Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Tent Showcase: SunnCamp Grange

Current model?
Max berths:
Tent weight:
Tent RRP on date added:
Bedroom inners:
Living area groundsheet:
Pitching Style:
Category:
Compare Tent Price:
Discontinued
6
60.00 KG

3
N/A
Fly first
Tent
Search


Average User Rating:
9.58/10 from 12 reviews

Viewed: 15154 times

Back to index

Manufacturer Images


Member Uploaded Images - click to enlarge

If you have a photo of this tent click here to upload it

User Reviews of the Grange

By: Lockie  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2002   Rating:   Date: 07/08/2012

We got this tent 2nd hand for peanuts (£100) and ended up selling our modern Vango as we love it so much.

First up is this tent is bulletproof in harsh weather.Ours has endured some serious windy and wet weather when others awnings/tents were being blown apart.This was a major plus for us knowing its not going to budge whatever is thrown at it.

Metal poles mean it is rigid once up even if its not pegged out.

The space is to die for,plenty of room to move around in but it doesn't have a huge footprint like some modern tents with guys everywhere.You don't need the guys if the weather is moderate with this beauty, the frame gives it its shape.

The cooking area works well and the place for a toilet and wardrobe are most welcome additions.

Downsides are the weight and no mesh door on the front but these really arent a big deal.It is a big pack size but we use a trailer anyway so it isn't an issue.

In the cold weather it stays warm and in the heat it stays cool,another reason we sold the modern tent.

We were unable to source a front porch for it but have cobbled one together using grabbits and a tarp which stops the wind and rain blowing in the front door.

All the space is usable unlike some dome type tents but the bedroom pods wont keep the glampers happy who require huge airbeds and more in a bedroom pod.I can see no reason why you couldn't use other pods as they are only clipped on anyway.

These regularly show up second hand so keep an eye out you wont regret buying one.
0 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Andyhutchinson  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2009   Rating:   Date: 05/08/2012

We have purchased one of these from a well known auction site. Fabulous price, thanks to the weather the week the auction was running. However it stopped raining the next week. It was described as little used. Its amazing, two bedrooms never used and they said whole thing had only been erected three times, I believe them.

Anyway, it put it up fabulous, roomy, Brilliant. I can totally recommend this tent to anyone, whether for a short weekend break or a long stay. Took about hour and a half from start to finish to erect and have tea well on the go. The only thing I wish is the same as another comment, I wish the poles were split into more than one bag. Blimmey they are heavy.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: 11April2012  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2006   Rating:   Date: 31/07/2012

I bought this magnificent beauty third-hand on e-bay, and I refuse to tell you how much for it is embarrassing. My sellers nick-named it The Country Club on account of it's size. Having endured a storm at the end of April 2012 in which I lost everything to a flood of more than four inches high and an Environment Agency instruction to evacuate the site immediately, this tent would not have prevented any of that but would have survived it. It will take some TLC to make sure it lasts and lasts, but that said, it will. There are two things I wish it had. The first is a ventilation screen at the bedroom end. The second is . . . Oh yes, the option to pack the poles into three separate bags rather than just the one, for easier lifting, but I can remedy that eventually, with the right fabric and my sewing machine.

I utterly love it, our very own 'Country Club'.
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Carol walker  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2001   Rating:   Date: 29/12/2010

Hi we have purchased the Sunncamp grange tent, it is fantastic. It stands up against any weather, it is spacey and dry. We have got a blow up sofa we take with us it is so big! The grange is a bit heavy when wet but does not take long to dry. We have been looking for a canopy for it could any one tell me were I can get one for the grange your help will be appreciated, Thanks a lot !
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Brettsy  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2010   Rating:   Date: 21/07/2010

What a beautiful tent. 2 minor criticisms only, one is the weight of the whole package, 60 kg is about right, more like 90 if wet. (hey it's the price you pay for this size of canvas tent) second is that the 3 double bedrooms are all separate, and only just big enough for a double air bed, I'm planning to use mine next year with the old bedroom unit from my previous frame tent, where the 3 bedrooms are 1 big unit separated by curtains - one of which I have cut out to make a big bedroom where I can put the bed in sideways and walk around it, and a small one for clothes storage. Other than this - which is really a personal preference thing, cannot fault the quality, ease of pitching and overall look and feel of the tent.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Vitagang  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 14/06/2010

We bought our 2nd Sunncamp Grange last year & can't fault this tent at all. We have a lot of friends who camp but must say that ours has the largest living area by far - it really is a home from home. You can fit all of your tables & cooker inside & still have plenty of room. On wet days we've had 7 people plus camping chairs sat in the living area. Its a strong tent and keeps the heat in a lot better than other tents. I love it.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Crazy Mark  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2004   Rating:   Date: 09/07/2009

An Excellent tent - spacious for the kids, even on those rainy days when all stuck inside. Kitchen area plenty big enough Also it has two wardrobes one we use as a home for the chemical toilet - the other for storage.

We got the optional sun canopy extension on the front which was a wise addition.

Excellent for a long stay as takes a couple of hours to pitch if hanging all the curtains, and canopy and sun awning. But solid as a rock when done.

The tent is a bit bulky so we need a trailer for the camping gear as with the tent , fridge, toilet, cooker and gas and water carriers we found that we needed the extra space when travelling ( either that or leave the kids behind!)

I would recommend this tent to anyone who wanted to camp in comfort providing they always camped for a minimum of 4 nights) We use smaller Dome tents for weekend camping.
2 from 2 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Diveccr  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 29/04/2009

We've camped in various tents for over 20 years and indeed, still have the first canvas tent we bought which is still in good order! That's more than can be said for any of the lightweight 'modern' tents we have owned.

The Grange is a good size tent and is strong enough that it usually doesn't need much in the way of guy ropes unless it's really windy. The utility area (kitchen extension) provides more than enough room for a fridge, gas cooker, electric oven etc. With another table next to these for food preparation. Also, being canvas, it 'breathes', meaning you can boil a kettle and cook in it without any condensation problems - you can't do that in a 'modern' tent!

We have found using two groundsheets 5.5mx3.5m works best, with the front one overlapping the back one and the bedrooms pegged straight through the back one, which keeps it all clean and tidy and keeps the draughts to a minimum.

Last time we used it was actually the first time we have erected it when there wasn't a gale blowing and boy did that make life easier! We had the whole thing up, pegged down and fully fitted out, beds pumped etc. Inside of an hour, which is good for a tent this big.

The only downside is that if you have to take it down in the rain, that huge canvas weighs a ton! I can erect and collapse it on my own if I have to when it's dry but it needs at least two people when it's wet! Well worth the effort though, when we're warm dry and comfortable, looking out through the rain at families confined to much smaller 'modern' tents and clearly neither dry nor comfortable!

All in all, if you're thinking about getting a big frame tent, this is a pretty good one to go for.
1 from 1 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: The Doofers  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 10/04/2009

After using several dome tents that we always seemed to have problems with in windy weather and spent ages trying to get the tension right, we both felt we wanted to go back to our children hood days and get a frame tent. We love it.

Downsides: Heavy and takes up a lot of room (purchased trailer !) There's a support pole right outside the door to the middle pod, making it slightly difficult to get in and out. Doesn't come with ground sheet which would be nice.

Upsides: Its optional to put up the wardrobe and toilet sections, we don't which gives us even more space. We only use 2 pods for sleeping in at present, but you can squeeze a double airbed into each. We use the 3rd pod for getting dressing in, storage etc as there's ample room to stand up and move around quiet freely. We cook in it, have spent days watching the rain coming down and other folk in their domes getting wet - we've stayed nice and snug. No problems with rain getting in. Takes us about 45mins to get frame/canvas up and in place, another 30min for inside. Don't always put up roof canopy,but if we do, once its up with the curtains the tent has a real style and cosiness about it. Lots of space for a table & four chairs inside and still room for more. Can roll up windows when weathers hot, but being canvas, stays cool. Would recommend this to anyone who wants a tent to last for years and stays strong in any windy conditions. Its just a good solid simple rectangle shape, nice neat and tidy. Also we like the fact there's not 100's of guy ropes to trip over - the frame does the work. A great tent, made to last.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Chris/lesley  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2003   Rating:   Date: 20/07/2008

The grange is the best tent we have ever used.

Its easy to erect after the first try and lots of space for the family and friends to sit when the the weathers a bit rubbish.

The kitchen and wardrobe/toilet area is very handy and easy to keep clean we've just spent a week in Wales and it rained most of the time the grange stayed dry all week

And dried very quickly the last morning of our holiday when the sun came out.

Plenty of windows gives the grange a very light and airy feel.

The only drawback we found is that the inner tents are a little on the small side we bought a larger one from our local dealer to accommodate our large campbed other than that we recommend the grange to everyone
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Ayersfamily  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2005   Rating:   Date: 31/05/2008

We have used this tent for at least 8 weeks of camping in the 4 years we have owned it. The Grange has withstood gale force winds, thunder storms, torrential days of rain (all this May Bank Holiday week in Devon) and kept cool in heat. It has never let a drop of rain in.

It is the best tent we have ever owned throughout our 15 years of camping, we cook in it with no problems of condensation like you get in nylon tents. The tent keeps lovely and warm in cooler weather as the canvas is so thick and the roof lining insulates it. The steel poles are extremely strong making it very robust in windy weather and the large windows make it very light and airy with plenty of ventilation on hot days.

We use the tent for weekly and fortnightly holidays as it takes around one and a half hours to erect and kit out the inside with the inner sleeping pods and putting up the curtains and roof lining. We use a large tarp ground sheet for underfoot as the Grange does not come with a ground sheet when you buy it.

The only gripe with the SunnCamp Grange is the weight and size of the 2 bags 65kg. You could use a small trailer if it won't fit in the boot of the car along with all your other camping equipment. So we use a roof box on our 4x4 which leaves space in the boot for the tent and any other large heavy camping equipment.

We have had numerous Frame, Dome and nylon tents over the years and this one is by far the best for inside space and keeping you warm and completely dry and for eating, cooking and sleeping in with a family.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: TheHootons  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2001   Rating:   Date: 08/05/2008

Probably Sunncamps most enduring design. Its been proven for years. Wherever we pitch we get people coming over and explaining that they started camping in one of these 20-30 years ago either with their kids or as kids!

The tent is loved by the entire family, it accomodates us well with loads of living space. It lends itself well to extended family stays.

At first it looks like a real bind to put up, but once you have found your system it takes less and less time. First pitches took us in excess of 3 hours start to finish. But Kat and I have it down to 45 mins these days. We found that although the canvas is heavy if packed up a certain way and then putting it up next trip is really easy.

Packs down to 2 bags which to be honest do take up a lot of room but again careful packing when loading the car (Galaxy) mean that the canvas and poles can be transported without the need to completely unpack the car to put up tent! A mistake made on our first trip.

It has so far endured, very hot weekends, severe storms and high winds with no problem. We will be adding a sun canopy this year. Properly looked after I hope this tent will see us through all our camping. The only downside is that it is not practical to take for anything less than at least two nights.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

Add your comments on the Grange for a chance to win a prize!

If you have used this tent please leave a review, or your comments for other visitors, and have a chance to win
If you have used any tent please leave a review or your comments, for other visitors, and have a chance to win a 2 night break courtesy of Camping in the Forest - camping in beautiful forest campsites in the UK.


You will need to be logged in as a member of the UKCampsite.co.uk Please log in or register here.


Manufacturer's Description

The ultimate Sunncamp frame tent. The Grange (doubles as a country club) incorporates all that is best in current frame tent design and technology. This tent is designed for no compromise comfort and features a built-in extension that runs the complete depth of the living area and accommodates the kitchen, wardrobe and toilet compartments. Sleeping accommodation is in three very large individual inner tents with an additional wardrobe compartment between two of them a full roof lining insulates the living area and it has a pelmet that matches the bright curtains. On the left side of the tent, both side panels roll-up as does the front panel. It has a washable base panel.

* NEW COLOURS FOR 2009*

Sleeps: 6
Pitching: Flysheet first
Poles: Steel
Inner Tent: Polycotton
Groundsheet: Sewn into inner tents
Weight: 60kg
Height: 215cm
Curtains: Polycotton on easyglide track


EXTRA FEATURES:

Three separate bedroom areas 2+2+2
Front ‘D’ door
Roll up front panel
Roll up side panel
‘Push out’ kitchen extension with curtains
‘Push out’ wardrobe extension with zipped access
‘Push out’ toilet extension with zipped access and venting
Roof linings included
Washable PVC coated polyester splash panel
Bedroom storage pockets


... there may be more info on their website

Back to main tent index



Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Coleman Event Shelter from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

2336 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014