Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Wild Rose Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Appleby In Westmorland > Wild Rose Park Reviews

Wild Rose Park
Ormside
(lake District)
Appleby In Westmorland
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA16 6EJ
Tel: 01768 351077
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 280
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Light Infantry 10 reviews from this member

 For a change we made a break from the norm of, all the way to the Lakes or, all the way to Scotland. We decided to phone the Wild Rose and book for a two night weekend break to save on driving time. I must say it was the best decision we have made as tourers.

This site has everything. Swimming Pools (2), Restaurant, A shop though small that would compete with any Asda/Camp Shop combined, Excellent grounds and facilities, flowers that look like they have been painted especially for a visit by the queen, dog walks.literally everything. The site is well run but not regimented like some sites can be. I recommend if you have children to ask for a pitch around the play area and swimming pools. My son who is 7 said on the way home "That site was "Mint"" and we both agreed with him.

I would strongly recommend this site to anyone. It is a must to visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zoe Farrow 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site with excellent facilities. Very clean toilets and showers.
Well stocked shop and even a restaurant. The actual site is lovely. Have been about 5 times now and will continue to go back again and again. The swimming pool is great and have facilities for children with a pool table and amusements 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kahns 38 reviews from this member

 This could possibly be the best site we've stayed on so far; it's certainly one of the most professionally managed.The wardens were not only friendly and helpful, they were also highly visible, making frequent checks of pitches and facilities. Shower blocks were excellently maintained and frequently inspected so were kept perfectly clean at all times.

The hard-standing we were allocated was 100% level. ( Why do so many sites spend a fortune in providing hard-standings but don't bother to ensure they're level?)

Our pitch included hook-up, fresh water supply and grey-water drainage. In fact, the pitch was almost like having our own little rose garden to sit in. And other touring pitches looked much the same.

Tourers share camp facilities with seasonal 'vans, statics and cabins, each in their own space. The shop is excellent for almost anything you'll need.

The place looks ideal for kids as well. Strongly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dfer 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a week here with our two small children and really enjoyed it. A guy drove my husband round Donkey's Nest in a buggy so he could choose a pitch which I thought was very nice and thereafter always said 'hello' whenever he saw us. Toilets very clean and I didn't see any queues for showers although I didn't use them myself. The on site chippy was nice and popular. We didn't go to the restaurant but menu looked ok. Outside pool was very cold but kids loved it. They also loved the two playgrounds. Nowhere to go unless you have a car but we did find a small pond where we caught some tiddlers [yes we threw them back!]. All in all a good week and would definitely go back.  


Date of Visit: February 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kazrover 5 reviews from this member

 My family and I stayed here Fri Feb 17th for two nights. The site is set in beautiful surroundings and has top rate facilities. However we were awoken at 8.10am with the sound of extremely huge bangs which made the caravan jump and the children petrified. (it was like something out of jurassic park) we then heard the sound of artiliry fire. This continued for 3 hours about every half hour. The children (and I must admit us adults) were quite worried. This also happened on the Sunday morning too and at regular intervals . We had other campers bewildered with the noises too. We were then informed (by someone living on-site) these noises were from a nearby army training ground. (for which there was no mention in the brochure or when we booked in at reception).

The site I must say was of the highest standard and the facilities were top. what ashame about the training ground (oh and did I mention a very busy railway line nearby) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lion_tamer20 18 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night break on Wild Rose. It was our first visit and I was impressed with pitches and toilets and showers. We woke up to look out of the caravan at the snow on the fells it is very picturesque. An excellent aite to stay on we would definitely return here. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Stig 2 reviews from this member

 Spent two weeks there beginning of August. Would agree with/recognise many of the comments submitted in reviews to date, eg. the showers in donkeys nest are too few in peak times, so pay the deposit for the main area. Thought the staff could have made a bit more of an effort to encourage the 10.30 curfew on noise. Also agree with one review about children being up too early (poor parents not the site's fault). Would not recommend having a pitch near the washing up block. We were astounded at the times people do it ! Regularly from 6.30 am, once at 2.00 am !
Pitches were a bit sloping, and you can't pre-book a pitch. Avoid the lower ones. We had severe rain one evening and some folk at the bottom of donkeys nest ended up in a b&b for the night. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Asa.teff@tiscal 1 review from this member

 Brilliant campsite, but needs more showers in Donkeys Nest. Also wasn't aware of freezer for ice packs until final day. Please make it more obvious! Kids loved pool and playground. Very quiet after 9.30 which suited us with small children, but lots of kids about from about 7 in the morning . Loads of info on where to go and what to do locally 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Hp4020 1 review from this member

 First camping trip with my family, and were we spoilt. This site was spotless, the earlier comments re the showers were accurate, however, we stayed in the Donkeys nest camping field and were offered a key to the main shower block (2 deposit)and in the male side there were 14 showers, had the pick of them each morning after I strolled past others queing at the other block.

We had toyed with the idea of buying an electric fridge, but decided to persevere with ice pads and cool box, it was fine as at the washing up area there is a courtesy freezer, just pop them in a bag with your name on. kids playgrounds superb, pitch and putt, good, swimming pool, freezing but stopped it getting over crowded. On site shop reasonable priced, resteraunt bit pricey, take away excellent value. Would recommend, book well in advance !! 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Mcgarryfam 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from spending 2 weeks at wildrose. Thanks to the lovely weather the kids a wonderful time at the outdoor pool. The only thing I could really fault about this site is the minimal number of showers in the toilet blocks located in the touring fields. It was ok during the week but at weekends there was always a queue for a shower, the ladies only had 3 and the gents 2, this was to serve a great many campers.

Like other people have said the shop, restaurant and take away are all very good although the restaurant closed at 9pm at the latest. Our children expected there to sporting activites for them but apparently these dont start until the English schools break up, please remember that scottish schools break up sooner and there were many scottish children on site. Be aware that there is no public transport links near the site if you want to go anywhere you need to go by car.

In all a lovely kept site and well worth a visit. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Wild Rose Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Wild Rose Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Wild Rose Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Wild Rose Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Appleby In Westmorland      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5371 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement