Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MHfamily4 7 reviews from this member

Perfect location for visiting Legoland. Plenty families staying for the same reason so lots of kids to make new friends. Taplow train station is 4 in a taxi or a 40min walk (with kids) and is on the main Reading to Paddington line. Under 30 gets you unlimited train, tube & bus travel for the day(comes with a 2for1 london attraction book).

Supermarket is approx the same distance as train station, there are no local shops within easy short walk. There are beautiful walks by the river Thames including the locks for boats right behind the campsite.

Campsite is lovely, very close to the motorway but the noise didn't disturb any us. Small playpark for the youngsters & plenty fruit trees to explore. A vending machine with snacks & drinks at reasonable prices was welcome.

The toilets / showers / bins / waste disposal all adequate. The wardens are brilliant & couldn't be any more helpful. 22 per night incl electric hook up was ok for a good size pitch of our choice (mainly level grassy places sheltered by large hedgerows or trees).

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paolo31 1 review from this member

Looking for a site at the last minute I came across this site. Booked over the phone with very friendly assistance!

Great location with easy access to windsor even bray or maidenhead.

The noise from the motorway and aircraft didn't cause us any problems.

Arrived and was shown to my pitch. Very clean well run site. All facilities available even a microwave too.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mikeyd 9 reviews from this member

From the time, we arrived and throughout our visit, the wardens Paul and his wife were very helpful, they offered useful information such as where to find the cheapest car parks in Windsor and family friendly restaurants we could visit with our 10-year-old daughter.

The site is next to the M4 and there is a background hum of traffic but we stopped hearing it after a while.

We chose this site for its easy access to Windsor castle and the direct trains to London.

The site is well looked after with clean warm shower blocks. Some of the pitches have a hedge border, the area we were in did not and the pitches were quite close together.

We would return.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Melbushell 5 reviews from this member

Lovely little site. Very well maintained and looked after very well by the wardens - very friendly. Pitch nice and level and close to amenity block - which was spotless. Quite a lot of noise from motorway but you learn to block it out after a while.

Great site for visiting attractions - legoland only 4 miles away so a great base. Also relatively close to the Roald Dahl museum - worth a visit if you have kids - although probably couldn't spend a whole day there. Would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim Collins 1 review from this member

Lovely site run by friendly and helpful couple - they were very supportive after I had a cycling accident and damaged my arm! The site is well maintained and very pleasant, a cosy size.

The traffic noise from the M4 may annoy some but I found it oddly therapeutic! There are some lovely walks from the site along the Thames, and the countryside is beautiful and quintessentially English!

There are numerous takeaways which deliver to the site (menus available) and there is a nice Harvester a 20 minute walk away along a lovely bridleway. Recommended, and I hope to visit again soon, hopefully without any cycle / wasp related trauma.!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janet138 1 review from this member

Turned up without a booking was given a very nice welcome. Site was really nice well maintained. Toilets and showers were spotless lots of hot water nice wide cubicles. Was given a choice of pitch staff very friendly and helpful.

A good base for visiting theme parks. Two walks from site along the Thames it's a shame the trees weren't cut back you couldn't get full view of all the posh houses.

The only draw back to this site is it's very close to the M4 I would suggest investing in the ear plugs on sale at site shop.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cadbury109 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site to enable us to visit Legoland and are planning on returning in the summer.

When we arrived we were given the choice of two pitches and opted to be next to the play area. There were lots of children on site which was great for our girls (aged 5 and 8).

The toilets and showers were spotless throughout our stay.

The noise from the motorway and aircraft didn't cause us any problems.

The wardens were really helpful and provided us with a map of the local area with shops, pubs etc marked on.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bighammerfan 16 reviews from this member

Upon arrival we were met by the warden who showed us 4 different pitches to which we could chose our favourite, we chose under the conifers by the M4, although the M4 is quite noisy you soon were able to get on with your day of relaxing and forget it is there

The toilet block was brilliantly clean and was checked twice a day morning and night. There is some great walks along the Thames wear comfy shoes / trainers but the local public house is a tad too expensive so bring your own

All in all a huge fat 10 out of 10, wardens were fantastically helpful they loaned us an electrical hook up for our fridges, and nothing was too much trouble. We were left to enjoy our private holiday time but we knew the wardens were near by if needed.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

I don't normally bother mentioning campsite owners, because I expect a degree of professional friendliness, and would only mention them if they are exceptionally good or bad. The owner of this campsite is exceptionally helpful and pleasant.

From the moment I called to book our stay, to the moment we reluctantly said goodbye, I was very impressed. I saw how he handled other campers' questions and he gave the impression that he really cares about his guests getting the best from their stay.

He provided info on local shops, garages, supermarkets, and takeaway delivery. The campsite had so many unexpected extras, like a fridge, 2 freezers, microwave, iron and ironing board, vending machines, washing-up liquid despensers by the sinks, wooden picnic tables and free showers. All this, and we only paid 16 a night, which I thought was incredibly good value, considering the quality of the facilities.

The site itself, is next to the M4, and it is noisy, but perfectly convenient for Legoland and all the rest. It is attractively laid out with hedges, shrubs and trees, very level and dry. I would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hmjdesigns05 6 reviews from this member

This place is amazing! the owners were extremely helpful facilities spotless. One of the best sites we have used so good we have booked again for this July. Very central for Legoland and London and other theme parks too. Was amazed you could order from local takeaways and have it delivered too. My son liked the little park but loved the puddle near the road better came back black on his bike but had the greatest time keeps asking to go back. Met new friends and loved the fact of how child friendly it was. Can't wait to return

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3568 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019