Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gairloch Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Gairloch > Gairloch Holiday Park > Reviews

Gairloch Holiday Park
Strath
Gairloch
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV21 2BX
Tel: 01445 712373
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lumatrix 5 reviews from this member

 'An amazing view over Loch Gairloch' - it has but only if you are in the front 8 or 9 pitches, so it's well worth trying hard to get one of these pitches especially if you plan a long stay. WiFi was available - did not check out children's facilities.

Very good, clean and new shower and toilet blocks. One thing I particularly like about this site though is the placement of facilities. On checking IN OR OUT, Water, Grey water and Black water are all together so servicing your vehicle is the easiest thing. As it says there are a large range of local amenities available with weird and wonderful souvenir shops. Staff helpful but not often available when we were there as there only appeared to be one guy. Perhaps other staff were on a camping holiday somewhere? They have to sometimes. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tamaraw 2 reviews from this member

 Spent two thoroughly enjoyable nights at Gairloch and can't speak highly enough of the site!

The wardens couldn't be any more helpful (really went above and beyond sorting out my wifi problem) and the site is kept in excellent condition. The toilets and showers were always spotlessly clean, as was the dishwash area.

I had a grass pitch and was lucky enough to not have anyone right in front of me on one of the hard standings to spoil the view out over the loch - when I go back (and I definitely will!), I'll be going for a pitch with a guaranteed view!

Location is great too - minutes from well stocked shops and a great base to explore the north west highlands. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wsseaman 67 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night. Cost was 20 for 2 adults, 2 dogs and electric which we felt was a little high considering we were staying late Sept.

Wi-Fi was an eye-watering 5 a day, which needless to say we did not take advantage of! A nice friendly site, pitches are grass and hardstanding and all level.

We were lucky to be located at the front of the site which gave us a lovely view of Gairloch beach.

The few shops in Gairloch are easily walked to from the site.

We would definitely stay here again.  
Management response: The cost per night of your stay was 18. 50 not the stated 20. You paid 18. 50 on another Camping Park in late September yet made no comment about it so I believe you may have muddled our prices with another park. For information you could have stayed for 14 however you had a hard standing (2) and electricity (2. 50). We have this menu of charges to ensure our tent guests do not pay for facilities they cannot use.

Wi-Fi is not 5 per day it is 5 per stay. For the majority of our guests this is the fairest and cheapest way to contribute towards the cost of running our system.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future for a little longer (and maybe we will sort out some free Wi-Fi for you).


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Judi2708 1 review from this member

 We stayed here with our grandson last year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The site is in a lovely location with views across the Loch. The wardens Colin & Marion were extremely friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them and the facilities were always clean and tidy. A shop which stocked all provisions is at the bottom of the drive with a 1st class butcher 5 minutes walk from the site. We have a large tent and this was catered for with no problem. We loved the site so much we have booked for another 2 weeks this year. Cannot wait to see Colin & Marion again - Callum says he is bringing his football again Marion! see you soon both. Xx 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jamesl17 7 reviews from this member

 I visited this site on the way to Poolewe which is just around the corner and fell in love with the place.

The site it is reasonable well cared for and the shower blocks is adequate and clean. The pitches are not huge and are not all level. The wardens are friendly and helpful and they simply love dogs. I managed to get a pitch by the wall overlooking the sea and the views were great. There is plenty shops and a pub and Gairloch itself it a lovely little jewel on the Scottish coast. We like it here so much that we stayed extra days.

For spectacular scenery in a very nice town this is the place to visit and it is quite reasonably priced. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LMD28 6 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site this is. The wardens Colin and Marion were excellent hosts and would do anything for you to make your stay one of the best.

The shower block was always clean and tidy with loads of hot water. The pub at the entrance was very nice and friendly serving really good food.

Would have no hesitation in recommending this site to anyone who was visiting this wonderful part of scotland.

The walk to Gairloch harbour is lovely and the beaches some of the best in scotland. The boat trips are a tad expensive especially if you don't see what you want, although the boat trip itself was very good with a knowledgeable skipper. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sue Welford 7 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 7 nights at this excellent campsite. The toilet and shower blocks are kept beautifully with plenty of hot water, and warmth. The showers are properly set up with room to keep your dry clothes dry - which is not what you always get. The laundry room and washing up areas are both well equipped and the small freezer in the laundry area is available for ice blocks.

The scenary in this part of Scotland is breathtaking and there is plenty of walking both along the coast where you can see numerous sea birds and marine mammals, and inland. The village has all the amenities you might want within easy walking - restaurants, small supermarket, good quality butcher etc. A great place to stay.

However - as we were warned by Colin when we rang before going - do be prepared for wind. Our tent was fine but a few were not even though the wind during our stay wasn't strong for this part of the country. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mick_a_bailey 14 reviews from this member

 What a site, what a couple who run it, cant do enough for you, and they actually live on the site and use all facilities. Two toilet/shower blocks, cleanliness second to none. Covered dish washing up area. Laundry with washers/dryers and even an ironing board. Washing line too! Minutes walk from a village centre where there is everything. Fish & chip shop, at the rear of 'na mara' restaurant, restaurant which is open Sundays. Excellent butchers up the road with a vast array of meats, fish and vegetables. 'Hillbillies' which has a bookshop and coffee shop, try the 'Yeti'. Surf shop towards beach front. Local fish monger attends on Thursdays. 40 minute walk from the most beautiful beach, close to the golf course. The best pitches, overlooking the bay are a couple of pounds dearer, but worth the spend. (No6 is the best, but don't tell anyone) 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Willave 7 reviews from this member

 Spent a week in this wonderful location. The site is well managed and all the facilities are spotlessly clean.

There are a couple of places in the village, which is only minutes walk away, where you can purchase fresh food and milk. There are also a couple of pubs / restaurants in the village and in particular the 'Myrle Bank' hotel which does lovely meals at very reasonable prices, with pleasant and attentive staff (to be sure of a meal it is best to book, as it is very popular)

The area has the most superb scenery and if you are as lucky with the weather as we were you will enjoy it immensely. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lochnessmonster 14 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 very enjoyable nights at Gairloch. Warm welcome from pleasant and friendly wardens Colin & Marion who kept all the facilities immaculate.

Beautiful views from the site over Loch Gairloch towards Skye and Torridon mountains.

An adequate selection of local shops and hotels. Inverewe Gardens is only about 6 miles away.Worth a visit.

Don't forget to tune into 'Two Lochs radio' which is the UK's smallest local community run station.

Hope to return again soon! 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Gairloch Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gairloch Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gairloch Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gairloch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1637 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement