Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Tent Showcase: Outwell Georgia XL

Current model?
Max berths:
Tent weight:
Tent RRP on date added:
Bedroom inners:
Living area groundsheet:
Pitching Style:
Category:
Compare Tent Price:
Discontinued
8
40.00 KG

3
Fully Sewn-in
Inner first
Tent
Search


Average User Rating:
8.5/10 from 16 reviews

Viewed: 33885 times

Back to index

Manufacturer Images


Member Uploaded Images - click to enlarge

If you have a photo of this tent click here to upload it

User Reviews of the Georgia XL

By: Gill Ford  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 28/09/2010

We love this tent although it is difficult to put up in the wind with only 2 adults and one small teenager!. We just love the space last year there were 4 of us this year just 3 so we could use the extra bedroom as a storage space. This left even more space to sit in- really good when the nights were cool and dark. We love all the ways to keep the bugs out as my husband has a bad reaction to the bites. We don't cook in the tent but if you really wanted too you could in the front area. I am sorry they stopped making this tent
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Lisa_C  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 03/08/2010

I was a confirmed non-camper until I saw Georgia! She was erected at our local go outdoors store and I really fancied the idea of camping after that! We got a really good (half price) deal as it was being discontinued and I am sorry that we didnt manage to get the extras like the other reviewers said. I did manage to buy the carpet on ebay (although I paid way over the odds!) and I think my only criticism is that there are no anchor points for it so it moves around quite a bit as you walk on it. A bit of a pain as you need to take everything out the inner area to straighten it out. But a minor issue I guess

There is more than enough room for everything we need as a family of four and the tent has withstood some really adverse weather!. This year we were up in the highlands and had 22 hours of rain with no let up. She didnt leak!

We have pitching down to a fine art now (about 20 - 25 minutes)
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Raggedkiss  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 16/09/2009

We love our Georgia XL. We are a family of four. Each time we use the tent we get it up quicker and now have it down to about 25-30 mins. Is well worth the set up time. We have plenty of room the kids have a bedroom each but can easily go into together - we have had my sister and her husband stay in the tent as well. The living room is fantastic for those inevitable wet days where your stuck inside - plenty of room for the kids to play and my 2 year old even bowls in there! We have all sorts of kit and still no where near filling it!

Lovely to have a full height tent that doesn't restrict my partner who is 6ft 1.

The tent has loads of well thought out extras such as the lamp holder and cable straps, cable entry point, bath tub porch, etc.

Great to have a big porch to cook, store food and chuck your shoes and wet stuff.

The tent does pack down big and heavy but we would rather that than have a smaller tent.

We have camped in torrential rain and gusty winds and have found the tent stands up to it all - no leaks and as long as you've got all you guy ropes in firmly - no flapping.

Is a shame that we missed out on buying any of the extras such as the windbreak and carpet.

Every time we use the tent we are very happy and glad we chose an Outwell. Here's to many more holidays in it!
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Robjan  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 07/08/2009

We love this tent. When we bought it did not realise it was being discontinued, and wish we had bought the extension and carpet, however have been told that the Hartford XL footprint does fit and the Georgia L carpet fits. Just come back from Cornwall and had a lot of wet weather which thankfully none of it came in! Have only just worked out how to fit the porch groundsheet properly.
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: A.spillane  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 05/08/2009

This was our first tent while camping as a family of two adults and two children.( July 2009 )

During our first experience the Georgia XL was a dream to Pitch and gave us ample space when the weather was bad.

I was lucky enough to have also purchased the full range of available accessories for this tent,( carpet, footprint, extension, matching windbreak ). This tent has now been discontinued (end of season 2008 ) and accessories are very difficult to get hold of.

Tent showed no signs of leakage and stood up to some very strong winds.

I was a little concerned regarding the size of the tent and available pitch sizes, but have found that a quick phone call to the site prior to booking often addresses any concerns.

The tent extension was very handy as it allowed us to store items outside and also stopped any wind/rain entering the front sloping door.

The quality of the Outwell Tents is first Class with unique design features. The SIG eliminated all draughts in the main living area and sleeping compartments making it very warm and cosy with no condensation.

The tent does require a large vehicle to transport and is very heavy due to its size. As already stated it does take around 40 mins to pitch and may not be suitable for a quick weekend away.

In all a first class tent from a quality company, Only drawback is getting spares/accessories
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Mandibren  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 24/06/2009

Got this tent at an absolute bargain price of £100 it was sold as ex display but it didn't look like it had ever been up. What can I say I love it but it is a monster of a tent! The living area is huge and loads of space in the bedrooms, porch is a great size to and once pitched it looks great. There are a couple of bad points, I cant pitch it on my own its too tall and I am having to buy lots more equipment to fill it! Overall great tent not ideal for a weekend but for a family of 6 as we are its fantastic for anything longer.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Craftz  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 15/06/2009

I love this tent!

We have used this tent twice now and love the space inside. The kids have a bedroom each and we have the large bedroom. The living area is huge and considering all the other gear we kept in it (electric coolbox, table & chairs, clothing etc.) we still had plenty of room. The porch area was perfect for cooking.

The second time we used it (during May half-term) the heavens opened about two hours after it was pitched and continued to rain for the next 14 hours. Not a leak in sight! We felt very cosy hearing the rain bounce off the outside. I am also really please that I bought a carpet for it as it really adds a homely feel to the tent.

The only downside is the two-stage nature of pitching it; the inner tent first and then the fly-sheet after.

Otherwise this is a superb tent and we can't wait to use it again.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Kevin29  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 19/04/2009

Pictures 4, 5 and 6 are ours but unfortunately on our first trip out of 2009 the zip broke on the main door of the tent. Because it is a 2007 model it has been replaced with a Michigan XL which is no where near as spacious. The tent itself was warm, comfortable and plenty of space (there were 3 adults and 2 teenagers in it) and we are very disappointed that we have has to replace it.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Dizzy WO4  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 15/09/2008

I love this tent!

What can I say, it's large, with three great sized bedrooms.

The living area is cosy with it's SIG and the porchway ideal for cooking or soggy boots. Plenty of windows to watch the world go by.

It takes my OH and I 40 minutes to pitch.

Well worth the money for campers that like a little bit of luxury, just be prepared for other campers to take a look in once your done pitching, as they admire this great tent.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Jonnmedds  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 08/09/2008

Wow what a brilliant tent.

Our last tent was a Royal Biarritz 6. The Georgia just oozes quality.

I love the amount of windows it has, lots of light and ventilation.

Considering it,s size we found it easy to put up and not to hard to put away either.

If you buy a Georgia XL you will need a decent size car as the bag is pretty big.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Wheezsmith  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 28/08/2008

Reasons we love this tent:

Brilliant layout for us 2 adults, 2 kids (8 & 2). The kids each have a decent size bedroom and we have a huge bedroom. There's a huge central area - enough for a table and chairs and still have room for storage and area for the kids to play. We also purchased the carpet which was our best buy. Doors are the o-type and are brilliant - no longer have to take ages to tie them back just fold and stuff in the net. Lots of windows and 2 opposing doors - so the tent can be well ventilated. Porch area is big enough to cook in when it's raining.

Groundsheets are very well made and the only water came in was in the porch when we forgot to zip up the bathtub groundsheet.

Why I don't like it:

Inner pitch first - only problems with us when we have been taking the tent down - we have not managed to do this without it raining. Perfectly dry for a week and then rains on the morning of you leaving, so the inner is nice and dry and you have to expose it to the rain. We managed to work out a system of taking the poles out without taking the outer-fly off to minimise the amount of rain that got onto the inner tent.

The main problem we have had is with the poles. We pitched our tent in very hot weather in France in Aug 2008. We had problems fitting the pole sections together which we didn't find out until the next day when it had cooled down. The pole sections started to bend whether they hadn't been slotted together properly. Some very badly. We were able to repair and even move campsites during our stay - but it was an anxious moment taking the tent down and putting it up again.

We have since sent the tent back to our dealer Outdoor Megastore who have accepted that the poles were faulty and will be sending a replacement. I hope it was just a one off because would really like to replace it with same tent as really like the size of it. Although would like it to be a bit easier to pitch.

Would also like more hanging points for torches/lamps - there are none in the bedroom areas so leave torch on floor and lose it in the middle of night.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Tunstallwood  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 25/08/2008

Just bought one of these and have just come back from the Peak District where we spent the weekend in it, 2 adults, 1 15 yr old and a 7 yr old.

Loved the tent! As newcomers to camping despite one or two crossed words we managed to get the tent up (and down) without too many dramas and in around an hour.

Loved the space, we set up the 'kitchen' in the porch which also doubled as a place to dump wet wellies, we had the carpet down in the living space which really kept your feet warm we actually took our slippers with us haha it was great! No mud, water (despite a very wet site and rain both nights) or wind got in and we were very snug and happy!

Not bought the canopy yet but may be worth it to stop rain getting into the porch with it having a sloping door. Well worth the money only thing that prevents it getting a 10 is not being able to get hold of a footprint for it grrr
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Catsycat  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 22/08/2008

We love this tent! Just bought it and took it out for a spin to North Wales. Took us about an hour to pitch and can be a bit fiddly but is worth it. Withstood three days of Denbigh rain and didn't budge. It was warm and airy and our two small children were very comfortable.

The living area is the biggest plus. Plenty of room and comfortable for a big family to eat, relax and play in. The porch was practical and with large windows, pleasant to sit in. The extension is well worth buying too. Great for sheltering while cooking.

But what impressed us most was how well it stood up to a torrant of rain in Snowdon. Despite the porch being flooded out by two inches of rain, the living and sleeping area was untouched, dry and protected us all.

A fab family tent although perhaps not one for just a night here and there, you'd spend most of your visit pitching and unpitching!
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Sueg2  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 07/08/2008

Overall this is a great family tent. We have just returned from Devon where it stood up to some really harsh wind and rain. We saw lots of flapping tents but ours did not seem to budge. There is loads of living space, it has a very airy feel, and has a good sized porch. We had absolutely no condensation whatsoever and the flies and bugs seems to gather between the inner and the fly sheet so kept them out of the tent.

The only downside is that it's a bit fiddly attaching the fly sheet but once its all up, its very cosy and well worth it.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Johilder70  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 29/06/2008

The Outwell Georgia Xl is a super tent. The main living area is large, the bedrooms are a good size and the porch gives you an extra dimension, great for dumping that wet weather gear in! and shutting it off from the main tent.

It takes my husband and I approx 50mins to pitch.(we have pitched it in 40 mins)which isn't so bad when you consider it's size.

It is an inner up first pitch, (which I didn't want initially) but the inner is made from a similar material to the outer and dried very quickly when we pitched in severe rain, with no water ingress inside the inner. Having an inner with full sewn in groundsheet, does make it more cosy than single skin tents IMO. There are skylights and it the tent can be well ventilated with many door/window combinations.

The main body of the tent has flexipoles which makes it easier to pitch as they are easier to lift that the steel ones (we had the Nebraska XL which was hard to pitch due to pole weight with huge tent on top!). When the flysheet is put on, make sure that you attach the little velcro hoops on flysheet, (found on the underside if the flysheet near seams) to the poles. This keeps the flysheet in place. We missed them on first pitch!

The downside is that it is a large family dome and some sites are not accepting this style and size of tent.

I would strongly recommend ths tent.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Elfletcho  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 25/06/2008

This is a really great tent for family camping. The size and layout are perfect if the weather turns bad and provide a good living area. The only downside is the packed weight and size, you need a big car to transport it and big arms to move the pole bag around. It takes about 1.5 hrs to pitch and requires two people. Top Tip: do not peg the side annexes out until after you have the flysheet on.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

Add your comments on the Georgia XL for a chance to win a prize!

If you have used this tent please leave a review, or your comments for other visitors, and have a chance to win If you have experience of any tent please leave a review or your comments for other visitors. Many thanks!

You will need to be logged in as a member of the UKCampsite.co.uk Please log in or register here.


Manufacturer's Description

The manufacturer has advised that this model has been discontinued.

Features:

Temperature Gauge
Detachable "bath-tub" groundsheet for porch area
Stow-away O-shaped inner tent door
Sewn-in groundsheet
Organiser pockets
Mesh pockets in the inner tents
Fully seam-sealed flysheet for maximum protection
Lamp holder
Reinforcement patch on all stress points
Adjustable pegging points
Pre-attached guy ropes
Luminous guy ropes
Heavy duty Outwell zips
Outwell door mat included
Repair kit included
2 upright steel canopy poles

The NEW Georgia XL is a 4 room dome tent that has one large master bedroom at the rear and 2 small "kids" bedrooms at the sides. With enormous internal living space this tent provides all the family with a real home from home.

The oversize front porch allows room for everyday living in all weathers and with the large windows a great feeling of being outside with unrestricted views all round and with the additional rear door offers great access and comfortable ventilation.

... there may be more info on their website

Back to main tent index



Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

5675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014