Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gwithian Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > Gwithian Farm Campsite Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX
Tel: 01736 753127
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 262 Reviews
                9/10 from 262 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  262 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jonford 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for what was going to be just 1 night, but quickly extended that to 2 nights when we saw the place. Quite possibly the nicest campsite we have ever stayed at!

The plots have been 'lovingly' put together with nice planters in between. They are also good size plots. We went out of holidays, but could imagine it being a nice location even in holidays, due to the plots being split up you wouldn't feel like kids are everywhere.

The beach is probably about a 10 min walk off the site, but it is a really nice walk across a field and then onto the sand-dunes. There are loads of rabbits in the field, which make it even nicer to walk across. Facilities are second to none. There is a huge new building split into male/female areas with plenty of toilets/showers. They are included in price too. Reception is really nice, selling basic products too. A fish van comes on site once a week, selling fresh fish. You need to drive into St Ives (bus is 12 return for 2 people and takes approx 30mins each way). Bus stop is right by the pub just opposite the camp site. St Ives is really nice and got some great eateries and views. If you are staying around St Ives, you must stay at this campsite - you wont be disappointed! (not much on site for kids other than small play area and location to beach) 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BillBeech005 7 reviews from this member

 A top of the range site, we have just had three consecutive long weekends there and have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves,

The beach is within easy walking distance so you can park the car, and apart from shopping for supplies or visiting the many local attractions, you can leave it there.

The children will love the beach, with its miles of sand and the large rock pools. The pub across the road is excellent and we have had fine meals in there.

There is a bus service outside the gates and two very good supermarkets (Lidl being the nearest and represents excellent food at a great price).

The facilities are beyond reproach and are part of what gives this site such a high AA rating.

As for the owners and staff, Mike and Clair are very friendly and make you feel very welcome and are ably supported by the cheerful staff.

The pitches are generous and are all within easy reach of the immaculate toilet block.

This site just gets better and better each year, we cannot recommend it highly enough, for families, couples, surfers etc. Its all here.

We will be back soon with the kites, kayaks and fishing tackle! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dazandkim 1 review from this member

 We returned from a 10 day trip to Cornwall and stayed at this site after reviewing many other sites. For us this was by far the best. When we checked in they gave us a map of the site and the beach along with three different places on the beach you could walk to for food and drink.

The owners and staff are kind and helpful. The toilet blocks were spotless and hot water was a plenty. There are hair dryers for free. We stayed over Easter and never had to wait for a shower. There is a separate bathroom with a tub for parents with small children. Laundry on site and very clean dish washing area.

While we were there the fish and chips van came twice a week and we even saw an ice cream van come by a few times.

In the office there are basic supplies and the prices are not over inflated as some sites are. You can get fresh eggs from their chickens and lovely bacon too.

Free wifi was great cell service not so much however texts could be sent and received. They also charged your phone or iPad. There is a room for ice packs and a place to wash your wet suit.

The pub across from the site was great and dogs were more then welcome. There was a beer festival on and we had a great time.

As other people mentioned there is a slight slope on many pitches, enough to drain water but not enough to complain about. While we were there in rained and rained and we never flooded. There are wind barriers between the pitches and when full grown will ever be better.

Someone mentioned security and even though there wasn't a security gate we felt more then safe.

We don't have children so can't comment on the child friendliness 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vickisters72 3 reviews from this member

 Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

The site is beautifully laid out with neat hedges separating each pitch.

When we stayed there was a small matter of a storm on the Easter Monday. Our tent was slightly damaged, however the staff were extremely helpful and provided us with spare poles etc to mend our tent.

The toilets and showers are very clean and the water is nice and hot.

The shop was equipped with everything you need and more.

The walk to the beach is lovely and the beach is very clean. The walk past Godrevy point to see the seals is worth it.

The site is nice and clean and to hear the waves crashing when you wake up in the morning is very relaxing.

A very pleasant stay and we plan to return. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tlck9 32 reviews from this member

 Originally booked for one night but decided to stay for two. It was a lovely site. Showers were hot and kept clean. There are quite a few, I suspect during summer it would be quite busy, but in sept it was nice.

The one thing that struck me was how many hooks you got in the toilet/shower block they were everywhere, something which is over looked normally, as you don't have enough to hang clothes and towels, but here that wasn't a problem

The site accepts dogs, and there is a part of the beach that dogs are allowed, however in the evening, after 7pm dogs are allowed on the whole beach I believe

There is free wifi which is good.

On certain nights they had a fish and chip van which was good. We went to the pub which accepted dogs,

The shop even out of season was stocked and even at the end of the season the site was well kept. The pitch was a decent size and the owners were very helpful.

Would I stay again, yes, definitely. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Routemaster 2 reviews from this member

 A brilliant Park, beautifully laid out with natual screening between pitches.

We stayed with two other motorhomes and they allowed us to utilise 2 large pitches for the three of us so that we could be together.

There was plenty of room and meant we were close to the facilities. These were more than adequate for our stay, I can imagine they get very busy when the site is full.

There was a relaxed atmosphere and all the staff were friendly.

A short walk over the dunes reveals an amazing beach.

I'm sure we will revisit in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kevin15 6 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a week camping at Gwithian Farm & it is an excellent site.

The pitches are spacious & there have been screens / windbreaks thoughtfully positioned around the site, in between pitches that when mature & fully grown will be even better.

Most pitches are on a slight slope

The showers & toilet facilities were kept spotless & the showers have room to move around & dry off properly unlike some other sites we have been on. The only negative would be that it is a long walk to the toilets if you are at the top end of the field. The same would also apply to the dishwashing area, very good but a long way from the top of the field.

They have free wi-fi on site which is a great idea.

The mobile phone reception on the site is very poor, sometimes we could not get a signal!

Another camper said that they were not happy that there was not any security on site, ie anybody could drive in or out of the camp. Unlike other sites where you had electric gates / barriers to get through to enter sites. But this did not bother us, and the owners cottage is by the entrance to the site anyway.

It is a 10 minute walk to the beach, the beach is three miles long, Clean & unspoilt, There is lifegaurds at the one end of the beach.

There is a pub opposite the site which we did not go in but was told that it was very good & the food was not bad either.

The nearest supermarket is in Hale, a 5 minute drive & there is a Lidl or Coop. The shop on site sells basic items required & newspapers etc

The site is in a great position close to many attractions, we visited Lands End, The Minack Theatre, St Ives, Penzance, St Michaels Mount, Falmouth, & Newquay, all within 30 minutes drive of the site 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Site is in a nice location near to the sand dunes, the beach and the pub. Pitches are a very good size and the site is well looked after.

The pub was good value and also dog friendly. It's advisable to book as it gets quite busy. The beach has a dog friendly section throughout the year and restrictions on others parts during the summer months.

The only downside to the site is that it was a long walk to the washrooms. We'd probably only stay again, if we could book a bit closer to the them, as a couple of minute walk during the night isn't great. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toptrout 3 reviews from this member

 We had a really lovely stay at Gwithian, the site is very well kept, clean & friendly, family oriented, with a good size pitch and in a lovely location. Within walking distance of the beautiful beach but you do walk near tall cliffs - my only point for raising this is that whilst we were there a little dog jumped off the cliff, which was very sad - so keep your children & pets close! There was a field for children to play on & an area with rabbits etc for the kids to see.

I recommend this site to everyone who wants to stay in this area & definitely would like to return one day. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ziggy65 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week in August, the owners/staff are so friendly and welcoming. We had a fantastic EHU pitch and from what we saw all the pitches were good and had plenty of space for caravan, awning and car.

The toilets/showers were always spotless and considering it was one of the main holiday weeks we never had to queue for the showers.

The site is in a fantastic location; opposite a pub, a short walk to the beach, a short drive from Hayle and St Ives.

There is also a regular bus service to St Ives and Newquay that stops right outside the site. 


Previous     262 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gwithian Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gwithian Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Gwithian Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Ives      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3413 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement