Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Ingleton > Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site > Reviews

Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site
Thornton In Lonsdale
Ingleton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LA6 3PD
Tel: 015242 41432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 106 Reviews
                10/10 from 106 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (28)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Glennbev 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a night at this new campsite and feel we would like to leave a review. The pitches were excellent and you didn't feel on top of the next camper and we had plenty of room. The toilets and showers were obviously immaculate due to the newness of them but they were extremely clean. The walk into Ingleton was an easy 10 minute walk and the Harvester shop just across from the campsite, although slightly expensive was convenient and pleasant for a Sunday morning breakfast. All in all very pleased and will definitely be returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susanmary 1 review from this member

 Many thanks for a lovely weekend at Thornbrook Barn site the first of many we hope. Congratulations to all the family who have obviously worked very hard to get the new pitches and the shower and toilet block finished for the beginning of the season. We are looking forward to spending as much time as possible on our seasonal pitch. Good luck for the future you have certainly developed a top quality facility in a beautiful part of the country. Sue and Tim 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Donnyo65 3 reviews from this member

 I know this is an old review but I felt that I should convey our experience as we intend to re-visit the site after a break of over 4 years. We visited just after the site had opened. The site itself was a little bleak but to be fair it had only just been built and this will change as trees grow and the site matures.

Every part of the site was spotless and maintained to a very high level, the highlight being the toilet block - the facilities are by far the best I have seen on a caravan site - bar none! The owners have clearly done their research and made a fantastic facility.

We have just bought a caravan after a break of a couple of years and are hoping to test it out in the spring at this site. We had a standard pitch as this was all that was left but it was in no way inferior with new electric hookups and a decent area for each unit.

Just a few things to bear in mind - the pitches are hard standing and, at the time, were made of quite large stones so we didn't put our awning up but I'm sure this has been addressed and the pitches settled.

There is a country type shop at the end of the lane - the sort of thing that is made to extract money from the Shearings Blue Rinse brigade - walk on by as the lovely village of Ingleton is but a few minutes walk further on. There you will find all you need and some lovely pubs to eat in.

Also in Ingleton is the start of the waterfalls walk which is well worth doing. Please note however that this is not free and the ticket guy will catch you at some point (He got us right at the far end!). The top end comes out near White Scar Cave which, again, is a must see as well as having a lovely cafe.

Avoid the pub round the corner from the site (Unless its changed hands or they have found a proper chef recently), the food is truly awful. My wife's dinner came after mine and was preceded by a fire alarm in the kitchen - it was burnt (and the fire alarm really did go off just before they served it!)!

This does not reflect at all on what is a lovely well kept site or the area as a whole and we are looking forward to going back this year along with two of my siblings and their caravans. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lolchris 21 reviews from this member

 On arrival my husbands face was a picture, as we approached the pitches we found a building site with diggers etc. No worries, the owner came up to us full of apologies, the re-development of the site had incurred delays.

It is a great site with hardstanding and electric hook up with excellent views.

3/4 miles is a great pub, just 1 mile down the road you can walk into Ingleton and visit the Ingleton waterfall trail. If you like walking with breathtaking views of the waterfalls this is a great day out at reasonable prices.

Just across the road is a Country Kitchen, with shops, a deli, a butchers and an excellent cafe.

The site owners are working really hard, including the elderly father and not forgetting the 16 year old son to provide a gem of site in a fantastic area.

I cannot wait to return to the site to see the new development.

All I can say is thank you for making us so welcome, for all the information on walks etc and we would like to wish you all the best for the future. Hopefully we may be making a booking for next year.

Mr & Mrs Down 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scartwright32 1 review from this member

 Stayed on this site for one night on our journey home from Scotland. It is a lovely site which has been well thought out. Great views from the site too. We thought it was so good that we have booked to return in August. The leaflet given to us by the owner indicated that there was a scenic drive to the village Dent which we completed, however, it was a very narrow, twisty road which we enjoyed. Dent itself was lovely. Looking forward to going back to the site and doing more exploring. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Me nt wife 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site, but it wont be our last. In our opinion this is how all cl sites should be, spacious, tidy and all the recycling in one place away from the pitches.

The views are fantastic all though there was a little road noise from the A65.

Having spoken to the proprietors at length it became clear that attention to detail and to get it right first time was there goal. They have plans to extend the site and if there first attempt is anything to go by this will also be to the same standard.

As we were only there two nights and with a heavy snowfall on the first night we didn't get to walk the waterfalls. A short drive into Kirby Lonsdale And there are plenty of shops, supermarkets and a nice river walk to Ruskins View.

Just one last note, on our arrival the owner gave us an information leaflet, Great care has been taken in producing this information and it gives more than enough information about the site and area. As Arnold said I'll be back ! 


Date of Visit: January 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Romeo 19 reviews from this member

 Really lovely little site, only 6 pitches but all well set out. Site kept immaculate, clearly very well looked after. Just off the the main road, so easy to get to but equally a very peaceful location.

No toilets or showers but that wasn't a problem to us, especially for 13 a night, however there was everything you needed with regards to water, toilet disposal, rubbish etc.

Only a 10 minute walk to Ingleton water falls which is a lovely walk, approximately 4 1/2 miles to walk round it.

I noticed a shop and small cafe at the end of the road which could be useful, although we didn't need it.

All in all this is a lovely site and I would be happy to recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LesNick 3 reviews from this member

 A really super, small select site, kept in immaculate order, 16 amp hook up, well placed pitches. A very peaceful, scenic setting, walking distance to village/pub and waterfalls walk in Ingleton. Fresh bread etc at the end of the lane, 300 yards away. The services were sufficient for us, toilet waste disposal, fresh water, rubbish disposal. Ideal site for our needs, open all year ( a bonus)and deserves it`s excellent reviews. We will return without a doubt. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debbieha 7 reviews from this member

 I cannot praise this site enough. Ideally located for the Dales and Lancashire. It is quiet and such an easy tow! The Country Harvest shop is ideal for food and gifts.

The Marston Arms in the village is lovely and the food superb. Ingleton is a short walk or even shorter drive with the waterfalls walk.

We used this site as a base for my other half undertaking the Yorkshire 3 peaks.

The site is on about a 30 min drive from Horton in Ribblesdale for the start point, We will be visiting again.

Only slight point I wanted to raise but will in no way stop us visiting again is that there is no dedicated dog walking area. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Paulboyles 5 reviews from this member

 We booked late and fortunately there was a last minute cancellation. A wonderful small (only had 5 spaces) campsite located not far from the main road, but far enough not to hear road noise. Great View of Ingleborough and only a short drive into Ingleton. No shower or toilet block, but as we had our own toilet, it didn't matter. The owners were amazing and even let our youngest son feed the lambs in the field adjacent. Very quiet site and highly recommended. If you're wanting entertainment, playground and loads to do on site, then this is not the site for you. If you want peace and quiet, beautiful views and easy access then this is the place to be. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Thornbrook Barn Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ingleton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57968 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement