Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cashel Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Glasgow > Cashel Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Cashel Camping In The Forest Site
Loch Lomond
Rowardennan
Glasgow
Argyll   (Browse area)
G63 0AW
Tel: 024 7642 3008  or  01360 870234
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 168
Open: 01/04/2022 to 17/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 103 Reviews
                8/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharonhardiman 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Cashel for three nights in August and had a lovely pitch overlooking the loch with stunning views.  Great sunsets, fabulous weather, 1st rate facilities and staff who clearly take a pride in their site.  Would definitely stay again in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happybunny 7 reviews from this member

 This site is wonderfully situated right on the banks of Loch Lomond and has quite good facilities (shop, playground, loos.) and very helpful managers. It's only disadvantage is that is it somewhat dominated by seasonal "touring" caravans that are so entrenched they couldn't tour anywhere - right down to non-folding hardwood furniture permanently set out in the awnings. This means that it is very difficult to get a lochside pitch unless you are there all summer. Many of the "seasonals" also run generators, which rather spoils the peace when they all want to watch TV.
HOWEVER - the site management are keen to change this situation, and make the site more friendly to visitors who don't have the money to take over for a whole summer, so this situation should improve over time.
Summary: Fantastic location. Well worth a visit. "Seasonals" domination should be improving.
 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suebea 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site in a brilliant location. The staff there were wonderful and accommodating. The facilities were clean and tidy and never had any occasion when I couldn't get in the toilet or shower.
It is a large site with two toilet blocks it even has a little cafe / shop but never felt crowded or that you were too near the pitch next to you. Only downside was the migies but have been camping places where they have been worse.
Only thing missing was somewhere we could refreeze our ice blocks couldn't even find somewhere to buy ice locally and as we camped during hot weather could have done with some ice. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kemcp_uk 3 reviews from this member

 Great campsite that gets busy but that doesn't seem to matter. We pitched our tent in the wrong place and the owners didn't make us take it down and move it! The washing and toilet facilities were clean and close the tent pitches. Access to Loch Lomond is a few steps from the tent. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liam42 1 review from this member

 Fantastic! A friend recommended this site to me and I'm glad they did, the location is second to none, we camped almost on the beach giving us unrestricted views across the loch, the site was very busy with a large amount of kids running around, this suited us fine as our 6 yr old made friends and disappeared before the tent was even up! The site is ideally situated for stopping off during the West Highland Way or for just chilling out for the weekend, I walked into Rowardennan and back along that section of the "way" which took around 3 1/2 hours (including a brief stop at the hotel for a refreshment!) this has to be the most picturesque part of the walk in my opinion. We will definitely be visiting again and would recommend the site to anyone whether you have kids or not. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mishy306 1 review from this member

 While out on a drive I came upon this great campsite, it has stunning views of Loch Lomond and thats why it appealed so much to us. If you want a quiet weekend away then this is the place for you, we camped right beside the little stream that runs through the site. My partner did get eaten by midgies but then thats what you expect in scotland lol. Shower facilites were good, lots of space in them. I didnt use the site shop as we had everything we needed with us. Thinking back thoough, we bought ice lollys which were very reasonably priced. Theres a pub a little up the road. We walked part of the West Highland way and the views were beautiful. This is a great site and I'm off camping this weekend and yep, im going back to Cashel. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Knk12345 4 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights at this campsite, it was very busy (but it was a bank holiday weekend). The toilets / showers were new and kept clean, they also had hairdryers and were free to use. The shop / cafe had limited open times with the cafe selling filled hot / cold rolls and chips. The shop only stocked a couple of things behind the counter and cold drinks. 
It cost us £10 per night for our tent. The site is right on the shore, but priority for loch side pitches are for tourers, however we could see the shore from out pitch, great campsite. 


Reviewer: Jennyhurst 5 reviews from this member

 September 2005
Lovely site, prices were outstanding - the cheapest of the 5 campsites that we stayed in. Camped on the shore of the Loch so had spectacular views. Disabled facilities (toilet/shower etc) very good and paths ok for my electric and manual wheelchairs. Owners very friendly and helpful- even when we disturbed them out of hours when we lost key to accessible toilet! Wouldn't hesitate to go back 


Reviewer: Honcho6000 1 review from this member

 July 2005
We stayed at Cashel for 3 nights, although I wish it had been longer. This family run outfit is great, clean facilities, friendly, accommodating and helpful staff. The campite is right on the water's edge and only a stone's throw from the magnificent Ben Lomand. By far the best campsite along the shores of Loch Lomand. If you want entertainment or boat hire, just drive or walk a short distance along the east road. Top site, loved it and would definitely go back 


Reviewer: HairyMcLary 2 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Very, very busy, since we visited during the end of the Summer holidays. It was overcrowded and we were left with the rockiest ground to camp on. However, the walks nearby are very nice, the children's facilities are good, and we were very close to Loch Lomond. Also, the staff were friendly, the facilities were clean, although the showers were cold, and there was a cafe and a shop. 


Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cashel Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cashel Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cashel Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glasgow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4391 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement