Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile Reviews

Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile
Chapel Stile
Great Langdale
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9JR
Tel: 01539 437150
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
                9/10 from 111 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lomax1 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite, I like the new toilet block but the sinks could be a lot lower as if it's to high for me what about children.
There's a lot of walking routes from here. There is a nice pub down the road serving nice meals and beer. (Charles Bronson serving behind the bar) I would be going back. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windblown 9 reviews from this member

 We have visited this great camp site for a few years and it never disappoints us. Weather was good and scenery still as wonderful. Baby lambs were so cute. Just not so sure about the new toilet block. The sinks are very high, I'm 5' 6" and had to stand on tiptoe to wash my face properly, so don't know where the logic is there, also some sort of drying facility would have been appreciated, whether it be paper towels or hand dryer, make sure you have a towel handy. Apart from this they are fine. Good site and one and all. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve3295 2 reviews from this member

 Firstly like to thank the owners for finding us a pitch at such late notice over the Easter weekend.  On arrival the place was jam packed in 3 large fields. The scenery was breathtaking, and all amenities where within a 5 minute walk (shop, pub what more do you want).
I arrived with my wife and 3 children all under 7 and we all had a wonderful time playing down by the river or just climbing in the hills around the site.
The facilities where clean and tidy and the owners were very helpful.
The site policy of noise and fires after 10.30pm was pretty much adhered to, most of the noise came from the odd drunk or mainly small babies.
I will certainly visit the site again as the area in which the site is situated is second to none if you enjoy peace and quiet and the basic amenities for a weekends camping. 


Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buttershap 10 reviews from this member

 My first visit to this remote site, improved toilet and shower block facilities compared with earlier reviews.
Basic site, camping field with no electric points, nor electric lighting at night.
About 10 minutes from village with its Coop and Pub, although the latter was closed due to a fire.
My weekend coincided with a scooter rally and although they discoed until 1 am they were separated from the rest of us by another field.
I'd go agin as scenery and walks look terrific. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pryors 6 reviews from this member

 This site is in the bottom of a stunning valley. We chose to pitch at the bottom of the flat lower field next to the Cumbria Way track and the babbling brook. Our tent was about 10mins walk from the toilet block, which was unfortunate given the proximity of the aforementioned babbling brook! The growing reeds make it clear which parts of these lower fields can get waterlogged. Free-ranging chooks tend to keep dry by piling into the wash-up area, along with an excitable resident sheepdog. We could walk downstream to two pubs easily within half an hour - preferred The Britannia in Elterwater but Chapel Stile was fine too, where there also looked to be a useful shop-cum-cafe. Good value for money.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whitelighted 2 reviews from this member

 Ended up at this campsite as it is the nearest one to Great Langdale NT if you get there after the 'Site Full' sign goes up.

I second the comments about exposure on this site, it is quite large, but also quite flat, and the winds do howl at night if you're unlucky, so pitch tight and well or you might regret it.

Signs up said it was a Family site, and that it had a 10:30pm curfew. I saw few families, and less consideration for the curfew. The entrance is not suitable for the likes of the Porsche and Lotus we drove past on exiting the site Sat morning. It's narrow and a bit rocky.

Facilities were very good, if a tad smelly at times. Queues for showers every morning, but none for loos. Only ran out of loo paper Sunday mid-afternoon.

Site Full sign went up midday Saturday, some friends got refused a pitch, but we went back up with them and explained to the owners that we were already pitched and they let them stay which I thought was very reasonable of them. We appreciated it.

Nearest pub is the one in Chapel Stile, lovely and welcoming and enforces the no smoking rules.

Will always head for Great Langdale first, but will always choose this site second. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Faz36 1 review from this member

 We visited this sight on the monday at the start of the summer holidays, we arrived by accident thinking it was the NT site but that was 3 miles further down, the farmer kindly sent us down on arrival at the nt site it looked very busy and with us fetching our dog along felt it might be best to go back to this one, what a good idea, apart from having to walk up to the toilet block which wasnt a inconvenience apart from the midnight stroll we pitched up on the middle field and enjoyed the rest of the week, the shop (5 mins walk away) is well stocked and are very pleasant, even the cafe upstairs was good, the wainwright arms served good food and wasnt to far to walk back to the tent, I agree the entrance is a bit tricky especially if you meet a car coming the other way, what we really liked was that the dog was allowed to be there which helped us relax there was great views and the week we were there no late night noise which after a tiring days walking you dont want. Overall a good site that we will go back to. Pleasant atmosphere and great views,
 
I would like to know what its like on the weekend as the farmer said it gets very busy, we did notice that some of the campers arriving on the friday seemed to be a bit noisier i.e playing dance music from there car so everyone could hear it  but  hey everyone to there own I'd rather listen to it at a nightclub, not in a beautiful valley?? 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mike142sl 9 reviews from this member

 A great site not too far up the Langdale Valley and therefore easy to get to other parts of the Lake District like Ambleside, Coniston, Hawkshead etc within 20 mins.
Site is flat and is split into several fields. No trees so can be a bit exposed in high winds but generally sheltered by the fells on either side of the valley.
It is accessed via a small single track from Chapel Stile which takes you over a humped back bridge over the river where there is easy access to the river, which is safe for playing in, complete with rope swing.
New in 2006 is a shower/toilet block which replaced the old toilets which were part of the barn - still there for the purists. New facilities very clean and showers free - no need to remember those 20p pieces.
We were only there one night but found things nice and quiet and the farmer pleasant and welcoming. Plenty of tents and caravans but was not aware of any EHU but may just have missed them so worth ringing to check. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rod Pudney 10 reviews from this member

 This was my 6th visit to this site and the 2nd this year. As others have mentioned, there's a new toilet / shower / washing up block, all included in the very reasonable rates. The views towards Langdale Pikes alone make it worth staying here, but if you've got kids there's also a river suitable for paddling and small inflatable boats. There's no fixed pitches, just choose a pleasant spot. There is a reasonable "no noise after 10:30" rule and I have seen the farmer evict people who break it. Also, like many campsites, camp fires aren't allowed but barbeques are fine.
The village of Chapel Stile is a short stroll away (10 minutes or less) and has a Co-Op shop with cafe upstairs and the Wainwrights Arms pub, which does good food (especially the lamb shoulder) and excellent real ale, including Jennings.
 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linzij 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a two night stay at the Bayes Brown Camp site.
 
We could not believe our luck in finding such a well maintained good value camp site. It was a last minute decision to go camping for the weekend and everywhere was booked up. We tried Low Wray and Great Langdale sites but both displayed the ''full'' signs. After driving around the Ambleside area we finally found one which had room.
 
Price
 
It costs £4 per person per night and £2 per car, dogs are allowed but I think that there is a small charge.
 
Facilities
 
There are two main camping fields one at the top (near to the Farmhouse) and one at the bottom. The site was busy but there was still plenty of space.
 
The toilets and shower blocks are all located near to the top field. There are 6 toilet cubicles (all well stocked with tissue and liquid soap!) and 6 showers (I assume that the men's are the same!).
 
They are all clean (quite industrial looking but clean!) and seem to be new. There are some additional toilets in an older building but I did not have to use them as the new ones were always free. The only problem with the shower cubicles is that there are no hooks in them so you have to hang your stuff over the doors, but nevertheless they were nice and hot!
 
Early morning queues did appear for the showers but I just went back later on when they were quiet.
 
There are no hook up facilities but the farm will charge mobile phones etc. For £2 (displayed on a board outside the farm house)
 
There are 4 sinks with drainers, all with hot water and are well maintained. Outside there are two taps for drinking water.
 
There is a 10.30 noise curfew which was adhered to.
 
Location
 
Within a 15 minute walk you are near to a pub / cafe and village shop. The site is about 20 mins from Windermere.
 
Overall
 
A good family campsite. I will definitely return with my family next year. 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window