Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Tent Showcase: Vango Typhoon 300

Current model?
Max berths:
Tent weight:
Tent RRP on date added:
Bedroom inners:
Living area groundsheet:
Pitching Style:
Category:
Compare Tent Price:
Discontinued
3
4.20 KG
£180.00
1
Bathtub
Fly first
Tent
Search


Average User Rating:
9.2/10 from 5 reviews

Viewed: 14451 times

Back to index

Manufacturer Images


Member Uploaded Images - click to enlarge

If you have a photo of this tent click here to upload it

User Reviews of the Typhoon 300

By: Fizzio123  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 08/04/2011

Great Tent!

I have used this tent with the kids as a 3 person (bit snug) and as a comfy 2 person. The front porch is a really good size, you can easily cook in it when the weather's bad, and still fit your kit in it + have an exit the other side.

The first time we used this, we made the wrong decision to stay an extra night when the rain started, we ended up being camped in a soggy bog! The tent was a little star, we remained dry, it was a great test of the ground sheet and I have full confidence in it!

We like more remote sites and needed a good strong stable tent, with this we've been up at Middlesmoor (Nidderdale) above Lofthouse with the wind howling. Other tents have suffered but not this one!

I bought this at the begining of 2008 for approx. £130 from an internet camping shop. Great value! And it is still looking good after approx 20 trips away.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Chin  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 24/08/2010

I absolutely love this tent. I've owned it since February 2007, used it regularly throughout the year from March to September. I've stayed some 40 or 50 nights under it, in about 9 countries over Western Europe.

It's not a particularly light tent so not really suitable for backpacking, but it's extremely sturdy and spacious. It is certainly possible to sleep three in it, and have done, although I normally used for two people - and it will accommodate a double airbed with ease.

Having two doors is absolutely ideal as there is loads of storage space. It also means that if you are very very careful and the weather is atrocious you can use the larger porch for cooking, whilst having the safety of being able to escape out of the other door if the unthinkable happens.

It was cheap to buy, and after using it for three years only within the last month is has shown any wear - you now have to be a bit gentle with the zips, and one of the poles is very slightly cracked.

The currently available version is a bit different and looks easier to pitch - I will be buying one of these next season.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Paul_M  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2007   Rating:   Date: 27/10/2009

This is nominally a three-person tent but we, older couple, bought it as a spacious two-berth! I think you'd need to be very skinny or very friendly to use this as a three-berth - or perhaps I'm just getting old!

The good things:

It is waterproof and stable in the worst of weather - and we've been out in some serious storms with it.

It doesn't get to extremes of temperature: we've been comfortable on both hot and cold nights.

It's lightweight and packs down very small.

The long guy-ropes are not really essential (but see next) so is possible to fit in to a fairly small area.

An odd little phenomenon is that if you lose one of the smaller poles it is still possible to erect the tent if you can attach the guy ropes to a tree or fence - I speak from experience having left one pole in northern Portugal!

Not so good:

I have erected it single-handedly but don't recommend it especially in wet or windy weather; I find it rather fiddly - you need to do several adjustments of the ground pinning to avoid putting a lot of stress on the inner pod and to get the outer to cover the inner.

Ours came without a ground-sheet - which I see is listed in the manufacturers' specs. It really does need one. We use a tarpaulin sheet from our four-berth tent which provides clean/dry footing in the entrance area (so that you don't get muddy/grassy/whatever feet getting into the sleeping area) and a small dry area outside (since you can't stand up inside the tent, this is useful when you're putting on shoes and the like!). We roll the ground-sheet up inside the tent when it rains to stop the tent flooding.

Overall it's a nice reliable tent without material problems - would, however, be much better with an attached groundsheet.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Mistamad  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2009   Rating:   Date: 21/06/2009

I have to say being a fussy individual this ticked all the boxes. Spacious areas front and back with exits both sides! Excellent storage for a 3 man tent and so quick to erect. (Sad I know but we timed ourselves and got the lot up in 5minutes including guy ropes!) Only slight gripe is the tent pegs which do not seem to the be the strongest so if on tough ground they've had it.

The mesh on the doors are excellent and retains the heat perfectly on a cold night (If a hot night always unzip the windows to leave the mesh job done) . We had an extreme storm one night and everything around us blew down in the night. Our tent withstood it all including the heavy rain.

Highly recommended and is a pleasure to use.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

By: Daisy_bell  Reason: I own(ed) one  Made in: 2008   Rating:   Date: 18/06/2009

This is a fantastic tent!

We chose it because we wanted a relatively lightweight tent that we could take abroad, but which still had some porch space for wet days.

After looking around at several options, this was love at first site after 10 seconds.

Its light and compact for packing and only takes 1 person 5 or 6 mins to put up. The colour coded poles make it easy for a numpty like me to manage and, so long as its dry, we leave the inner clipped inside so that's all ready to go too.

Its incredibly warm - just doing up the doors raises the temperature really quickly.

We also like the little touches which make it so easy to live with - large inner doors making getting out really easy, v. Fine bug mesh, clear mesh pockets for storing stuff, the big porch at the back for storage, front porch for sitting/lying around in.

We've used it for a fair number of weekends since buying it a year ago and it still looks great and hasn't warped/faded.
0 from 0 people found this review helpful, was it helpful to you?   

Add your comments on the Typhoon 300 for a chance to win a prize!

If you have used this tent please leave a review, or your comments for other visitors, and have a chance to win If you have experience of any tent please leave a review or your comments for other visitors. Many thanks!

You will need to be logged in as a member of the UKCampsite.co.uk Please log in or register here.


Manufacturer's Description

* Semi-geodesic construction self-supporting stable structure
* Flysheet first or pitch as one keeps your inner dry when pitching
* Flat external pole sleeves same structural integrity and stability as inner first pitch, but easier and quicker to pitch
* Powerlite 7001-T6 alloy poles precision and strength combined with flexibility and corrosion resistance
* Pole sleeve tension adjustment compresses pole structure and tensions flysheet for maximum performance
* Protex® TPU-RP 3000 durable, taffeta polyester, totally waterproof and reliable
* Seam taped flysheet and groundsheet applied to seams, creating a water tight seal
* Front and rear flysheet doors extra storage to keep main door clear, allows through ventilation from one door to the other
* Rain stop flysheet doors rain will not drop into inner when flysheet door is left open
* Flysheet door that can be partially opened as vent extra ventilation
* Flysheet door zip cover with rain gutter stops rain running of flysheet into open or vented door
* Crystal Clear windows in flysheet get an up to the minute weather forecast from your sleeping bag
* Flysheet vents reduces condensation and makes the inner environment more comfortable
* Anchor straps adjusts flysheet tension
* Attachment clips for suspending the inner tent easy assembly and disassembly
* O shaped inner doors maximum step over clearance and constant curve longevity
* Half mesh inner door with cover inner ventilation/keeps midgies at bay
* Inner tent pockets somewhere handy for your bits and pieces
* HD nylon 5000 groundsheet extremely strong, tough and durable
* Footprint groundsheet available allows flysheet to be used without inner as a lightweight shelter
* Stuffsac with compression straps to reduce overall pack size
* Repair Kit included for that unforseen tent emergency

... there may be more info on their website

Back to main tent index



Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

4581 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014