Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandwich Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sandwich > Sandwich Leisure Park Reviews

Sandwich Leisure Park
Woodnesborough Rd
Sandwich
Kent   (Browse area)
CT13 0AA
Tel: 01304 612681
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 187
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jrocher 3 reviews from this member

 Very nice toilets and showers and it was really handy having a co op supermarket within walking distance. Only down side was that the site was very noisy with children on bikes every evening shouting and riding round and between tents until nearly 10 at night and sometimes riding into them. The rules of the campsite state this is not allowed but it happens anyway. Otherwise a pleasant site. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Shibudo 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed for just one night, wish it was longer! Campsite was very nice, number plate recognition so you can come and go as you please, nice touch! We were put on the rear field, a very spacious pitch with a 'pub bench' which was very handy.

Walking distance to the centre of Sandwich. If you go for one reason then let it be 'Bella Amalfi' a lovely Italian restaurant in the Quay. This little place is beautiful and made the trip into the perfect getaway. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyncol1737 1 review from this member

 One night stay to try out our newly aquired tent and were delighted with what we found. Site was busy but not bursting, easy to find and staff were very friendly and helpful. Pitches were well laid out with lots of hedgerow screening. Facilities were all clean and well tended. Toilet block was excellent, and very well maintained. Childrens play area was sufficiently distant not to be a problem (I'm a teacher and it's nice to get away from the little darlings!)

Locally, there is a Co-op superstore within 5 mins walk, a fine selection of pubs and restruants catering for all types of wallet, with several fish and chip shops too. Sandwich boasts lots of good town and country walks for those who feel the need and on a sunny Sunday morning - Everyone was soooo friendly!. Whilst it's only 35 mins drive from home, it's nice to know there is a great little de-stress bolt hole. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HappyCampers08 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in May 2008. The toilet block was good, but the first morning, the water ran out & didn't come back for over an hour - not very impressive for 5*. The owners then sat on the door for the rest of the weekend telling everyone that they could have a maximum of 10minutes. They also wouldn't allow our children in the toilets or showers unless accompanied by an adult. Apparently this was for their own protection, but I think that's for us to judge & was very inconvenient.

The site was however very well set out, clean and generally tidy, although there was some building work involving new concrete pitches going on. We particularly liked the fact that each serviced pitch had its own light, power & water supply. There is a small playground which would be good for children aged 8 & under.

Sandwich is a pleasant town & is a short distance from the sea if you take a bike or like walking. The Fish & Chip shop Ossie's is highly recommended for their generous portions.

So mostly a good trip, although the staff could have been friendlier! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dawn+dave 13 reviews from this member

 Great Campsite. Staff were very nice and also very helpful. The pitch that we had was huge and there was plenty of room. Good play park for the kids.

Showers and toilets were kept very clean, showers were very powerfull they were great, although there can be a queue first thing in the morning for them as some people stayed in them for a long time and the water tank went dry so people were turned away for an hour so that the tank could fill up.

A frendly pair of Ducks joined us for breakfast every morning!

There is a laundry on site which is opened up during the day. There is no shop on site but the supermarket is only 5 minutes walk away which is open at 8am and 10am on Sundays.

The campsite is only 15 minute walk into town but I suggest to get a town map as with the little streets you would get lost !

There are lots of places to go and see English Hertiage like Dover Castle also if you go to Canterbury the kids would love Canterbury Tales. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kizzy1 5 reviews from this member

 Went on a very wet April weekend, we had a hard standing fully serviced pictch so no problems, but the ground was very boggy and glad we had a 4 x 4.
Work being carried out on the site by new owners so playground was shut, this didn't effect us but might be a problem for families.
Toilet block best I've seen, very clean and modern really good showers warm with plenty of hot water. Owners very welcoming and the site is secure.
Only 5 min walk to Sandwich Town which is a lovely old town and well worth a visit, supermarket, pubs, cafe's all you need there.
Would only stay here on a fully serviced pitch as the others are not very well laid out, but will be going again hopefully the weather will be better and the on going site works finished.
As stated in previous reviews make sure you follow the directions given as you will not get a touring unit through the town. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kev5176 2 reviews from this member

 Having this as our first outing with our van this was always going to be a learning experience.

The Site is well signposted, is close to the town and its shops - the co-op has the monopoly in the area so expect some rather high shopping bills.

OSSIES fish and chip shop is a great chippy and supplied a copius amount of food for a good price

Getting to the site can involve some rather tight and small streets, so use the alternative route

The site is situated within 12 miles each way of ramsgate/ margate or dover folkestone (channel tunnel.

The pitches are good although uneven and we went the last week of october. The ground never dried out.

Fully serviced pitches are good value for money.

The only downside I found was the state of amenities block - most of the toilets were locked out of use and it was a cold uninviting environment.

The site has just been taken over by new owners apparently and they have a fetish it appears for plant machinary, they were working on new concrete pitches in the last week ( a pity they couldnt wait until the tourers had closed) so there was a small amount of unpleasant noise.

The main ramsgate - london via dover railway line runs adjacent to the site, the noise of the accelerating and decelaration of the trains I feel add to the feel of the site.

The site is very secure, friendly neighbours and was a great site which I feel would be lots better in the summer

Would I visit again ?? yes 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Xxstephanie1xx 1 review from this member

 I came here on the last week of august and stayed in a tent.
There are very good things but also bad things that I have to say about this camp site.
When we arrived at Sandwich Leisure park we did not get a very friendly welcome.It wasn't until we went into the reception that we felt that we were wanted there.

The Toilet block was nice and spacious but the showers were warm and not hot and the only hairdryer was not working. The ladies toilets were not open all of the 4 days that I was there so we had to use the family room.

The washing up place was very good, there was plenty of room.
We payed 40 pound a night for 2 tents to stay in the campsite but we got told of for sitting on a bench being quiet, what else is it there for?

It is only a 5 minute walk from the campsite to the nice town and just a handy shopping market 2 minutes away. The town has plenty of pubs and a lovely riverside but it is not an ideal place for shopping as there are not many shops.

I did enjoy my stay other than the not so good bits I mention above. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

 This site is located centrally in Sandwich.† A lovely town with plenty of pubs, takeaways, shops and restaurants.† Easy walking distance to a supermarket.

The pitches are arranged primarily in groups of four - two at the back and two at the front of a bay.† This would be great if you were with a group of three others, but not ideal when you are on your own.† It causes problems with access for the rear pitches especially.†

The loos are very nice, clean and plentiful.

The ground was pretty boggy.† It was a dry bank holiday weekend but the ground never seemed to dry out.† Some of the pitches had†large muddy puddles around them!

A train line runs alongside the site but we never found it to be disruptive.

We would come back to the site, because of the wonderful location, but we would ask for one of the pitches which isn't grouped as a four.

If you are towing to this site be sure to check the site's website for the alternative directions avoiding the narrow streets of Sandwich town centre. 


Date of Visit: April 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deltaone 6 reviews from this member

 Our first camping experience was to this site as it is quite local and we come back every year for the first one of the season. A top class site with tremendous facilities. The toilet block has family rooms which we fit five in they are always clean and well kept. The serviced tent pitches have drainage and electric and even a TV point which I thought was a fabulous touch. Most of the tent pitches are level with only a couple of exceptions and there is a small but well equipped kids play area, the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

There is no shop or clubhouse which has both advantages and disadvantages but we prefer it that way any how, the grounds are very well kept and well presented.

The surrounding area has a fantastic pub called the kings arms which served the best meal I think I may ever have eaten and there is a supermarket with in walking distance.

All round I would say 5 star and highly recommended, we will be returning. 


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandwich Leisure Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandwich Leisure Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Sandwich Leisure Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sandwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1183 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement