Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Parkers Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Ashburton > Parkers Farm Holiday Park > Reviews

Parkers Farm Holiday Park
Higher Mead Farm
Ashburton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7LJ
Tel: 01364 654869
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 31/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sel_mate 2 reviews from this member

 We decided to go to this site after reading the great reviews previously posted and we weren't disappointed.

Site was very easy to reach off the A38 and we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We were even escorted to our pitch and shown the amenities. The pitch was plenty large enough and level and the shower block was always clean.

The bar was very well priced and it was very welcome to find they had an inside room where we could go and sit with our dog which was a lovely change from huddling outside! Although we didn't eat in the bar / restaurant the food looked lovely and everyone around said how nice it was. The Friday night quiz was enjoyed by all.

It was a very pleasent walk into Ashburton where there were friendly pubs and local shops and although we didn't explore much only going for a short break there looked to be lots to do in the surrounding area. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jessicasdad 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for a week at the end of June. After a good run down from the North West we reached the site before lunch. The staff we met were very helpful and once the paperwork was sorted the ever so helpful warden took me up to the new superior pitches and after watching me back in to spot, informed us of all the facilities.

The superior pitches came with water, waste and tv,and had a great view of the dartmoor hils in the distance. They are hard standing and as this is the first year with them they are still doing minor work to them, but of no distraction or distrubance to us.

The shower block was clean and plenty of hot water. Our one and a half year old loved the Family bathroom. If one complaint and a minor one not enough hooks in the shower cubicles or shelf space to keep clothes dry!

The shop had all you needed if you ran out but the major supermarkets are only 15 mins away at most, or the small village of Ashburton has 2 small store and is only a 15 minute walk away! There is also a small caravan dealers in Ashburton if you find yourself wanting anything!

The bar looked great although I only visited it once as it only opened at 6.30, just as we were getting our little one ready for bed!

She loved the playgrounds and farm animals and even got to feed a baby lamb.

We even had good weather! well except a really windy nite! I think being on the top level of the site we felt the wind even more.

If you want a central location for South Devon I'd certainly recomend the site.

The Pub on the way to Newton Abbott did serve great food all day and had a little childrens play area. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lilyladies 2 reviews from this member

 We would just like to say a very big thank you to Parkers Farm for helping us on our first trip out with our caravan. We had only just collected it when we arrived at Parkers Farm and, although arriving late, we were met by a very friendly lady and gentleman. The gentleman even helped us reverse and unhook the caravan in appalling weather conditions.

The shower block was spotlessly clean and the pitches were well maintained. All in all a very pleasant, but short stay. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trixie75 2 reviews from this member

 Our first camping trip as a family, and very pleased we found this site! Pitches were roomy, and being tiered you didn't feel boxed in. The toilet/shower blocks were clean and we never had a wait (though we did use the family room). One thing I would say is that the family room was a little small and would benefit from a bench or similar to keep wriggling toddlers off the wet floor when trying to dry them.Oh, and more clothes pegs to keep clothes off the floors.

We didn't use the onsite shop, but from what I gathered they can order in papers for you and seemed to have most things you could want/need.

The play area was a huge hit with our two and a half year old.She actually wandered off when we were packing up and was found by the gate saying she wanted to go to the playground! I would like to have seen a few more toddler toys like a little slide or swings but she was more than happy with the trampoline.

We went to the bar twice, but sat in the toddler room with our little one. This was a great idea and had lots to keep her entertained - a less protective parent could happily leave their little ones in there while they had a meal or drink at the bar. I would like to have seen the 'toddler room' kept for toddlers, though, as there were quite a few boisterous older children messing about in there and there was apparently a games room for older children. The restaurant did a lovely sounding range of meals at a really good price, all available as takeaways. Next time we'll be sure to try them out and give me a night off the camp stove! Husband loved being able to go to the 'pub' - we put little one in her PJs and went down with her toothbrush to stop off on way back, and others did the same.

The animals were a great hit with us, especially the lambs though we didn't make the farm walk unfortunately. You could hear the road, but it only bothered us the first night and wouldn't put us off going again 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tiadevil 1 review from this member

 Great site, toilet facilities very clean. Wardens Shirley and Cliff were the best wardens ever, very helpful and would help even on their days off. All staff are very friendly. Plenty of things for the kids to do. Bar and restaurant, beer cheap, food great. Shop on site with bread, milk and most of the essentials. Weather was not great but lots of places to go. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Taliesintraction 10 reviews from this member

 We use this campsite as a stepping off point for Brittany, catching the early ferry.

As such we don't tend to use the facilities beyond the showers and toilets which are of a high standard.

Seems to be things for kids going on and the staff are OK.

Prices to someone used to camping in France are a bit steep but that's a reflection of the shorter season I dare say.

The restauraunt we have used once and found the food dear and menu bland.

But, as a transit site it is worth using if only for the cheaper crossings it allows you to use. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Captain Insano 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our 1st camping trip at Parkers Farm in South Devon. The site itself was excellent. Despite a little initial confusion concerning our booking, all the staff were extremely friendly & happy. We had booked last minute due to the poor weather & on arrival were led to the H field just off the main park. We had electricity for lighting & cool box but were positioned on a fair slope with sheep behind, cows to the side & the constant traffic on the A38 across the valley. We are used to traffic noise & didn't find it too obtrusive above the sound of our heater. However, our friends in their neighbouring tent, who live on a quiet road, found it to be very irritating.
The site itself is immaculate with warm clean showers & toilets. The family bathroom could be a little bigger but we were very impressed with the facilities overall. As we were only there for a couple of days we didn't get chance to use the bar or restaurant but judging by the number of cars outside it looked popular. The children's play area & neighbouring animal petting area were delightful.
We ended our 1st camping trip having to take down our tent in torrential rain which proved to be an experience I do not wish to repeat. The tent is still drying, hung out in the garage!
I would go back to Parkers Farm but not in the "H" field due to the slope & noise. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purekejo 5 reviews from this member

 Campsite is very large and as someone else said the tiered fields and hedged areas does make it a very nice place to stay.  Shower/WC blocks are fantastic. Weather wasn't the greatest when we stayed and a nice hot shower in the morning really got us going. Kept very clean and tidy as well, which again with bad weather really helps. Staff were very friendly and the on site pub is one of the best we have visited. Some form of entertainment planned each evening and no disturbances from what we could hear. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BAYES 1 review from this member

 My family and I have just returned from visiting Parkers Farm for Whitsun Week.  We had a fantastic time.  This camp site is one of the best we have been to.   Everything was perfect.  The toilet facilities were immaculate and so was the washing up area.  The staff were so friendly.  The Warden's do farm walk's which were great for the children and us parents.  They last between 1 and half hours depending on how many people attend.   You have the opportunity to see the cows being milked and the children get to collect the eggs the hens have layed (and keep them) and also feed the lambs, pigs, chickens, ducklings, horses and many more other animals on site.   Our 3 daughters aged 12, 10 and 7 thoroughly enjoyed their stay and did not want to come home.  On the site they also have excellent park facilities with trampolines which kept them bouncing best part of the week.  There is a club house which also does home cooked food which I can recommend.  We found this very reasonable.  They also had activities every night both earlier on for the children and later for the adults.   We were so impressed that we have already booked up for next year.  They also allow dogs on the site, we also took our puppy of 8 months who had a fab time.   They have a large area for dog walking which certainly keeps you fit as it is up a long hill but once you are up there the views of Dartmoor are overwhelming.  You are central to most places we visited Teigmouth, Torquay, Prince Town on the moors and so many more.  I would definitely recommend this site.  Such pleasant people a lovely family run business and certainly take alot of care for us campers. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Twinklepuss 15 reviews from this member

 This is probably the largest site we have stayed at so far. However, it is terraced and has dividing hedges so does not seem so large once you are on your pitch. The pitches are level and very roomy. The only down side for us was that we found the traffic noise from the A38 (just over the site boundary) very intrusive both day & night. We didn't eat in the bar/restaurant but the food looked good. The prices for the drinks in the bar were extremely reasonable. Although the site is large, we found the toilet & shower facilities more than adequate. They were always spotless & there was always plenty of hot water for showers & washing up. As we went in August, the freezer for our ice blocks was much appreciated. There appeared to be a lot of "regulars" on the site & everyone was very friendly.  


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Parkers Farm Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Parkers Farm Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashburton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1435 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement