Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Stonehenge Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Stonehenge Touring Park
Orcheston
Salisbury
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SP3 4SH
Tel: 01980 620304
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 112 Reviews
                8/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vygotsky 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from two nights at this lovely campsite. They were open for Easter contrary to the previous review. Whilst the main field was damp it was fine to pitch on. There were some boggy areas around the edge of the site but these were clearly roped off.
The site is small and relaxed. The shop is well stocked and the owners very friendly and helpful. You can order bacon butties for the morning or just fresh bread if you prefer.
The shower block is clean and loo roll is provided. The only downside is that the showers are too hot. They were far too hot for our five year old so if you were doing a longer stay this could be a problem.
There is a small children's play area and plenty of space to play with new friends (of which my daughter made many).
The site is so small we were able to let her wander around whilst being able to see her. She was also able to go to the shop on her own which gives the site a definite thumbs up.
We will definitely return for a short stay. It's a great site for gazing at the stars and watching wildlife. There's a lovely walk around the back of the site, along the side of a stream where you can watch the horses in the field.
I would advise you book at peak times.

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

Our earliest camping trip yet, booked because we liked the other reviews. Nice tidy little site. Facilities pretty good for a little site, well stocked shop. Some  confusion over a booking, and the fact the tent field is waterlogged! The owners did offer a space in front of their house, we had a look at the field and found a reasonable spot, although very soft underfoot in tent, good site for a couple of nights. Sadly for the owners they wont be taking tents until the field dries out, so they will lose out at Easter.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boultonjd 5 reviews from this member

Beautiful little site.  Bit of a dodgy road to tow a caravan down but apart from that, very comfortable and friendly site.  Extremely clean, showers and toilets were very well looked after and there was a lovely well stocked little shop on site, which is just as well as we could not even find a pub within walking distance.  Lovely walks around the site for dogs.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark Crisp 4 reviews from this member

Okay site - a little noisy at night - Toilet block  Old but Clean - only 2 Showers in men's and 2 in Ladies , but always seemed to get a shower - Small shop - - nice Pubs , good walks in area - owner very friendly - I think its okay for a couple of Nights ----

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stationhouse26 11 reviews from this member

We wanted a small, friendly site close enough for our visit to Longleat and this one fitted the bill perfectly.  Reception doubles as a little shop open from 9am to 9pm that stocks essentials (& can openers - handy as we forgot ours!) but no fresh fruit or veg, so take your own bananas!  The facilities are on the old side, but nice and clean. I  reported the ladies hairdryer broken and a new one was wired in by the next time I used the facilities.  My only gripe was that there was no plug socket for my hair straighteners - I know we're camping but I have standards! It has a good little laundry with a free spin dryer - an excellent idea and one I used when husband spilt red wine on his shorts the first night and had to have them hand washed.
 
We had a very nice pitch on the edge, later arrivals pitched in the middle, and our children had a whale of a time with all the others gathered around the (small) play area.  Definitely a site to recommend and return to.  Very handy for Stonehenge too, incidentally, if you don't mind the extortionate entrance fee.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mats Andersson 1 review from this member

Perfect place, calm, quiet and clean. We were 8 people in three tents.  The owners were thoughtful, kind and helpful. A nice little shop reasonable priced.
We give them 4-5 stars, a jewel among camping sites. Kids in bed and tranquil evenings although the place seemed filled up.
 
 

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Perry114a 4 reviews from this member

We have just spent our Easter break at Stonehenge site and I must say we were really pleased. Friendly owners and a well stocked little shop in reception for all the essentials.

Pitches were spacious and the toilet/shower facilities were clean and didn't have to queue once. Would only mention that the ladies hairdryer blew out cold air so take your own if possible.

Good location for local villages and towns and to Stonehenge. The George pub in Shrewton does a great roast on a Sunday. There were a few motorbikes and cars around but didnt make too much noise. All in all, a good little campsite which I would recommended and defiantly visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Glqferry 1 review from this member

An excellent family run site which is very clean with ample facilities.

Hot showers, laundry area, level grassed site with several hard standing for vans and of course a play area for the kids.

Quietly sited in the little town of Orcheston it gives you easy reach to M5, M4, London and South coast. Local pub and food about 1 mile away but the shop which doubles as the village shop sells everything from tent pegs to gas and sweets to fresh and frozen food.

We will be back for sure. Thank you.

Reviewer: Aria30 14 reviews from this member

August 2005
Small, but friendly site. As this was our first "expedition" out with the children and a tent, the owners of the site made things easy for us. Lovely play area for the children in the middle so they could be seen at all times. Was busy when we were there, but didn't feel crowded. Basic facilities, but kept clean. Well signposted from the main road. Would recommend.

Reviewer: Tumbleweed05 1 review from this member

August 2005
Just got back from a stay at this campsite. We have not been camping for several years and were a bit apprehensive beforehand, but we needn't have worried. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly and the camp site had everything we needed.

The play area was in an excellent central position and we could see our children at all times. The facilities impressed us with an excellent little shop full of everything you might need. There was no problem with water facilities being spread out as the site is not too large anyway.

The site is a touring site and there was a lot of changeover, with many people staying just the one night. It also has a very cosmopolitan feel to it. However, we relaxed and extended our stay from 3 nights to 6. We found it an excellent base from which to visit Wiltshire and Dorset.

Good site, good people, good fun!

Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2516 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019