Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Riverside Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
21 New River Bank
Littleport
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 4TA
Tel: 01353 860255  or  07813 523960
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 49
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charlies Mum 2 reviews from this member

The campsite facilities are basic but clean. Shower/toilets facilities could do with updating. A garden shed provided loads of local literature/information and a good selection of games and books available to borrow.

There is a busy road between the site and the river, there are no views of the river from the site due to the very high river banks.

The Ship Inn on the way to Downham Market is superb with lovely home cooked food. Also Caitlins sandwich shop in Ely is ideal to pick up a fresh sandwich to takeaway. If going to Cambridge use the park and ride service as parking is very expensive in the city centre.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim+v 5 reviews from this member

Site is Quiet with no kids!

Statics and permanent caravans surround the edge of site. We were woken as early as 7am by people who live on site setting off for work. The gravel track through the site is not able to be used before 7.45am, but there is a car park for those leaving earlier and it was those that woke us.

The amenities were adequate and the provision of a fridge and freezer for free use onsite is a brilliant idea. There is also a bait fridge for anglers, again free.

The pub is ok but we found although food was good the menu was limited. The indian restaraunt first on right in village is really good! and is about 20 minute walk from site.

You cannot pay site fees with credit card--- cheques or cash only

The grass is cut relentlessly every day.

If you want to fish on the river which is very handy (only 50 metres from site) you will get charged 5. There are no evening tickets or concessions.

The chickens are more than friendly!

The owners dogs roam the site at will and frequently dump. Your dog must be on lead at all times onsite.

The site is handily placed for touring but is far from level in parts.

If you are staying for more than 7 days you are required to move your tent to stop the grass from getting marked. We had to do this which wasted a day of our hol.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wendykinzel 4 reviews from this member

What a fabulous weekend away, this site is peace and tranquility, a very friendly small site located on the edge of the river. The owners were so nice, they couldn't have been more helpful, believe it or not we forgot our pegs, they came to the rescue.

Spotless ablutions, a great little shed containing all the tourist information for the local area and a small book exchange, they have thought of everything, they provided a fridge and freezer for everyone's use which was fabulous for this hot weekend. What I loved the most was no children, the only noise to be heard was the birds.
We will be definitely going back.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rogerangie 22 reviews from this member

All the facilities are ok. Site not level but also ok.

What no one has mentioned is all the statics! The perimeter is statics all round and the noise from them was not acceptable.

Not the friendliest site we have been to.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Team Noone 6 reviews from this member

Just got back today from our first ever camping trip (since being able to choose where we could go on holiday anyway!).

This site was perfect for us, small, immaculate, in the sticks and quiet.

The owners are friendly and willing to give advice when needed.

We were very worried about using communal showers and toilets, but these were clean and smelt nice so there were no problems there. In fact the shower was probably more powerful than the one at home!

The site is next to a very straight stretch of river which for the athletic there is a 6-7 mile walk along to get to the Cathedral in Ely. The river is also followed by a train line (in fact 2!) but apart from the occasional hoot from them during daylight we did not hear them.

There is a basic pub within staggering distance (The Blackhorse) which offers basic meals. The town of LittlePort (or is it a village) provided enough amenities to supply us with a cooked breakfast each morning and BBQ in the evening!

Our only criticisms of the weekend was the friendly cute chickens decided to fertilise the grass right outside our tent which made the first morning steps to the showers a bit precarious!

If we ever come back to this area though we will definitely use this site again- especially as there were no screaming kids about!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Golfpag 5 reviews from this member

Hello visited riverside in April. A nice clean tidy site. The toilet block was very clean as was the sink area. It was situated just across road from river, about 400yds from a pub and about 10-15mins walk past pub to small village and a few shops. Road noise not too bad but the road was partially closed so don't know how bad when road is open. If you like walking or have dogs you can walk miles along the river. I would return in future but would ask for pitch away from road.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mid20scouple 2 reviews from this member

Me and my husband spent Easter bank holiday at this site and were really impressed, it's quite small and adults only which means it's lovely and quiet. Its very well cared for with clean well kept facilities, including a fridge and freezer for camper us,e which was a bonus.
Its location on the Cambridgeshire fens just out side Ely is also really good both for local walks or just sitting by the canal / river and watching the boats.
Also if you get the chance Ely is really worth a visit especially when the markets on. The local village of Littleport has several shops including coop, greengrocers and butchers and also loads of takeaways so getting food was easy. We also ate at the local pub only a five minute walk up the canal from the campsite and the food was good. PS the chickens are very friendly too!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kargus 36 reviews from this member

Well what a little gem of a site, very quiet if you want peace and tranquillity but also very very friendly people and the owners just as friendly and helpful. Free range eggs available from the chickens on the site, so you cant get much fresher. Grass pitches but very level, put it this way we put the level on the side as usual in the caravan and didn't have to adjust any legs or use blocks. Showers very clean, and I didn't want to get out of them. River just across the quiet road about 350 yards, you can walk for miles along the river, dogs loved it, it is deep though so be careful with dogs as it is very difficult to get them out, I wouldn't recommend they swim. Birdwatchers paradise on the river, dog poo bags also provided on the steps up to the bank. Pub is only 400 yards and the meal we had was lovely. Will definitely go back, and explore further. Ely is a lovely place to visit, and the Cathedral is quite something. Cant fault the place at all.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NiLi6263 16 reviews from this member

What a great little site.

Pretty near perfect for a quiet relaxing break.

5 minutes walk from the town of Littleport. 3 minutes to the pub on the banks of the river or 30 seconds from the bank of the river where you can take a relaxing stroll along the banks to take in the country side or just sit and relax and watch the passing river traffic.

ELY is just a short drive down the road where you can take in the sites and admire the cathedral.

We only came for the weekend but will definitely be back later in the year with our bikes. The roads are flat and quiet and are perfect for a leisurely ride and exploring the local countryside a little further.

The site itself is flat, nicely spread out and very clean. The toilet block is adequate with toilets and showers.

If it's a weekend break or a fortnight's stay, if you're looking for tranquillity and pleasant surrounding with the opportunity to explore plenty within a close proximity, you won't go far wrong staying here. The pitch price is reasonable and with little extras such as picnic tables dotted around the site to sit and enjoy lunch / dinner this really is a little gem of a sight.

Don't take our word for it, come and see for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Canvasquivers 20 reviews from this member

Arrived at the site in very heavy snow storm. Given a warm welcome and if we had not had out own 4x4 they would have offered to tow our van onto pitch. I watched them as this did this for others.
Facilities are a little back dated. We were there mid feb and no heating. Would not wish to shower with no heating in sub zero temps!
An all round good site though, well kept and nice and tidy. Statics are placed around the outside of the site so if you want to be positioned against a hedge etc this is not poss.
Nice local walks and local pub. A good site really and we will be going back. I did get the impression though that some people were living there in the vans! Don't forget this is adults only!

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2537 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019