Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Royal Umpire Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Royal Umpire Caravan Park Reviews

Royal Umpire Caravan Park
Southport Road
Croston
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR26 9JB
Tel: 01772 600 257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180 & Large Rally Fiield + Camping Pods
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 119 Reviews
                7/10 from 119 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Firruk 18 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night as a "try out" for our new motorhome. Looking at other reviews quite a lot of peolpe use this site for this purpose.
The site is well looked after and the pitches are large and well serviced. My only gripe is that it does feel very regimented with all the pitches in rigid straight lines and high hedges between each line.
The showers and toilets were spotless and well heated at all times (even had piped music). Hot water was genuinely hot.
Staff and fellow campers were really friendly and extremely helpful.
The site used to have a shop which is now closed and it would be good if it was to reopen. Having said that there is a garage with a shop just up the road and the site sits next to a huge Wyvale garden centre complete with cafe.
If you are looking for pubs tan its only about 20 minutes stroll down to Croston village where there are 5 on offer with most doing decent food and real ale. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samantha Bloor 1 review from this member

 Price to pitch your tent was very reasonable at £11 Per night. Excellent Camp Site, amenities very clean. A deposit of £20 is required for the toilets and showers which is refundable on leaving.
Large playground for the kids, horses and sheep in the field and a few bars and restaurants for the adults. There is wacky warehouse across the road from the campsite but the food is not very good. There was a little noise from the hotel which is situated at the side of the field but only lasted until 1am.

I would recommend this campsite to anyone especially families. I will definitely be returning this year.

 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LEO02 34 reviews from this member

 Nice site, stayed 2 nights at easter - although they made us pay for 3 nights minimum,even thogh the tent area was only 5% full!

Toilets fine - washing up area fine.

Could do with a shop-we had to go to a garage for supplies.

Try the Rose and Crown pub-half mile away - great little place.

Water tasted funny - not our water carrier, we washed that out before we went.

I would go back and would give the site seven out of ten 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Milomc72 15 reviews from this member

 We went to this site to "try out" our caravan and was pleasantly surprised.  What a quiet and peaceful site.  Though a bit regimental (all pitches in lines) the pitches were spacious, the showers and washing up areas were clean and the hot water was definitely hot (if not dangerously hot at times). A good play area for the kids and a huge field for walking the dog.  Very clean throughout, and if we wanted somewhere to just "hang out" we would go there again. 


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Laura31 20 reviews from this member

 We visited this site to try out our new caravan. As soon as we were arrived we had offers of help to push us into our pitch which was much appreciated. The warden was very patient when we kept tripping the electric. Our children liked the play area although they did come back rather muddy. The showers and loo block were very clean with lots of hot water.

We went to the nearby Wacky Warehouse pub for our evening meal. The food was OK, but not great. Lots of people seemed to be complaining about their meals and there was a bit of a wait. It was fairly typical of my experience of these types of pubs. We did not really visit to see the surrounding area but I am aware that Botany Bay, Martin Mere and Camelot are all fairly near by. It is a pleasant site and I would consider staying there again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joanne36 4 reviews from this member

 I started using this site this year after finding out that both royal umpire and riverside holiday park are owned by the same company.  I have been very happy going to riverside for the a number of years and thought I would try the umpire.  The site is lovely, play area was great and the showers and toilets are 1st class. I have stayed here in a tent and caravan and the staff are really nice, but there was no shop on site. This was not really a problem to us. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gaztop 2 reviews from this member

 Just came back after another great weekend at the Umpire, been to this site regular over the past two years and all I can say is it perfect, never had any problems staff are A1, other campers always chatty and friendly.  Would rec' this site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gaztop 2 reviews from this member

 Have been to this site many times and have enjoyed every stay.  Toilets and showers are 1st class, as are the friendly staff.  We try to go every weekend as it is only a short drive away.
The pub outside the camp site has a 2 4 1 offer on food all the time.  We have also found that other campers are also very friendly.  I can definitely rate this site as 1st class for campers, the large rally field has loads of space so you are not to close to other campers, also very dog friendly 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisalou1970 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 1 night and had a really good time, the toilets and showers were clean, the washing up facilities were good and we were planning on going back for longer, but unfortunately they do not offer ehu for tents, the only minus point was the wasps, there were hundreds of them, and cooking was a bit of a nightmare, but would go back for a night again and camp a little further away from the toilet block to see if that eliminates the wasp problem. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ROBBIEBOBBY 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 night break. Site is immaculate, toilet facilities are spotless.Has large play area and football pitch which my children aged 6 & 4 loved. The only downside is that there is no shop on site, which would be a big plus, other than that it's a great site and we shall be returning soon. 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Royal Umpire Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Royal Umpire Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2856 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement