Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Tent Showcase: Wynnster Raven 8

Current model?
Max berths:
Tent weight:
Tent RRP on date added:
Bedroom inners:
Living area groundsheet:
Pitching Style:
Category:
Compare Tent Price:
Yes
8
23.60 KG
£250.00
3
Bathtub
Fly first
Tent
Search


Average User Rating:
9.33/10 from 18 reviews

Viewed: 23577 times

Back to index

Manufacturer Images


Member Uploaded Images - click to enlarge

If you have a photo of this tent click here to upload it

User Reviews of the Raven 8

By: Greenbeavers  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 08/08/2012

Have had this tent for two years and used it on six occasions. Very easy to put up (me and my teenage son recently put it up in under half an hour)and very spacious. Able to stand in 'bedrooms' which makes dressing easier and the main area is plenty large enough for several adults to sit. The tent has withstood torrential rain and very windy conditions with no problems although if you use the canopy it is important to put that up correctly on the pole seams or the tent will leak. My only gripe is the same as a previous reviewer - I wish the bottom of the doors could be secured as these flap about in wind. I highly recommend the canopy for extra space and as a cooking/eating area.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Simonpage  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 20/08/2011

Hi all great tent, takes two to set up, we can set this tent up in about 20 mins, colour coded poles that go into colour coded sleeves which is so much help, rather than looking at instructions, pods go in easy, guide lines clamp down very well, just took this tent to the lakes, on Monday and it gave this tent a run for its money, well did not move a whistle, we had strong wind and heavy rain, we did have a few leeks but that could be due to it being second hand, but my god it did get a battering from the lovely Cumbrian weather, so I'm very well happy with this tent. 100% trust in heavy wind and rain, what I did is bought a few more lines for it, that just me being over secure, which I didnt even use. Anyway great tent.With loads of room and living space.

Opps just one thing I wish wynnster had put zips on the bottom of both doors on the raven 8 we bought velcro male and female and had to put it on the bottom to seal it up at night. Due to being badgers at the camp site we where staying at.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Woodsey69  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2009   Rating:   Date: 04/06/2011

Excellent value for money, very well made, it has withstood high wind and rain without any breakages or leaks. Plenty of room for all six of us, including having one bedroom as a changing room. Very easy to put up, we put a tarpaulin down in the living area to protect the main floor which has worked. All in all a very good family tent and we hope to get a couple more years out of it yet!
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: K599rag  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 29/09/2010

Excellent tent for the money. Stood up to a real battering over the Aug bank holiday in Cayton Bay. Many other tents didn't survive the weekend so I suppose it must be a good tent.

It is well built, seems to be strong and easy to put up. The only down side that I can see is the fact that one of the poles has split, but I suppose that's the same in most tents. If they didn't split there wouldn't be a market for the replacement poles!
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Deva7  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 23/09/2010

We bought this tent for £90 from ebay, previous owner had only used it once.

Very roomy tent. Erection is fairly straight forward, however we had to pack the tent up after it had been raining, and move off on our travels when we came to re-erect the tent it was still wet, and the poles split we think this is due to how heavy the tent was whilst wet.

Not a bad tent at all.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Badmand  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 06/09/2010

I have brought a Raven 8 and its great, cant fault it at all. We had rain every day of our 14 day camping trip and there were no leaks. It's very big and the four bedrooms are brill, as there are only 3 of us, we use the 4th room as a changing room. Did have friends come and stop with us for 5 nights but still loads of space - there were 4 adults, 2 teenagers, and a toddler and still loads of space. I put this tent up myself in 45mins an believe me am not the fittest, but really easy to pitch. Would recommend. I do have a question though were can I get a canopy/extension for it or any make that would fit
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Marhabah  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2009   Rating:   Date: 25/08/2010

Our second tent, and LOADS of space for just us two. Fairly easy to put up as well. We did get a couple of leaks from where seams had been stitched together, mostly around the 2 entrances but nothing that a spot of glue couldn't sort. We only paid £149 for it, so we can't complain at all. We have upgraded to rock pegs, as this is a BIG tent, and the pegs supplied wouldn't have much chance in a heavy wind.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Dino 666  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 23/08/2010

I can't fault this tent, it withstood a thunder storm last year at Water Leisure Park in Ingoldmells which lasted a good 2 hours, no leaks. It's also withstood high winds, solid as a rock. I'm 6'4' and can jump up inside without my head even touching the tent roof, massive living area, It was value for money £199.99.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Matlee  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2009   Rating:   Date: 13/08/2010

Paid £149.00 for this tent its been perfect so far, no problems and is easy to pitch only have 4 poles! There is 2 of us and a dog, but we go with a few others camping and everyone always ends up back in our tent for a drink as the space is massive and you easily get 6 people in with deck chairs and 3 dogs. For the money its a bargain!
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Big dave67  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 25/07/2010

Just had a windy week in Cromer on the cliffs, the Raven stood up to the wind quite adequately. The bedrooms are of a generous size and the living area is of a reasonable size, enough for a table and separate chairs and a large table. We used the Wynnster sun canopy which enables you to have the door open even when its windy and raining and a outdoor space to cook under .The main tent has a full sewn in ground sheet then the inner tents sit on this giving you a fully sealed tent from wind and bugs
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Loverofchaos  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2009   Rating:   Date: 18/05/2010

This was our first tent, and was purchased with a view to being able to stand at full height in it and idiot-proof to erect. It meets both these conditions. The inners are separate and flexible which means that if you are a family the kids can have an end to themselves (and even a room each if you only have two) or if, like us, you are a couple, you can just use one large bedroom with a double mattress in the middle and have an enormous space to spread out into (or use one of the smaller bedrooms for storage).

The good point about this tent is that it is very quick and easy to put up - the sheaths for the poles are unencumbered by eyelets and seams so the poles never get stuck. There are only 5 poles and the colour coding is very effective. The guy ropes never get entangled in the poles even if they are not tied and tidied. I can vouch for this tent being easy(ish) to put up by an unfit middle-aged woman on her own, though perhaps not on a windy day!

On the down side, the skirting is easy to rip away if you pull it the wrong direction. We did this the first time we used it. We also managed to make holes in the floor which needed patching. We have also managed to make a small cut in the main tent (don't know how) which needed to be repaired. We've only used it three times.

As far as weatherproofing is concerned, the first time we used it there was an almighty rainstorm of over 30mm in 12 hours. It did leak in places - specifically where loops and tabs were sewn into the seams. We marked the points and used the repair kit included to seal these places on its next outing. It was much better during the next shower but there are still a few seepages. On the second outing all was well initially but one of the corner guys failed to stay put in moderate winds (and soft ground) and needed remedial work in the middle of the night in the rain. The wind was still fair to moderate the next day and we were grateful when someone offered to help put it down - the sheer size of the tent means that it is like a big balloon and squeezing the air out can be quite time-consuming even if you haven't seen it take off while taking it down.

The size of this tent is great for feeling spacious and airy during a week-long stay in the summer. Not cramped or too stifling in the heat (you can open both doors to get a breeze through). In colder months it's a bit big to heat economically and is best used in a sheltered rather than exposed location - in England even when tomorrow's forecast says fine and still you can never be quite sure it won't suddenly blow a gale! It holds up well in poor weather though and is good value for money despite some minor faults and foibles.
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Oxtonvillage  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 28/05/2009

We have just used our new Raven 8 tent for the first time and were extremely pleased with it. We have returned to camping after several years of cottaging (no, not that sort of activity!) and decided on the Raven 8 on the advice of a local outlet (Aspinalls on the Wirral who are excellent by the way) after a good deal of researching. We could not be more pleased.

The tent went up really easily, although it was windy and it threatened to take off - the children prevented this from happening by lying on the floor of the tent as we put it up. The colour coded poles made life easy. We were on soft soil, but it held firm and stayed dry in spite of strong gusts and heavy rain. The seams stayed intact and seemed capable of taking a fair bit of stress. We were told that tunnel tents are less stable in high winds, but we felt the Raven 8 was quite secure. It seems well made and there are a lot of thoughtful touches such as pockets in any place which will take them, and rings and velcro for hanging things from. We bought a groundsheet to keep the tent clean and to reduce the possibility of piercing the sewn in groundsheet, and this worked well. We will take up the idea of velcro on the doors to keep out the rain - and keep in the dog who, in spite of her size, managed to squeeze through and escape on several occasions!

There was a lot of space which is extremely versatile due to the removable pods. We kept the unused pod for storage as we could keep it zipped up to keep the bugs out and away from the dry food, bread, biscuits etc. We were happy that the large pod had a removable divider rather than sewn in, as we did not use it and had a lovely roomy bedroom. With 2 children and 2 dogs as well as us, there was room to spare. The height gave us a feeling of space too, and no stooping!

All in all, we think this tent is as near perfect as we could get at almost any price - but can anyone tell us how we can repack it into the bag with the polls as well - we have now perfected the art of getting the tent and pods in and closing the zip - but the poll bag too???
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Autopilot  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 06/05/2009

On the whole we are very happy with this tent, although it does have a couple of issues which I will explain bellow. Up until now we have almost always bought Vango tents. We were going to buy a Vango Diablo 900, but after borrowing one for a weekend it was absolutely horrible to put up and was massive (2 large bags) when packed, plus is inner first - which is a no-go in UK weather. We got a good deal on the Raven 8 and have used it 3 times in the last year. On the plus side, it's lovely to put up, as are most tunnel tents when you get the nack - I did it by myself the first time in about 25 mins in wind and rain. Outer first means it's fine if it's raining during erection and the sewn in groundsheet makes life easy and keeps us warmer, drier and more bug free. Also packs down very small yet it's very large and has lots of living area, which is very handy as we have a toddler who has plenty of play area should it rain. Nice family tent.

However, I mentioned there are a couple of issues, which new and existing owners should be aware of.

1) The groundsheet is not the toughest material I have ever come across in a tent. It's easy to pierce if there is a sharp stone or twig etc under it when its walked on. We already have one small hole, so make sure the pitching area is completely clear.

2) Again, the window mesh is a fairly poor material. We have a small hole already, not sure how it happended.

3) Some of the Storm skirting around the bottom has ripped away from along the GS/outer seam that its sewn onto. This is the second time it has happened (first tent was replaced but this will need repairing). If you pull the elastic peg loops in the wrong direction, which is quite easy, it WILL rip, even with very little force. Serious design flaw, it could have easily been reinforced with a tab of materiel where the first loops are.

So generally it's very nice but not perfect. In hindsight I MIGHT have gone for the Vango Albany 800, only might, but I still prefer the flexibility the Raven 8 gives you in term of which pods you put up (We don't put the second single in to give us more living room/storage). At the end of the day, it's a budget family tent, which I can fix, and the positives outweigh the negatives so don't be put off. It's stands up very well to heavy wind and rain once up properly, but take care putting it up/down.
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Mrs B Goodwin  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 29/04/2009

Have just bought this tent it is fantastic. Loads of room and as there are only 3 of us we had the option to take down one of the pods which made it enormous inside. It is a fantastic family tent and is a dream to put up and take down (this from somebody who hates doing these jobs with a passion). There is also an extra sun porch which you can buy to go with this tent which we will be purchasing for the summer as it is a fantastic size. The only downside to this tent is that the internal barriers between the double pods are attached loosely and would be far better if they were sewn in to separate the rooms properly. Other than that I cannot fault this tent at all.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Ian jackson  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 15/03/2009

Fantastic,plenty of space for all your needs & family.

Easy to pitch even with one person in scorching weather.

Value for money, I should say so, looks and performs better than tents three times the price, can't praise it enough, all I can say is buy one.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Steve832  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 12/03/2009

As a family we like to now and again get off the beaten track and into more secluded areas, in this case a friend let us stay at the foot of some lovely mountains in Wales. Next to a brook and in a valley. Needless to say we were hit with very hot weather for a few days followed by one of the worst thunderstorms in years, the rain really came down and the winds knocked out powerlines etc. One welsh farmer an old guy of 90 years said it was one of the worst storms he had seen in years. However this tent stood the test, we all remained snug and completely dry, the wind tried its best but the tent never budged an inch and not once did I have to get out to reset a guy rope or replace a peg.

The sun porch which can be used also as an extension is a fantastic bit of kit and can add an excellent resource to your tent especially with kids and muddy boots being restricted to this area before entering the main tent area.

Very very roomy comfortable safe and secure. Easy to also pack up for the size of it and easy to assemble even in inclement conditions. A fantastic tent at a great price.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Welshdelights  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 02/08/2008

Just bought a Raven 8 used it for the first time this week and what a battering it has taken from the elements with no problems what so ever !I would urge any family thinking of buying a family tent to have look at the raven 8. For the money its brilliant we only paid £200 and what a bargain! Easy to pitch with two people but invest in good storm pegs as this is a large tent it catches the wind so !sturdy pegs will sort this problem out.As described by the last review its BIG and it is AWSOME. BEST £200 I've ever spent . Great job Wynnster!
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Mowfow71  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 06/07/2008

Just bought a Raven 8 used it for the first time this weekend first thing pitching, easy enough to pitch however a slight gust of wind and it takes off like a kite needs 2 people. All pole colour coded, has built in ground sheet 3 bedrooms took us about 35 mins.

I have to be honest within hrs of pitching this tent nature threw everthing at us.Heavy rain, gale force winds apart from some pegs pulling out due to very soft ground the tent performed well.There was a problem with the wind blowing the bottom of the door over the ground sheet lip so some water came in(thats why its 9 out of 10) but I will cure that with velcro.

Once pitched we got all the stuff in there even the folding picnic table, cooker and 6 folding chairs we did this due to the rain but there was still loads of room, we took the 3rd bedroom down because there is only 5 of us and we used it as a storage area but within an hour we has another 5 vistors(children) it was like a party tent.All the other people that came in to have a look couldnt believe the size of this tent.

Sleep time, some of tent pegs failed to hold down this huge tent but like I said the ground was soft.So when we got back from the club house it was almost airborn,thanks to our friends we used some more robust pegs and that sorted it.

This tent took an absolute beating during the storm, but no rips or tears no problem, it just laughed at mother nature, I never slept a wink lol,if I had 2 words to describe this tent they would have to be BIG and AWESOME.

I now have loads of faith in this tent, I dont think the weather could get much worse than what it was, and im glad because whenever we go camping in the future I know we'll be safe dry and warm in the Wynnster Raven 8
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

Add your comments on the Raven 8 for a chance to win a prize!

If you have used this tent please leave a review, or your comments for other visitors, and have a chance to win If you have experience of any tent please leave a review or your comments for other visitors. Many thanks!

You will need to be logged in as a member of the UKCampsite.co.uk Please log in or register here.


Manufacturer's Description

The Raven 8 offers three / four bedrooms. The 2 person bedrooms in these tents are large enough to accomodate a standard sized double airbed.
# The tent pitches Flysheet first and should take two people 20 mins to pitch.
# All fabrics used in for the flysheet, sleeping compartments and groundsheets have been given a Fire Retardant treatment, which in the event of an emergency will allow significantly more time to escape.
# The complete interior of the tent (the communal space and bedrooms) has the benefit of an integral, bathtub style groundsheet and secondary mesh doors, which will effectively keep this space free from insects and draughts.
# Each Wynnster tent is supplied with a repair kit and they include an emergency pole repair sleeve, fabric cuttings, seam sealer, guy line, peg point elastic and various clips.
# The taped seams are heat sealed with a polyurethane tape to ensure complete waterproof protection.
# The colour coded system incorporates colour coded poles and pole sleeves, groundsheet clips points, plus colour coded bedroom hanging points, this reduces assembly time by highlighting the correct place for each part.
# This tent is also Guy Line Tidy. Elastic loops are attached to the tent so that the guy lines can be quickly and conveniently tidied.
# The Raven 8 benefits from Power Ports. These are conveniently located zipped openings in conjunction with lantern loops and velcro cable ties, that allow a mains electricity hook up supply into the tent for the operation of electrical appliances and lighting.
# Polyurethane coatings to the flysheet fabric provide a level of waterproofing that is more than twice that required by the British Standard level to be classified as waterproof.

Sleeps: 8
Doors: 2
Weight: 23.60kgs
Width: 370cm
Length: 750cm
Height: 225cm
Waterproofing (HH): 5000mm
Colours: Dark green / mint green
Roll Up Windows: 2

... there may be more info on their website

Back to main tent index



Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

4551 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014