Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Silverdale > Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park Reviews

Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park
Middlebarrow Plain
Cove Road
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 0SH
Tel: 01524 701508
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 104 Reviews
                9/10 from 104 Reviews

Photos (18)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  104 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Castleton 12 reviews from this member

 Excellent clean site, ideal for those who like walking, cycling or dog owners as the site is set in a huge woodland area. Pitches are spacious and fully serviced and you have everything you need on the site such as the pool, shop, bar, takeaway etc. Don't worry about the other reviews mentioning the narrow access roads, they are like motorways compared to some of the country lanes in Cornwall! Critiscisms, well the toilet blocks got busy at the weekend and could do with being bigger (2 showers for about 20 - 30 caravans) and more dog bins need to be provided in the dog areas. 


Reviewer: Biker_babevtr 2 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Excellent site. Very clean, staff very friendly. Nice food in restaurant, good choice and resonable prices. Site has a well stocked shop, laundrette with front loading washing machines, toilets & showers are spotless, bar, small games room for the children, 2 parks and a swimminmg pool, spa pool, sauna, which is included in the price of your pitch.

The surroundings are beautiful, with the beach a short walk from the site. The site is well laid out, usually you can choose your pitch on arrival so you can go where suits you best. A cycle is recommended for children who want to get around the site as it is quite large but this is a plus, plenty of room for the kids to play, we don't mind walking so it suits us fine.

Now to the price, at first glance it may seem expensive , we paid £29 per night for 2 adults and 2 children, this included electric hook up, tv socket and own water supply. Awnings are £3 extra. But we found that this was well worth the stay. You get what you pay for and this site is one of the best we stay on. We just returned home but i shall be booking again very soon. Enjoy Holgates :-) 


Reviewer: MANDYT1027 15 reviews from this member

 April 2005
Lovely park, super pool (although water was quite cold!) with sauna and steam room. Nice cafe / restaurant serving good food happy hour 5-6pm meal and a pint only £4.50 and home made desserts cabinet at very reasonable prices.

Lots of room for kids to play/ explore and staff very friendly. Visit nearby Morecambe for a day out. Narrow winding road (single track at times) approach to site although we never encountered any problems. Only downside to this site was how expensive it was £29.50 per night out of season ie; April 2005 is the most expensive we have come across and only real extra was the pool, we have been to sites as scenic and roomy without pools for less then half the price.

Still, would go again although only in winter when you would really need the pool to entertain the kids.
 


Reviewer: Calldebbie5 2 reviews from this member

 February 2005
On 12.02.05 we picked up our first caravan from Glossop caravans, for the past 3 years we have had a folding camper. A couple of weeks previous to this I had booked onto Holgates Caravan Park for our first 'caravan' holiday. It was the best choice I could have made. We have just returned today (18.02.05). What can I say apart from it was fantastic. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. One member of staff came to our caravan at around 10pm one night after our electric blew. (faulty plug on our TV, oops). Whilst at the caravan I asked him about my water pump which wasn't working, he asked for the instruction book, found the relevant page and fixed it! I was ready for taking it back thinking it was a fault. It later turned out that the man who came to our caravan was the owner of the park. What a lovely man.
The toilet blocks were spotless as were the pot washing area. There is a designated Disabled pitch next door to one of the toilet blocks. The walk from this pitch to the reception area etc may be a little far for the walking disabled or a bit hard for pushing a chair (a little hilly) but a scooter would be fine. (I have disabled parents so look out for all this.) I am sure if you spoke to a member of staff they would have a solution even for this.
Carnforth is 6 miles away for supermarkets and Arnside 2 miles for smaller shops. The wildlife on the park is great, squirrels, pheasants and my son's saw deer on one of their walks not far from the park.
Thanks to Holgates Caravan Park, we will be back again. We have also stayed at Parkcliffe (sister site) in our folding camper last year, that was great but Holgates is better equiped for Children who like entertainment. I am so glad of the chance to write a review for people to read and hopefully go to and enjoy the park as we have. 


Reviewer: Audia6 8 reviews from this member

 January 2005
We have spent quite a few weekends at this site and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break with a touch of luxury thrown in. This site is well run and exceptionally clean. The road into it is narrow, but we had a freind with a 38ft American motorhome with us and he didn't have a problem at all getting to and from this site. 10 out of 10 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2004
Reviewer: Mosty3 4 reviews from this member

 The pitches are 'go and pick one' so an early arrival is recommneded. There are 3 pitches which overlook the sea so be early, that said even the pitches next to the loos are fine, all good sizes and are all hard standing and section off with plants and trees etc.

Take a long ariel lead for the direct signal and every pitch has water (standard screw on brass tap connector). If you forget you can buy cable from shop on the site.

This is a top quality site, you will be hard pressed to find better, will be going back again. Its only fault is the roads to the site can be a little (narrow and twisty) but only frightning if you not a very good driver as there is plenty of passing points.

The bar and restaurant are excellent, with reasonable prices, and the bar area is children free, heaven, ha-ha. Ours grown up and gone. Bit pricy site fee, but like my old dad said you get what you pay for, buy cheap, pay dearly. Most of what every body eles has said about the site is correct, except they do have a night warden he some times drives around in a large 4x4. If you go here you will not be disapointed 


Reviewer: rumensg 7 reviews from this member

 4th July 2004
This site is excellent. Dont worry about the price per night - you get what you pay for. Awnings are tricky to peg down but we managed with normal pegs - eventually.

Be aware that the pitches are 'go and pick one' so an early arrival is recommneded. That said even the pitches next to the loos are fine, because they are all clean and covered with plants etc.

Take a long ariel lead for the direct signal and every pitch has water (standard screw on brass tap connector).

The shop has all the bits you need and the food is very good in the restaurant- although a touch on the dear side but hey hopefully - and in our experience - it keeps client standard high!! 


Reviewer: Barry Fisher 11 reviews from this member

 October 2003
Set in 106 acres of parkland and woodland, this is probably one of the most attractive sites in the UK. The main business is 350 good quality mobile homes, generally owner occupied, and mostly hidden from view in nicely landscaped areas in the wooded hillside slopes.

In the open parkland are 70 generously sized pitches for tourers, with each pitch having its own water, drainage, electricity and tv point. Two good toilet blocks serve the tourers. All pitches are hardstandings, which are gravel laid on stony ground; erecting an awning, whilst not impossible, requires patience and commitment. Well behaved dogs welcome.

On site is a fine leisure centre – swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, and gymnasium. In the same block is a well stocked shop, launderette, games and soft play area, bar and restaurant/café serving for most of the day. Main meals are reasonable `pub type’ meals.

Outside is ample space for family ball games, and two small adventure playgrounds.

The quality of the site is reflected in the price charged – up to £29 a night for tourers.

The site is in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), and walking within half a dozen miles of the site is a real pleasure. The small estuary town of Arnside is two or three miles away, depending on whether you take the coast walk, over Arnside Knott hill, or through the woods. In the opposite direction is the adjacent village of Silverdale – again a varied set of walks round the coast, or via inland footpaths. Both places have a small selection of shops, one or two pubs, but no banks.

Nearest full sized supermarkets (Booths and Safeway) are at Carnforth, about five miles away, where the station is always worth a `Brief Encounter’.

Kendal (`Gateway to the Lakes’) is fifteen miles to the north, whilst the more down to earth city of Lancaster is 12 miles to the south; adjacent Lancaster is the somewhat faded resort of Morecambe, but well worth a visit to see the affectionate memorial to Eric Morecambe on the seafront.

Silverdale has its own railway station for local and long distance destinations, and the local shuttle bus working from the station has the camp site as part of its route. (Take the train across the viaduct to the largely undeveloped Victorian resort of Grange-over-Sands.)


 


Reviewer: Sue

 July 2003
Whilst I would echo most of the comments re cleanliness and quality of the park, for a park of this nature (and cost), there are some areas that could be improved:

There was no baby change shelf or area in WCs.

Shop, bar & restaurant prices were very high given already high pitch fees.

I saw no evidence of Wardens during the day or (more importantly) evening & soem people were very thoughtless re the volume of radios, barking dogs etc.

There was some noisy construction work directly behind us, a JCB laying foundations for a static, - the equivalent of a hotel being built outside your Spanish Hotel!

I would also advise newcomers that road access to Holgates is via a very narrrow B road, with mo room for 2'vans to pass at some points 


Reviewer: Steve Knight

 July 2003
Just returned from a weekend break at Holgates. One of the best sites we have ever stopped on. Swimming, Pitch & Putt, Adventure playgrounds, the list is endless. Toilets all immaculate. Would recommend anyone to visit. 10 out of 10. 


Previous     104 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Holgates Silverdale Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Silverdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3807 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement