Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 263 Reviews
                8/10 from 263 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  263 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CM1612 3 reviews from this member

This is a really nice site.We found it to be very clean and well laid out with excellent facilities including 2 large play areas for the children(1 for younger children and one for older),small shop,washing up area and laundry. There was also a small bar,which was a nice touch for a relatively small site. The site was quite busy but was never noisy and the surroundings are very pretty. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The only negative was that the shower cubicles are a bit small when trying to shower two children and the drainage outside the cubicle is not great. A family bathroom would be a useful addition.

Bakewell is an easy 25 minute walk (with young children).Dont drive into Bakewell on a Monday as it is market day and traffic was stretched out of the village. The Castle Inn at Bakewell served really nice food and the children's meals were free when bought with an adult meal. A local pizza takeaway delivers orders to site if you don't want to cook but stay on site. The pizzas were very nice and not too expensive.

There is loads to do close by including Matlock Bath,Gullivers Kingdom(great for under 10s) and the mines at Castleton (we went on the underground boat mine which was very entertaining). Carsington Water is a bit further away but well worth a visit if the weather is nice.

Overall we had a great time and will definitely be back to the area and would stop at Greenhills next time.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Josiewales 17 reviews from this member

Just arrived home after 2 nights at greenhills. This is our fifth trip there but it is definitely the last.

The good bits- Location is very good, the hard standings are good,if a little close together, the facilities are clean, the playground and football field are good, the dog walking field is good, the little pub is nice and the owners are friendly enough.

The bad bits For a site that caters so largely for people in tents the toilets and showers are woefully inadequate another block is definitely needed, the only food available is takaways delivered to site, the shop (when open) had no toilet chemicals whatsoever (hurray for emergency bio liquid)

On a more personal note, I don't think 22 a night is cheap pre easter for the corner of a field that can only be described as a marsh (exactly the same price as a hardstanding) when I complained I was told in the nicest possible way that people were waiting for pitches if I didn't like it. As already said M/Hs are more difficult to level especially when the levelling ramps are sinking into the ground.

So there we have it, the nicest w/end so far this year shaded by trees in the mud, no chance of getting the chairs out like everyone else and to cap it all got stuck twice this morning trying to get out, managed to reverse up far side of field much to everyones amusement.

A nice site if you get a hard standing

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CaravanEncounters 3 reviews from this member

Visited this wonderful site on the 25th March for two nights. This was a return visit for us as we used to camp in a tent here regularly with our son when he was small. Now though he's a 17 year old teenager who struggles to cope with the confined space of a caravan, so best left at home.

We have always loved this site and the recent improvements have made it even better. We were allocated a hard standing pitch with views over the beautiful fields surrounding us. As we were setting up the sun was just beginning to set a magnificent golden glow over the surrounding vans.

We did struggle to get any reception from the sky dish but as we have found in the past with sites in this area, the reception is not great. Trial and error prevailed and we were eventually rewarded with satellite TV.

We visited the pub on site which is a converted barn and very cosy. The wine was chilled and served in small bottles, perfect. My hubby tried the local beer and wasn't disappointed. Lots of local tourist info in there too.

The sites facilities are great with a well stocked shop, you can order papers at reception the night before, showers and toilets were clean, the pot wash is well laid out and undercover and a great play area for the kids near the pub. There is also a wonderful field for dog walking, ours particularly enjoyed chasing the rabbits.

All in all a great site, close to Bakewell and its many attractions. For a longer walk try the Monsal Trail nearby and visit the viaduct. We will definitely visit again soon.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sprocket 11 reviews from this member

We have just spent a lovely weekend at Greenhills.

We were situated on hardstanding, quite close to the loos/showers and the bar. The shower block was lovely and warm and the radio playing was quite nice whilst showering in the morning! A small suggestion would be perhaps a couple more hooks in the shower cubicles as they are quite small so more room to hang clothes etc would be useful!

I was very impressed with the site and with the cleanliness of the facilities. The children enjoyed the park. We went to the bar both nights and I thought the prices were reasonable. We weren't blessed with the weather unfortunately but on our final day the mist and drizzle cleared showing that the site has lovely views.

Bakewell is a pleasant little town and we had fish and chips from the chippy by the Police Station which were very nice and reasonably priced.

We spent a day at the Heights of Abraham (about 20 mins drive from the campsite) and was enjoyed by us all, especially the cable car ride. It was rainy and drizzly but I can imagine on a warm dry day it'd be a lovely day out with a picnic etc.

We have never really visited the area, and will definitely return because there's lots more we'd like to do and see.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lovingmytent 3 reviews from this member

This is a nice site. You're very well catered for in every way - the shop is very handy and well stocked; toilets and showers were very good and there were plenty of both; and the surrounding area was lovely. We walked into Bakewell on our first day and drove to Matlock on the second day.

Unfortunately though, we were given a pitch near the bar which was really noisy until the early hours of the morning. Also, our pitch had a concrete slab in the middle of it which didn't cause us any problems, but it wasn't nice underfoot.

I'd return to this site again, but I'd request to be at the bottom of the field - well away from the bar.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

Having stayed before I thought all the caravan/camper pitches were hardstanding - not so. So when I booked and paid 46 for 2 nights in October (!), that is what I was expecting. When shown to our pitch which was on muddy grass, I was advised the site was full. Also the chap was quite keen on which direction the van was parked - tail in. He said otherwise the door would open on the pitch next door - cant see this when we had no awning and no car (and no knowledge of which side the door was on, for the unit yet to arrive next door).

Trouble is, campers are harder to level than caravans because they sit nose down on the road and its therefore better to use the slope, than level against it.Also they don't like being reversed up muddy slopes! So we had to negotiate and eventually were aloud to turn around.

So, make sure you get a hard standing the mud made life awkward at this time of year.

However great location, nice site, good dog walk, etc etc!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kie68 36 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Greenhills,what can I say. Fantastic. Shown to our pitch on arrival,gravel pitch with plenty of grass around for sitting out on.All amenities are close by. Showers and toilets clean.Nice little pub on site prices not to dear.Good dog walk area and a field to let dogs have a run.Field for ball games for the kids and two play areas near the pub. Site very quiet at night.Good for a nice relaxing weekend.Nice Town of Bakewell only five minutes away in the car. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ladybird 1 review from this member

We and 2 other families stayed at this site for a week in August and had a great holiday. The toilets and washing facilities were plentiful and clean, but the only (very minor) criticism we had was the small size of the shower cubicles. The shower itself was fine but not a lot of room to get dressed again and if you had a young (reluctant) child to shower, well, everything got wet! A family room with a bath or a larger shower/wet room would have been nice. But in all honesty, we were camping and it didn't matter to us if the kids were a bit unwashed!

The site was well looked after and the staff very pleasant. It's in a great location for exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside by car and for walking to the pubs / shops in Bakewell itself. The field and playground were thoroughly enjoyed by all of our 7 kids. We would definitely recommend it and go back again!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Khcamper 3 reviews from this member

This site was brilliant in all aspects. We had a large tent with electric hook up as we went with friends and our children. There was two play areas next to each other which they loved. These are also situated next to the bar which although we did not smaple had heard it was really nice. The bar also offers WIFI access and we saw people using their laptops outside as well. There is a small shop on site which is opens in the afternoon for basic things. There are a block of toilets and also a block of portacabin toilets as well. The toilets were cleaned every morning so if you were in for 7am you were guarnteed a nice clean shower. There was a sheltered washing up area and freezer compartment as well plus there was a also laundry room with ironing board.

The site can get quite busy in peak season and some of the pitches are on a slope so when we go again I will make sure we get on one a flat part. Due to the site being so busy we had a couple of noisy pitchers who didn't have consideration for others but you cannot blame the site for that as you can get that anywhere.

Bakewell itself is beautiful and we went shopping into town and also took the steam train into Matlock to go shopping. Plenty to see and do especially if you love scenery and walking, we had a lovely pub meal out in Buxton but the views from the site are spectacular.

I would recommend this site and will definitely be going back soon.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daisyloz 2 reviews from this member

We drove here with our newly bought caravan having booked the day before. We got the Low season 10 a night midweek deal. Excellent friendly welcome from the office staff and help too when we struggled to get unhooked! Lovely site,we had hardstanding with hook up near a water tap and not far at all from the showers/loos and bar and shop. We had to borrow a EHU cable from them as ours wasn't long enough, and that wasn't a problem. Absolutely lovely views and the surrounding area is worth a visit and this site is very central. Bakewell is walkable and a pretty little town.Dog walks on site were great. We definitely plan to return here.

Previous     263 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2496 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019