Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sykeside Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

This site is situated on the A592, approximately half way between Glenridding and the Kirkstone Pass Inn; the location in isolated and surrounded by some of the Lake District's best mountain scenery. Excellent walks start right from the site, from easy strolls round Brothers Water, to more challenging ascents, such as Fairfield, Helvellyn and High Street.

There are several accommodation opportunities on site: camping, motorhome pitches, bunkbarn and B&B. There is a small bar dedicated to campers, but of this is closed, the excellent Brothers Water Inn, owned by the site, in an excellent pub with a good meals.

Site facilities were good: there were plenty of them and the water was always hot. However, I think these facilities become strained in busier months. I thought prices were a little steep for low season, at 19 for a motorhome pitch and two people, but the stunning location of the site makes up for this. Will certainly return.

Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Divergirl82 2 reviews from this member

Just a quick review to let you know what we thought.

Arrived on Thursday morning ready to camp in our 2 man mountaineering tent, only to find that the weather forecast was completely wrong and we couldn't pitch due to the abysmal weather. The lady on reception was a great help, she suggested we go down on the field and see if we could pitch, if not to consider the bunkhouse.

At only 13 per person per night it was a bargain, rather than ruining a 500 tent!

The bunkhouses are basic but you don't really need anything else. There were 3 beds, each with a pillow and a heavy woollen blanket (but we had our sleeping bags anyway). There's a table and chairs in the room and a small bathroom with a toilet and sink. We also had a fantastic view through a skylight window of the snow topped mountains - what a great sight to wake up to in the morning!

The only 2 downsides to the room was the very squeaky floorboards, and the walls being very thin - we could hear everything from next door! But being that we were out all day this didn't pose too much of a problem.

There's a communal kitchen that is stocked with the basics, and you can put 50p into the machines to allow you 30 minutes of cooking time on the campingaz cooker (2 burners and a grill).

The meals in the Brothers Water Inn were fantastic, and not badly priced, and the wood fuelled fire was a welcome sight at the end of a very cold day!

Will definitely be returning, especially being that it's so close to Ambleside and Windermere.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy19 4 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here during the second half of the Bank Holiday week. On arrival we were told to go and have a look around the rather wet fields and find a suitable pitch as once we had paid there were no refunds although they did give us the option of paying night by night in case the weather got worse. We thought this was very fair of them.

Well stocked and reasonably priced shop on site together with campsite bar (open weekends). Food in the bar was good with very hearty portions. Main pub at entrance to site seemed good too from our brief visit for lunch.

Large toilet block meant no waiting for the extremely hot showers that couldn't be turned down. They are closed for 2 hours at lunchtime every day for cleaning, but still managed to smell pretty bad, and seemed in need of a more thorough clean.

Plenty of washing up and laundry facilities but only one small freezer for ice packs which was so full the door didn't shut properly. We decided to buy fresh every day!

The site manager did regular rounds of the site generally checking up on new arrivals and tidying the site which was good to see. Didn't see or hear any badgers despite the warnings. Perhaps it was because we kept the food in the car as suggested!

The scenery around this site was amazing and its ideally situated for Amblside / Windermere and Ullswater/Helvellyn

Date of Visit: February 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neltek 5 reviews from this member

I have stayed at this campsite many times over the past 20 years!

The location is by Brothers Water near Ullswater in the Lakes.

The views are amazing.

The site has great facilties and an on-site bar/pub. The breakfasts are ace.

It also serves the largest selection of malt whiskies in England.

Along side the camp site there are also some bunk houses for hire.

Just above the campsite is a hotel/pub with accommodation included.

The camp bar / pub serve food.

Sometimes at low capacity the camp bar is closed and they just use the pub.

It is an excellent campsite and one of my favourite in the Lakes. Not too touristy whilst having great location and facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Judithandpeter 11 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site beautiful views all round, could not be in a more scenic surroundings. Staff are very friendly pub sells good food and dogs are allowed in. It rained quite a lot over night when we were there so the tent fields were very muddy but we were ok as on hard standing. Only one negative remark was that the toilets were very smelly but still usable. Would definitely visit again as walking from the site was excellent if you want low or high level walks

Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Christine68 1 review from this member

A friend and I made a stopover here on our way south from Glasgow to Devon in a new motorcaravan about which we knew very little.

Even on a freezing cold night in Feb, (some hardy people were camping in tents!) this was a most wonderful position for a site, in a bowl surrounded by mountains. The sanitary blocks were warm and very clean, the pitches were level and the facilities of the Inn were there if required, though not of great quality (maybe it was the chef's night off!) Having found and been so impressed by this site and its beautiful situation my husband and I intend to return and spend a few days there with our caravan in the near future. One word of warning though ; if you arrive in the dark as we did, it was quite difficult to find our booked pitch in very limited light apart from the moon and stars and we were left to our own devices!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ds1570 1 review from this member

Just got back from three days here, two dads, four boys between 7 & 17. First time under canvas for over 25 years so we were ready for anything!

What a great location! Perfect access for the lakes and easy to get to from the M6. Staff were nice, guided us away from the muddy centre but I think common sense would apply even without the help. Site got busier but never a problem and the kids quickly made new chums.

Lots to do around the area, great that no play area meant the youngsters learned about walking and climbing on proper hills rather than a ladder. Swimming in the lake was probably daft but huge fun!

Shop was fine but could have opened longer. Both bars quite acceptable as was the food. Toilets did the job but dated so don't expect too much.

Watched a number of parents just sitting about all day and letting their kids get on with it. They've missed the point of being here I think. That's fine on a big site but this place is ideal as a base for other things, not as a centre in itself.

Overall, exactly what it markets itself as, just a proper 'camp' site in a stunning location.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ivy2409 1 review from this member

We stayed at Sykeside from Sunday 20th - Thursday 24th and had a very enjoyable holiday. The location could not be beaten with fantastic views of the mountains and the Brotherswater lake only a short walk away. Nearby Patterdale has only one post office, but Glenridding has a little more and is the home of the Ullswater steamers a definite must!

Positive stuff.

-The site is very clean, with staff cleaning up every evening (in an attempt to keep badgers at bay)

-The Brotherswater Inn serves good, reasonably priced food

-The shop is well stocked and staff very friendly

-Very dog friendly

-When we were there it was not overly busy

Negative stuff

-We were told to arrive at 12 but the shop/reception is closed from 11.30 - 12.30 so had to trudge back up to the pub to check in.

-Toilets/showers were cleaned daily between 12-2 but we found them very dirty/smelly. Very hot inside and the shower water was also very hot with no temperature adjustment

-The freezer wasn't working properly so no freezer packs

-On our 2nd night a group of girls arrived and were very loud/drunk, they were warned by the warden to be quiet but as the warden was off the next day they made up for it then running past our tent shouting/swearing etc, the warden was back the next day and the girls were again warned and quietened down

-Badgers! There are badgers and you are warned to keep all food locked in your car, I was woken each night by the badgers snuffling round my tent which at 3.30 am is actually very scary

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back, just not during school holidays.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jakey2501 2 reviews from this member

This site is great for families, very friendly staff and I didn't see anyone patrolling with dogs! Pitching area was fine, toilets are clean and there are loads of walkers that stay here who are full of knowledge about local walks.
The kids really wanted to see the badgers - we heard them but didn't see any. The toilets are in view of the camping area so you can let the kids go alone. Seperate tap for the walkers who are filling water bottles. Really nice site, would highly recommend

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenny_m 1 review from this member

Myself and my boyfriend have visited this fantastically situated site a number of times, however the last being 2 years ago. Bank holiday weekend we looked forward to returning with our family, comprising of 6 adults. What a change! This site used to be enjoyable, friendly and relaxed. Now it feels like a prison camp! from the moment we arrived, till the moment we left 3 days later, we were constantly harrased and warned by staff patrolling with dogs not to make any noise. We were a quiet group, caused no disturbance, however this did not stop staff constantly snooping around and warning us of eviction if we were to disturb the peace. Incedently, no one complained about the hordes of noisy children kicking balls against tents and screaming at 7 oclock in the morning!

We will not be returning to sykeside, the relaxed atmosphere we once enjoyed here it seems has gone in favour of the families and children mafia.

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


992 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019