Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Loch Ness Highland Resort

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort Augustus > Loch Ness Highland Resort Reviews

Loch Ness Highland Resort
Glendoe Road
Fort Augustus
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH32 4BG
Tel: 01320 366257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: June To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Caz58 2 reviews from this member

 You have to check out of Motorhome site at 10am which is early compared to most other sites.

Couldn't wash up Properly due to the light above the sinks not working In the evening. Showers good and clean.

Close to pubs etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Peteringout 1 review from this member

 On the way North to do the NC500 in a Motorhome we (2 adults & 1 child) decided to stop off here. Had been before a few years ago and wanted a night in Fort Augustus which is a lovely little village and I occasionally drive past a few times a year and usually looks under occupied.

The website describes a new restaurant, shop and gift shop but these were not open. £35 a night for a MH on hard standing with EHU, no TV point or WiFi access is expensive, the most expensive over our 8 nights travelling ! I had tried to book ahead using their own web page on 3 occasions and twice using ukcapmpsite page and asked if their email was working as I had no reply? They informed me it was and it must be me! I have since emailed them twice using their web page to 'test' email but nothing back yet.

The site has good size pitches with great views of the surrounding area and has a large tent pitching area with picnic benches and a covered area. The facilities are modern, clean and a good sized site.

On arrival the receptionist couldn't find pitch details, took registration number, money and just said find a spare pitch and come back and let her know. We did this, then within about 10 minutes or so the warden came up in car asking us to show receipt as they didn't have any record of us being there!

Fantastic location, too much per night (hence it looking under occupied), reasonable facilities but not the best customer service. If they dropped price by a tenner a night they'd do really well! I might be back as I love Fort Augustus, but only for the one night if at that price. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Shakeymc 6 reviews from this member

 The website described it as having a new restaurant, shop and gift shop but on our visit, these were not ready. £30 a night for a MH on hard standing with EHU is expensive for what's on offer.

Close to Fort Augustus and all that it has to offer, the town is on the banks of Loch Ness and it's only a few minutes walk from this site.

The site has good size pitches with great views of the surrounding hills. There is a large tent pitching area with picnic benches and a covered area.

The facilities are modern with a good size MH service point, although the chemical disposal is situated quite a distance from these amenities on the other side of the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coastcamper 24 reviews from this member

 Appreciate that this site is a work in progress however feel that at £30/night we were charged for facilities that are not yet fitted out never mind open. No shop, restaurant, play area or any extra facilities.

On the plus side: very pleasant receptionist, excellent location in Fort Augustus, underfloor heating in the toilets/showers, level and large hard standing pitches.

However, no WiFi, 50p charge for hairdryer, recycling bin overflowing. And the staff (?owner) donít adhere to the 10mph speed limit around the site which results in a lot of dust.

However if you want a base to cycle/walk along the Caledonian Canal or take a cruise on Loch Ness; watch the boats traverse the locks or eat in the many cafes, pubs or restaurants, this site is in the perfect location. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jimagallan 11 reviews from this member

 Site is still in progress of redevelopment and has changed quite a bit in layout.

The advertised ďall dayĒ restaurant appears to be well behind on completion.

Generally the site has a good feel to it and neat and tidy. I would say though at £30 a night it needs a little more to justify the price tag.

Toilets as before a little small for the size of site and far too warm. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

 This site was previously called Cumberlands and only became the current name in early July 2018.

It seems to have had quite an upgrade - the facilities seem very new and it's set out very spaciously. I was there when it was quite quiet and although the facilities are new, I agree with previous reviewers that you may have to queue in busy times.

The site's trump card is it's location right on the edge of Ft Augustus which is one of the prettiest villages in Scotland - yes it's very touristy but I like that buzz. And there's quite a bit to do there

£30 a night was a bit eye watering - more than twice what I paid for other sites along the NC500 route - but you're paying for an excellent location.

You're also in midge country so remember your Deet spray.

I'd definitely go back to this one 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AlnMo 4 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for one night on our way down Loch Ness. Nice welcome on arrival, told to pick a pitch which we did, once set up we checked out the facilities - which were nice and clean but only three showers, three wash hand basins and four toilets (in the ladies), not sure if this would be adequate if the park was even half full also quite a walk if you were at the far end of the park.

Park is very handy for the village of Fort Augustus together with shops, eateries and the locks on the canal.

Larger motorhome drivers be aware that the service point could be awkward to get in and out of - may be easier to reverse out of - with assistance.

Only down side, no views of the Loch and that is what the tourists are looking for.

The charge of £35 per night (for 2 people) was maybe a bit steep, not sure the charges for families - some young families camp because they are on a budget. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is under new ownership, and is being redeveloped under the new name Loch Ness Highland Resort (previously known as Cumberlands Campsite). It is due to reopen towards the end of June 2018. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 First and foremost this site is right in Fort Augustus, just a couple of minutes walk to the beautiful flight of locks and Loch Ness itself.

Hard-standing pitches are set in a circle around the edge of the site - it is massive, when we stayed only a couple of vans and tents but it could hold an army and still have loads of room.

The hard-standing pitches around the edge have ehu - didn't see any of the grass field for tents. Water taps on every other hard-standing, drive over motorhome waste near the facilities. There are a few notices, common sense i. E. Don't put disposal bbq on the grass, clean up after dogs - it didn't feel at all regimented, to be fair the opposite everyone quite laid back and very amiable.

Loos and showers look quite new, 3 showers and 4 loos in ladies. Water piping hot with brilliant pressure. There are signs saying floor slippery when wet - it very much is a bit lethal. Whilst there are signs they don't stop you slipping - needs matting or a new covering.

There is wifi on site, included in price which worked well. The cafe / bar wasn't open and we were told by reception it hadn't been open at all this year.

We found this a fabulous place to stop to visit the locks and lochs. We did intend to stay another night and cycle on the Great Glen Way but were told by reception the campsite was closing the next morning as it had been very quiet over the last week or so. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lord MacLeod 1 review from this member

 I took my 10 year old granddaughter to Scotland for a week. We decided to make it a camping trip and found Cumberland campsite online.

What a great place, we did not need to book a pitch and that was no problem. They have showers and toilets that were always clean. There was also a washing area to do the dishes with hot running water. The whole campsite was tidy and seemed well run. It was very close to the village and we went there several times as well as driving up to the castle and other places of interest. She had a great time and wants to go back again. This is an excellent place for a family to stop over. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Loch Ness Highland Resort?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort Augustus      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1274 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement