It was a bit difficult to put up but be different next time as we should know what to expect, (hopefully).
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Bancroftcampers  Reason: I've used one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 25/07/2010

We bought this tent because was in the sale reduced from 250 to 110 which we thought a bargain. Before we left the store the handle on the bag ripped and the shop assistant soon rushed to replace it. We have only used this tent once and one of the tent poles has snapped in half already. Not happy about this and will be taking it back to the shop we bought it from tomorrow!
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

Add your comments on the Cairngorm for a chance to win a prize!

If you have used this tent please leave a review, or your comments for other visitors, and have a chance to win
If you have used any tent please leave a review or your comments, for other visitors, and have a chance to win a 2 night break courtesy of Camping in the Forest - camping in beautiful forest campsites in the UK.


You will need to be logged in as a member of the UKCampsite.co.uk Please log in or register here.


Manufacturer's Description

You've enough to consider when taking the family camping. Getting everyone's gear sorted, checking the weather forecast, packing the maps and having a vague idea of activities to keep the kids entertained. So the last thing you need is a tent that doesn't deliver.

Invest in the Eurohike Cairngorm and have ultimate confidence that at least your tent will surpass expectations - even if the adventure goes off track. The 4-man tunnel structure offers vast spaciousness whilst the huge porch area provides ample room for gear and rustling up grub on the camping stove.

Two doors give you instant access whilst taped seams shelter you from even the fiercest storms. Setting up's even a doddle with the Cairngorm - thanks to featherlight fibreglass poles and durable steel pegs.

Well, what do you expect from a tent named after one of the most popular mountain ranges in Scotland?

... there may be more info on their website

Back to main tent index



Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth 467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

5625 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014